We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Chameleon Hotel Mal Pais
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Oasis(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Jay Lodge(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$41
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel The Place(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Naranja Ocean View House(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moana(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$82
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Playa(Mal Pais)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Star Mountain Jungle Lodge(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zeneidas Surf Garden(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Vista de Olas(Mal Pais)(Great Value!)
$220
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveler rating
384
27
14
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
27
14
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolour honeymooncatch of the daycosta ricaromance packagejose luisevery mealhalf boardtortuga islandlikes and dislikeswalkie talkiesmall planesanta teresapura vidatunacouples massagerent an atv
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 435 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Casa Chameleon and absolutely loved it. Our villa, Palma, was stunning, the staff friendly and attentive, and the grounds were beautiful. First class service across the board. By all means take them up on the meals. The breakfast every morning was fresh and delicious. There was always a variety of tropical fruit, fresh coconut water, and freshly ground Costa Rican coffee. Dinner... dinner was out of control. The chef is extremely talented and easily the friendliest person on the planet. Not to be missed. I don't often write Tripadvisor reviews, but felt the need since our experience was so amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyukyuNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is really nice. The views are beautiful and the immediate proximity to a natural forest right outside your window will be difficult to find again. The staff have been trained by the owner, a british millionaire, to provide the most impeccable service and, mostly, they do.

Unfortunately I have to say "mostly" because from all the great people in Casa Chamaleon, my girlfriend and I found the manager, Alonso, to be the least helpful. Maybe he was having a bad week, but on 3 separate occasions he had comments or attitudes that completely contrasted with the rest of the staff. We were told about the goal, the owner of the hotel has given them of being the first on trip advisor, and I do not want to punish the whole team for 1 persons attitude. That is the reason why the hotel will get a 5, but Mr. Alonso definitely needs to improve his service because others might not be as lenient.

For the rest of the staff:

The chef was amazing cook and very nice (the 69 dollar per person is expensive but the food and personalized attention made us come back on several occasions). Ronald, the suchef, cooked by himself on one occasion and the food was incredible as well. John and willy, the waiters, had a great attitude and knew how to serve. The assistant of the manager, carol (I might have the name wrong) was helpful and courteous. Finally, Doña, who prepared the breakfast every morning made them all memorable with her incredible food and service. The night security guy was always smiling and in great spirits.

The hotel is overall very well maintained and malpais y st teresa are great places to go and relax. Make sure to get one of the renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Vista is very nice but is not renovated like some of the other cabins
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felipe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our expectations of Casa Chameleon were exceeded in all regards. The villa was immaculate and devoid of creepy crawlers despite the fact that it was surrounded by lush greenery. Facilities were beautiful and decorated very tastefully. The bar was a lounging heaven and the staff was super happy and friendly. However, the real gem was the chef. It will be hard to find another restaurant that will match the chef's passion for food and the quality of the dishes that were served. He was even kind enough to share some of his cooking tips! I would also wholeheartedly suggest having a car because there are lots of beautiful areas to explore nearby. If you are staying in Mal Pais, don't miss this place, nothing else we saw in the area came even close.

Room Tip: Villa Palma was on a steep hill with a cliff-like falloff, providing spectacular views of the rainforest below and total privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kosta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I spent several days of our honeymoon here. The only problem we had was having to leave- tears! Each villa is spaced out for maximum privacy. There is a central lounge/restaurant area at the top of the hill that afforded great views of the ocean. The staff are very attentive - they want to spoil you and they do a great job of it. The food is great - it feels like you have your own chef. I would recommend renting an ATV to do some exploring around Santa Teresa and Mal Pais. Extra bonus: as a "honeymoon" location we were a little nervous as a gay couple, but we were accepted with open arms. "Hola, chicas!"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ktgrrrl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Casa Chameleon the last few days of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. I wish we could have stayed longer. I loved every minute at this oasis in the forest. It is a very small hotel. Only 6 villas total. We chose our room for the beautiful plunge pool and view of the ocean.
The staff was so sweet and very kind. The little restaurant is very private and the food was amazing. The chefs and bar staff were truly wonderful. Every meal we had was top notch. We look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyc728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews