We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!!”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great rooms at reasonable prices. Or SUPER ROOMS with Great views!!!!
Nice Pool and the Best Tapas Restaurant with a sunset view!!!!
We could not have asked for more!!!
Thanks especially to Chiki, Bruno, and the rest of the Moana Staff!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingofthemountains97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 424 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

From the 20 hotels we’ve already visit in Costa Rica, this is definitely one of our favourites!
We had a deluxe room and it was magnificent!
Very friendly staff who helps with everything.
Also the rest of the area was just like the photos.
Restaurant with small menu but very good food and an amazing view.
(and if you want to eat outside: go to The Bakery)
Now it’s saving to come back ;-)

Neg.: not for people with a bad condition (= stairs)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofie-at-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Supose to stay 4 nights, but we left after 1 night. Hotel is nice with great views, but in middle of dust. Definitely to place to relax and enjoy beach - you have to take car and drive 5 min to reach beach, no showers no public toilets on this beach. Hotel is not value for money at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moanamanager, Owner at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Martin, the hotels manager, Bruno, informed me that you enjoyed Moana and that you found no complaint with it but that you wanted to check out and receive a refund because you wanted to stay in a hotel that was beachfront.
Bruno took the time to explain to you that as we were full during your stay, that we held your room when you booked it online thus turning away other potential clients.

Unfortunately as were a small hotel we need to implement out booking policies even when the client wants to relocate because the hotel is not a beach front hotel. It is also clearly described on our website that we’re not a beachfront hotel but an ocean view hotel. If there was a problem such as a broken AC unit or the like we would happily refund you, as it would be an error on our part.

Bruno offered to resell your room (which is our unwritten policy in these situations as we don’t wish for any ill feeling) and if achieved we were more than happy to refund you for your stay. Bruno did this even before you threatened him with a bad review for something that was not the fault of the hotel.
Tripadvisor was created to allow travellers to voice honest and helpful reviews and to pass on feedback both positive and negative in the hope of improving the hotel industry, it is not there to draw revenge against hotels when they stand their ground.

Our location is a mere 1.5kms from the sometimes dusty and noisy centre and that’s why a lot of our guests choose to stay with us as they don’t wish to hear the loud music from the open air nightclubs on the beach. The entrance to the hotel is located 150meters from the main road and we’re one of the few hotels in the area where the dust has never been a problem.
I’m sorry you chose the wrong hotel location on this trip but I hope the rest of your vacation was up to your satisfaction,
Aidan P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

....and still as good as first! we love this hotel, stylish, boutique, friendly, relaxed. already booked for Christmas :-)
Fantastic hotel for couples wanting to get away and relax. You will need a hire car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our stay at Moana was lovely! We chose a standard room, which was more than sufficient. It was clean, quiet, and had a nice bathroom, a safe, and a fridge/minibar. It felt very private and the back windows looked out on trees. It also had a front porch where we could sit and enjoy a drink and the 24/7 sounds of the ocean across the street. The pool was nice, though we didn't spend much time in it. The pool area has some cool hanging beds to lounge on and an "honesty bar," where you can purchase drinks and snacks by simply taking them and writing down your name/room/date. The hotel staff are all very friendly and most of them spoke excellent English and were understanding of our less than perfect Spanish! Upon arrival we were immediately asked, Necesita ayuda?, before even leaving the parking lot with our luggage! We were able to book excursions through the hotel and we didn't need to pay until checkout (excursions are cash only and reasonably-priced). It was very convenient. The included breakfasts were excellent, and starting our day up in the Papaya Lounge with its amazing views and chill vibe was awesome! Not to mention the sweet (non-barking) dog, Lulu, who greeted us every day. We had a car but on several occasions walked down the beach into town, which was also nice. I would recommend walking the beach vs. the street as it is very dusty. I would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone! So romantic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Moana for a few days during our honeymoon. We absolutely loved this hotel. It was clean, quite, room had nice beds, and most of all a spacious and modern and clean bathroom. This was by far our favorite hotel during our 11 day visit to Costa Rica. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and at restaurant not only has awesome food but great views. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Moana.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I spent a lovely week in the suite at Hotel Moana. We debated about spending the money for the suite but decided to splurge. And we are so glad we did! The room is worth it for the view alone, the Pacific stretched out before you, the coast line snaking away to the north. The room itself was incredibly spacious, with two rain showers and a huge jacuzzi tub. It is a little bit of a climb up the stairs, but we didn't think it was too bad, and was a small price to pay for the views and the privacy. Not to mention the hotel's location guarantees you're far enough back and high enough up from the road that the ever present dust of the dry season comes nowhere near your room.

The staff were fantastic, happy to help us with any questions we had. We booked a zip lining tour, surfing lesson, and horseback ride through companies they recommended, and had a great time doing each.

Bottom line: yes there are far cheaper places to stay in Mal Pais and Santa Teresa, but if you can save up for Hotel Moana, it is worth every penny. It feels like an actual getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manintial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: 1.5 kilometers to the south, Playa Carmen, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing