We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent”
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Execellent”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent experience!!!
beautiful hotel, pool, room's and a very good restaurant where you can take the breakfast.. dinner... or just a drink in the sunset!
the staff are very kind!!!
Very good energy... to stay in vacations in Malpais/ Santa teresa!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    64
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
56
278
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After two weeks travelling we chose Moana Lodge for a restful stay prior to returning to San Jose, and Moana Lodge was a great choice.I had first heard of Moana Lodge on the "Amatuer Traveller" podcast about Costa Rica and they gave a positive review so that was a good reason for us to choose Moana Lodge.We had the standard rooms and they were very clean and comfortable,in a great setting and all for a fair price. As other reviews have mentioned it is on a hillside with with stairs to negotiate, but it shouldn't be a problem for anyone with a reasonable level of finess.Besidses you wouldn't get to eat the beautiful meals and experience the sensational view from the Papaya restaurant without a little effort. The pool area is also lovely and relaxing as well. A special mention to Bruno and the staff who were all very helpfull and easy to get on with. All in all a great place to stay in Mal Pais.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Moana Lodge is beautiful. The hotel is on a hillside with spectacular views. They seem to have taken the natural landscape into account with the construction of the lodge, so it feels like you're a part of the jungle.

The staff is super friendly and they made us feel right at home. Plus, the food and drinks at Papaya are fantastic. Definitely stay at Moana. You won't regret it. Pura vida!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMatt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Moana Lodge. The hotel was clean, the rooms were beautifully decorated, the hotel was surrounded by lots of greenery and the staff was always very helpful when I needed anything or had questions. Actually, I'd say they went out of there way to be helpful. The location was perfect for what I was looking for (close to my friends wedding, close to the beach and only a 15 minute walk along the beach to get to town). The internet connection was better than I thought it would be which is pretty important because I needed to check in with the office and I was able to make Skype calls without any problems. One night I lounged by the pool in only a bathing suit from just before sunset until an hour after sunset without even one mosquito bit. Usually I'm the first person to get bitten so I was happily surprised. I'm not sure if it is like this all year round but it was nice to have it while I was there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScissorBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is outstanding. The rooms was great, the pool beautiful. The views from the restaurant were excellent. I really enjoyed staying here and I highly recommend it. The staff and management are also super-friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just stayed at the newly available Casa Moana. This is a separate private house affiliated with Moana Lodge. Awesome house and location. There were 10 people in our party and there was lots of space in this house. The pool is great along with the upper covered patio. The road up to the house is very rough and a 4x4 is recommended. You need to drive a short distance (5 minutes) to access a good swimming beach. The house is located up on a hill and is very private and away from the dust. Highly recommend a stay at Casa Moana.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in Moana at the end of a busy two week holiday in Costa Rica. We wanted to have a little treat at the end of our holiday and stayed in Moana for 5 nights.
What a wonderful place. It was exactly as we had hoped. It's a lovely mixture of peaceful surroundings, a nearby beach (5 minute walk), stunning views (sunsets were incredible from the restaurant) as well as activites (e.g.surfing) if you want. The hotel itself is beautifully hidden amongst the trees and therefore seems really considerate to the surrounding nature.
The rooms are great - lovely and spacious with big showers. The staff are also great - Bruno was particularly helpful however. He just seemed to run everything so efficently and smoothly.
The food at the restaurant was really good too. We loved the fact that it was served as tapas so that we could sample lots of different dishes.
I have such fond memories of Moana - it really is a special place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Property: Hotel Moana
Address: Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing