We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drinks + Food + Music. Anything else?”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beach Dog Cafe Santa Teresa Mal Pais
Cuisines: American, Fusion, South American, Central American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Drinks + Food + Music. Anything else?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

After a long walk at the warm sand and the amazing sunset in Playa Guiones, my husband and I took one of the paths out of the beach, and headed to The Beach Dog Cafe.
Somebody at Casa Rosada where we were at in Nosara told us to try. It was a good walk from the place we were at, but it was very worthy.
The happy hour was till 6:30 pm. We got there at 6 and start with some drinks while looking into the menu. For drinks, I chose a fresh fruis with one of my favorites liquor: pineapple with rum Flor de Cana. My husband went just for a delicious, sweet and thick mango juice that, of course, I tried a little sip. The waitresses were very nice. One of them even knew some words in Portuguese! I liked that! We had a shrimp in a light coconut milk and lime sauce. Great combination! The live music started at 7 pm. We just relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful night.
Hint: if you are going out to eat at night, take a flash light with you. Streets with public lights are difficult to find. The gravel roads are narrow and believe me there are plenty of four wheeler, scooters and cars coming and going. No sidewalks either. Kind of different.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luaxlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Service was great, good selection, super nice staff in a kind of patio setting, well done, arty inside but plenty of room outside. Prices are good, all service included.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 12345678910go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great food, service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Came here traveling solo and found Beach Dog! The menu had a great variety, but clearly uses local ingredients and flavor. The veggies and chicken are organic and everything tasted super fresh and was well presented. There's inside and outside seating and really clean but also casual. There's good island music streaming though the outdoor speakers and it's a nice vibe. I've been here a couple times and always leave happy and full!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derekthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Organic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very complete menu and our dishes were all fantastic. Located in the middle of the Centro Commercial, this is a wonderful place for a breakfast or lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dasfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't stay away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

In a town with great food choices, this is one of the best! For lunch...amazing fish tacos, truly delicious spinach salad with feta and strawberries, panko fried avocado tacos - yum! We saw a million other things we want to try, but have been having a hard time straying from the tacos and smoothies. Warning: this place is addictive! We have eaten lunch here 3 out of 4 days so far....and are already planning a trip for the Friday dinner and entertainment.

The owner is super friendly and welcoming and the location is great. For anyone gluten free, there are lots of good choices and you can ask for corn tortillas on the tacos. DEFINITELY recommend giving Beach Dog a try...I am sure you will love it as much as we do!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Dog Cafe Santa Teresa Mal Pais also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing