We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is the place where you can relax by the pool with it's background sound of the waves coming from the beach, breakfast really good, but can't tell about the restaurant for dinner it was closed at this time. Everybody is really nice and ready to help you. And the view from the restaurant...Whoa!!!....You can't imagine you need to be there because even on pictures it doesn't show what you really experience their.
Just a note about this hotel which is note really clear on the wehsite, 1) it's not directly on the beach you need to cross a street to get access to one them and people with disabilities can't stay there you have so may steps to get to your room (you have 2 rooms accessibles by a ramp) and to the restaurant when you go that up for the breakfast you already have done your dayly exercise :-) To get thiw WHOA view you need to be on the top of this hill!
If you want a massage, ask for Josette! She provided me the best massage ever and she is so sweet and delicate. She comes at the hotel and do your massage in your room or by the pool just amazing. Thank you Josette!
Horse riding is also an excellent plan to spend around 2 hours.

Room Tip: We got the standart one in cabins which is nice, do not expect to have a view but you are close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollywoodlifefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    58
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
264
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Spent a little and get the suite, worth it! The view & the room were gorgeous! The restaurant had great food & again that view! Bruno & Chichi (I know I'm spelling that wrong, sorry) were so friendly & truly wanted us to have a wonderful time accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel is exactly what you expect. It's away from the hustle bustle of beach town life, but beach town life is less than a mile down the road, so it's the best of both worlds. Quiet and peaceful, but parties available around the corner. They don't serve lunch, but not to worry, there is an excellent location across the street with hammocks in front of the ocean. The dinners are good, not the best Tapas in the world, but definitely good for the area. We went with the junior suite and it was good, but if we had it to do over again we'd go with a less expensive room and use the extra money for activities. I'm going to put some bullet points below of things that stand out.

-On one evening I left my IPad out and could not find it the next morning. A member of the cleaning staff had found it and turned it in. It was my fault that it got lost and the staff protected it.

-Bruno, the man who seems to be running the show, is incredible in every way. Spend as much time talking to him as you can. Soccer is one of his favorite topics. He can arrange things for you as you go, he got us an ATV on short notice and we were late getting it back. He worked it out so we didn't pay any extra.

-The restaurant. While it's not great, if you talk to Bruno they can get you special meals. We love whole fish so they got one fresh for us and cooked it the way we like it and didn't charge us anything more than a typical entree.

So what I can tell you is that this establishment is beautiful, the staff is amazing and of the greatest integrity, if you want something tell Bruno, and when the bill comes there are no surprises.

Room Tip: I'd spend money on the activities rather than the suites, but the suites really aren't that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Curtis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay in this little paradise. Rooms are clean, spacious & pretty (liked the jungle theme!). Beautiful view from te restaurant! Pool area is one of the most relaxed places i've ever been (sound of the ocean in the background). And the staff was super friendly and helpful!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geeskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent five wonderful days at the large vacation home MOANA HOTEL has in Mal Pais. Large, comfortable social, dinning and kitchen areas. 5 bedrooms with impressive bathrooms, good working A/C. Gorgeous view and sunset with a deep swimming pool. Maid service every day. Just perfect for our large family. We had a group of 14 and it was just perfect for all of us. The beaches in Santa Teresa and playa Hermosa just north of Sta Teresa and the best!!! Low tide creates tide pools for kids and to enjoy a little piece of paradise.
Lots of beach restaurants and places to hang out. The "bakery" is superb! Good food everywhere!
highly recommend this home and the Santa Teresa / Mal Pais area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable, the hotel property has a beautiful restaurant set up on the top of the mountain, had amazing food and an even better view. We liked that the property was near the beach but not "in town" so it was quieter. It was easy to walk along the beach or get a taxi into town. The pool area was beautiful and well maintained. However, the best thing about this hotel is the level of service; Bruno, Cheekie and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. They helped with booking excursions and taxis to and from the airport. Next time we come back to Costa Rica we will definitely stay here again! - Becky & Jason

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Bonnet, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

While wintering in Tamarindo Costa Rica we took a short trip with friends to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. We picked the Moana Lodge based on reviews we saw online. The hotel offers breath taking views and a beautiful pool area. On arrival we were told that our reserved cabin had a problem so we were put in a Junior Suite for our first nigh at no additional charge. The view was amazing which compensated for the number of stairs we had to climb. The staff were very friendly and " Cheeky " looked after all our needs during our stay.
The Papaya restaurant offered an excellent selection for both breakfast, dinner and the sunset from the restaurant was spectacular. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Deluxe room worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Property: Hotel Moana
Address: Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing