We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Moana
Nearby Hotels
$387
$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Place(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$146
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Jay Lodge(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$51
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ritmo Tropical(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasis(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alamar Aparthotel(Punta Arenas)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Las Brisas(Punta Arenas)
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alamar(Punta Arenas)
$59
$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
334
65
23
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
65
23
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitesanta teresastandard roomcosta ricahanging bedsocean viewspectacular viewsour honeymoonhotel groundsevery morningincluded breakfastin townoutdoor showerhighly recommend hotelwatch the sunsetshort drivespent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 442 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel cut into the side of the hill surrounded by jungle type trees. We stayed in a deluxe standard room which had a massive four poster, a single bed and a massive bathroom. We had a TV too, which was great as apparently this was not the case for standard rooms.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and you can rent quad bikes, snorkelling equipment etc. Breakfast was amazing and I would recommend the banana French toast or the pancakes. The best thing was the view from the restaurant - it was a shame that the restaurant was closed as it was low season. There is a sweet swimming pool and some swinging beds to relax on. The hotel was quiet so there wasn't much of an atmosphere but we were looking for some peace and quiet so it was perfect for us.

Be aware that it is quite a walk to the nearest town, Playa el Carmen, either along a dusty road or a rocky beach. You can get a taxi but this is not always easy and you can't flag them down - we ended up walking back from Playa Santa Teresa one day, which was long and tiring. I would recommend hiring a car or a quad bike to get around as Santa Teresa is the best beach for swimming and body boarding. We also went for a trip to the waterfall at Montezuma in the car.

There are some lovely restaurants in the area - we ate at Mary's (delicious pizzas and fish), Carocolas (great views and quesdillas) and an Argetinian restaurant with amazing barbecued chicken.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room so that you have a TV as the TV room is a long walk up to the restaurant and is not open in low season. If you can afford it, the suites looked amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trimairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Moana Lodge for two nights in August. It is a magnificent hotel and the junior suite we opted for was well worth it. We were welcomed by the Irish owner who filled us in on details and took us to our room. The room was breath-taking, 180 degree views over the treetops to the sea, a sitting room and a bedroom with giant bed. The outside shower with no vis a vis was wonderful too.

Our only problem with the room was that the air-conditioning stopped working on night two and although we made do with ceiling fan it was a little too hot given the price, but otherwise it was well worth it.

The restaurant was closed for the rainy season but the place opened up every morning for breakfast with surely some of the best views in the region. From our table we could look north along the coast line apparently some 40 or 50 miles at one point when the air was clear.

There is a charming swimming pool (inevitably filled sometimes with leaves since the place is in the middle of the jungle. We chose two activities during our stay which we booked through the hote - zip-lining - the price we were charged was US$5 more than announced in their book and the lady at reception didn't seem phased when we told her and said they'd simply forgotten to change the price in the book. Not a good reaction in a boutique hotel - in Europe the standard response would have been to charge us the book price. As always it's not the 5 dollars it's the principle and it is important to get these little details right. The canopy zip-lining excursion was great with two wonderful and kind guys in charge of us. Our second trip was horse-riding which was great too - our Honduran guide who spoke no English was very kind and I was forced to practise my basic Spanish - we cantered on the beach, hacked through a forest path and back and forth for a couple of hours.

Our check out was done by very friendly Massimo.

Our only negative comment would be that the place felt a little abandoned - on two occasions when we needed to go to reception to ask something (wifi access code and explain that our room was like a furnace because the a/c had broken) there was no one there and although we were told to ring a bell for help, it was some time coming (ten minutes one time). We never saw our Irish host again and were never really sure what his role was.

But all in all definitely worth the detour. it's also on the calmer side of this long and magnificent strip of beach, the other side being a little like Bali thirty years ago. A two mile string of bars, shops, beach restaurants and quads (no quads in Kuta 30 years ago thank God) with lots of dust being kicked up in the unpaved road when it doesnt rain.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite - it's quite a climb but truly worth it
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxingzhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The grounds are nice - a rich jungle with lots of plants. We stayed in a regular Room with 1-Dbl & 1-Twin beds, a big shower and a mini-fridge, but no TV. Hotel was quiet in (July 6-7), and isolated. A 4x4 is useful to get to the nearby beaches, and restaurants. We recommend "The Caracolas" and Mary's(Cash only) Restaurants. Also if you are physically challenged this is NOT the place for you. The walk from the front desk or rooms to the restaurant is a challenge even for someone in great shape. For those who are able to make it up to the restaurant, the view is absolutely beautiful. An amazing place to sit and watch the sunset, and the listen to the wild life & ocean. Moreover, there is a large TV room near the restaurant for rooms without a TV. We recommend to bring OFF (for mosquitoes), and your own towels.

Room Tip: Not for people that are physically challenged,You may see tiny ants in bathroom, its the rain-forest
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hempflings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Moana for 3 nights on a 14 day Costa Rica all across the Country trip. Beautifully located and decorated hotel, we had the cabin right beside the very nice pool, with great views from the restaurant. All situated at a steep hill so be prepared for some workout on a lot of stairs! Amazing food and very friendly staff, really nothing to complain about. Be aware that you don't have good access to a beach and that the town is a couple minutes drive away on a bad gravel road. If you are adventurous, this part of the Conutry is the place to go. There is a little restaurant hidden very close to Moana at the dirt road to your left heading into town. It is called 'Caracolas'. You sit at the beach and it's amazing, absolutely worth trying but look hard otherwise you'll miss it. Overall I would go back to Moana any time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at Moana Lodge on the final leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is situated a 5-10 minute drive along a very bumpy road (like all the roads in the area - 4x4 a must) from the main crossroads in Playa Carmen where there are shops, a pharmacy, ATMs, restaurants etc.

The beach opposite the hotel is nice for watching the sunset, but is not good for a paddle - it's very rocky and the surf will slam the stones into your ankles (as I found out to my cost). There's also a pack of dogs that roam around there, so not good if you're don't like dogs much!

Playa Carmen is sandy and if you're willing to drive a bit further Playa Santa Teresa and Playa Hermosa are stunning strips of palm-fringed sand with big surf where we did both bodyboarding and surfing (watch out for the rip currents though - super strong!). Montezuma's beautiful and calm swimming beach is 35-minutes' drive away.

As for the hotel itself, most of the buildings are nestled in the trees, apart from the restaurant and suites, which have amazing views out to sea. Due to the junior suite's cost, we started our stay in a semi-detached double room - we were pleased to see a bottle of Champagne had been put out for us - before moving up to the suite for the last two nights.

In general, the hotel is very nice, but we just felt it lacked a few of the details that make a place great. For instance, the rooms were nice and clean, but we weren't overly impressed with the lack of bin bags in the bathrooms, given that you can't flush toilet paper in Mal Pais, and things like hairdryers and flannels were missing. The indoor shower in the junior suite also didn't work, but luckily there was a nice private outdoor shower which made up for it.

The hanging beds by the pool are really relaxing and the water itself is nice and cool (Mal Pais is scorching hot day and night - you will need your A/C on!), although its a pretty small so no swimming.

The restaurant was nice, but be warned that in the 'green' season there's a good chance it will be closed apart from during breakfast. The breakfast itself is a la carte, which was a bit disappointing as we'd got used to buffet spreads elsewhere. Also one morning it took 35 minutes to get some pancakes, which we think is because they have so few staff in the off season that they all seem to do multiple jobs - chef/waitress one minute, cleaner the next.

But the main disappointment for us was the distinct lack of a warm Tico welcome that we'd experienced everywhere else in Costa Rica. One of the waitresses mumbled so quietly you could barely hear her and the other members of staff including the female owner were polite but not friendly, even when we were both really struggling with a stomach bug - don't expect any small talk.

This could/should have been a five-star review.

Room Tip: The views from the suites are fantastic
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews