We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Moana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Moana
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in April. It was a great end to our vacation. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The pool area is clean and relaxing. And breakfast is included and the breakfast was SO amazing. Not only the food but waking up with some coffee and the view from the restaurant, which is only open to hotel guests for breakfast, started the day off perfectly. The hotel is a bit out of town but that was a good thing. It's an easy trip via ATV or car, maybe 5 minutes. It's certainly walkable too but we enjoyed having an ATV, (which you can rent through the lodge), to visit other areas of the peninsula as well. Vicki was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and things to do around the area. And honestly, the steps to the restaurant are not bad. Some reviews kind of worried me when I was deciding on a place to stay and it was no big deal at all. Great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe rooms but if you can afford it, go for the junior suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderWasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    58
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
264
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Moana is definitely a place to come back again! The staff is really friendly, the owners themselves accompany you throughout your stay and make you feel at home (or way better I would say)! The view from this place is incredible, and the restaurant (on the uppermost part of the property) really adds a lot to the lodge. It's a lounge type of restaurant with simple but great tasting food!
The lodge is located in the heart of Mal Pais and only a 2 minute drive from the center of this "jungle-beach-paradise"!
If you're planning to visit something very different in Costa Rica, Mal Pais and Moana are the places to visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterbury ct
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July while on our honeymoon. We had just traveled from Arenal and this was our first stop by the ocean. The views from our room were amazing!! We had a great view of the ocean and were lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the waves crashing on shore. The beach there is not swimmable as previous reviews have noted. No problem though if you have a car, just drive a mile down the roadto playa hermosa or santa teresa and hop on in with the surfers. The owners were very friendly and vicki gave us a grat tip on where to eat when we traveled to Montezuma to visit the waterfalls and town. Thanks again Vicki. The food at Moana can't be beat. The dinners and breakfast were excellent and the sunsets were breathtaking. Lastly, we loved our server!! He was so nice to talk with and had a relaxed demeanor which matched the relaxing vibe of CR. He made some killer drinks too! Thanks again Moana!

Room Tip: Might as well pick one up on the hill with a view. It will help to reduce the long long walk up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The owners have poured themselves into this place and it shows. They've created a wonderful place and our stay was fantastic. Great service and staff. Excellent communication prior to our arrival. Clean, very well maintained and a wonderful environment. We stayed three nights here and couldn't have asked for a better way to start our Costa Rica trip. Breakfast was included - and it was definitely NOT your Holiday Inn continental breakfast. Get the Gallo Pinto. Prices were more than reasonable in our opinion too and they could have easily charged 1.5x as much and it would have still felt worth it to us. Their restaurant is a MUST too - best views we had all week and some incredible tapas and drinks at extremely reasonable prices. We went other places and were disappointed, so came back to eat and drink here even while we stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a GREAT place to stay in Mal Pais, but train on your stair master before going! This palce is built on the side of the mountain and there are lots of stairs, but the views from the higher up rooms like we had are to die for. We had a junior suite: big bedroom, nice living and a HUGE bathroom. The only downfall for us Texans is that the living room had no aircon. However we kept the curtains drawn closed during the day when we were gone and the rooms would cool down without much trouble.

The restaurant is quite honestly fantastic and decently priced. Breakfast is part of the package and quite frankly they have the best french toast that I have EVER had in my life.

The management and owner (Vickie) will help you set up any thing that you want. Just know that the "extras" (aka boat rental, massages, fishing trips) need to be paid in cash at the end of your stay. Not a big deal, just need to plan for it. The massage that they set up with Julieta is one of the best that I have had, and I have had massages in Thailand, Bali, etc.

There are mini-supermarkets in town where you can get all the snacks, wine and beer that you want and just bring it back to the room.

We will definitely go back and take friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The 25 km rive down a gravel road is well worth the effort. That fact also seems to help keep the area relatively uncrowded.

We had one of the high-up junior suites; big bedroom, nice living room and a very nice bathroom with both an indoor and outdoor shower! Windows open wide to the jungle.

Wonderful!

The patio of the suite and the open-air restaurant both overlook the surrounding jungle yet provide spectacular views of the ocean and the coastline.

The restaurant food was excellent and reasonably priced. Try the swordfish if they have it. Ours was near perfect.

Nearby Playa Carmen and Playa Hermosa offer beautiful beaches with decent surf. We found an ocean-front restaurant that serves decent food, even though a little expensive. The several mini-supers have everything you might need for in-room snacks.

We rented a panga-type boat for about $60/hr. and caught some nice fish. Probably a little more expensive than a tour but a great way to have fun, see the coast from a different perspective and maybe get a good meal out of it!

Wonderful friendly staff; beautiful location; great deal!

This is where I'll stay next time down.

Room Tip: Junior suites will blow you away; I know the climb up will make you winded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faldago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We scooted up the coast for a change of scenery a few weeks ago and fell into Moana Lodge . Great choise, Everything about the place gave us a good vibe, We own a small hotel down the coast in Quepos Manuel Antonio so it was refreshing to see some new ideas and also amuzing to see how much we had in common. Reading the history of the blood,sweat and tears that went into this place my wife and I laughed out loud how familiar some of these stories were to our own project. They even have an honour bar too.At check out we laughed about some of the issues an honour bar can create. I think I am going to change the name of ours to a karma bar .
The restaurant is probably one of the nicest spots in the area , Unfortunatly We did not eat dinner there but as circumstance had it we ran into some guests of ours that had just left our hotel and they were having dinner there and raved about the food. From what I saw I would give them a 10 on presentation alone .
We went up the the delux suites to have a look but they were not in our budget for this trip but next time thats where I would probably stay. Beautiful Beautiful and you have the same view as from the restaurant.
All in all a great spot , Its on my list of 3 favorite hotels in Costa Rica .
GR

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Condotel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moana

Property: Hotel Moana
Address: Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mal Pais
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Moana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moana is a small luxurious ocean view hotel nestled amongst a rich backdrop of wildlife and jungle. Inspired by Africa for its choice of décor, the beautiful rooms offer tranquility and comfort to all of our guests. Enjoy being served breakfast while you gaze out over the Pacific Ocean. Later hang out at the wonderful pool area and fall asleep on a suspended day bed while the waves crash in the background, paradise awaits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Moana Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing