We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option in Mal Pais”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I visit Mal Pais recently and stayed in a deluxe room in Moana Lodge. The room had lots of privacy and a jungle view complete with howler monkeys one morning. The room had everything you could want, comfortable bed, TV, air conditioning, refrigerator, safe, full-length mirror and nice decoration. The pool area was close by and comfortable and the restaurant FABULOUS! The rate includes breakfast. The views and sunset from the restaurant are spectacular. Moana Lodge is close to Mal Pais, Santa Teresa and also Montezuma and Cabo Blanco Reserve. We hope to get back to Moana Lodge soon!

Room Tip: We recommend the Sapo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 425 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at Hotel Moana in a Junior Suite. The room was extremely spacious, clean, and had amazing views of the ocean! The staff at Moana were helpful, and always friendly! The resort is nestled on the side of a hill, with beautiful vegetation, and lots of wildlife on site! We saw several monkeys during our 5 days there. The Pool was a great place to relax and enjoy a drink during the hot part of the day. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Mal Pais area.

Room Tip: Go with a Deluxe Suite for the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken9008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon @ Moana and it was a great exprience. The room was exactly as advertised online, the place was clean and our champange was nice and cold upon arrival. The staff was quite friendly and always availlable when needed.

The food was really good. The restaurant has a limited menue but this worked out for us because we had plans to lunch and dinner @ other places with some friends but we had breakfast there everyday and it was delicious. We only had dinner there about twice in a week but again, the food was amazing!

We are planning on going there again in about two months with a few of our friends.

Thank you guys for the enjoyable stay.

Ricardo y Andrea.

Room Tip: Deluxe was nice but I saw the location of the Junior Suites and trust me, it is worth the extra buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here for a little more than a week and loved the room, the grounds, the restaurant and the staff. The views were incredible as well. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel for our Mal Pais vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Moana lodge in mid December of 2013. What a great find! We stayed in one of the lower rooms, but after being there if you can, absolutely get one of the suites located above the trees, the view is unbelievable. Lucky for us they designed the lodge so everyone has an opportunity to catch this view from the restaurant. The staff is very nice and helpful, the breakfast and dinner views are unbeatable, and we had a great stay at Moana lodge. Also if you get the chance the hidden beach south of the hotel is awesome, tucked away behind the big rock you can see on the left from the restaurant. There is a fantastic tidepool there and nice quiet laid back spot to chill. They do have a couple of naughty dogs that were sort of mascots, that had a habit of barking at night, but other than that the place was great.

Oh, and Bruno... we never could get the hot tub to work but the pool and the hanging beds were awesome.
Cheers
Russ & Karen

Room Tip: Go high for the fantastic view, i think the dogs would be less noticeable up there too....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ_and_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My partner and I just came back from the most amazing holiday in Costa Rica. We've managed to see the almost the whole part of Pacific coast, traveling mostly by car and a bit by plane. We stayed at 5 hotels in total and Moana was one of them. This lodge is a little heaven in wild Costa Rica! We had junior suite and were wowed by the room design and unbelievable view! The whole lodge is built on a steep hill so there are many steps but little exercise never hurt anyone plus it's soo worth it. I would definitely recommend one of the junior suites on the top as they have the best view of the sea. Mal Pais is a charming little town with gorgeous beach St Teresa just 5min drive from Moana lodge. Although it's best to visit the beach in the early morning with low tide. Also Montezuma is very close, (took us 20min by car) if you feel like exploring a bit more. The staff is super friendly and helpful, food is excellent, wifi is working perfectly in the lounge/restaurant area. Manager Bruno was one of the nicest guys we met on our travel trough CR and he made us feel right at home. We would definitely be coming back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent experience!!!
beautiful hotel, pool, room's and a very good restaurant where you can take the breakfast.. dinner... or just a drink in the sunset!
the staff are very kind!!!
Very good energy... to stay in vacations in Malpais/ Santa teresa!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Address: 1.5 kilometers to the south, Playa Carmen, Mal Pais 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range: $78 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana is a small private luxury ocean view hotel. Located in the magnificent tranquil region of Mal PaÌs Beach on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. During your vacation with us you'll encounter high quality modern hotel suites and rooms that blend comfort with style leaving you with an unforgettable personal experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing