We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unforgettable”
other travelers have booked this property
Your view to the beach...just steps away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view to the beach...just steps away.
Spacious lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Your view to the beach...just steps away.
Spacious lounge area
Large hard wood dining table seating 12 persons comfortably
Open plan kitchen and dining area seating 12 persons comfortably
Chandelier in the entrance hall
Your view from the den in the upstairs master bedroom
View from the upstairs master suite
Upstairs Master bedroom lounge area
Bath and shower in master bedroom
Large tub in the master bedroom (2 showers too!)
Vanity and closets in the master bedroom
One of our three ocean facing bedroom on the ground level
One of our beachfront facing bedrooms
The double shower bathroom for two bedrooms
Master Guest bathroom
Three single beds with en-suite bathroom
Nice clean, surf-able waves on your doorstep
The bay right outside the house early morning
The bay from above. The house is apparent with the terracotta roof.
The 'secret' beach, not far from the house
When you see this sign you are not far away from heavan
Tours to islands or fishing can be arranged by our concierge
The walk home after a good days surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hilda R
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This beautiful and exclusive well equipped luxury mansion is very spacious yet cozy with different areas for all family activities and enjoyment.
Its very comfortable, airy and with super clean rooms attended by great housekeeping staff.
The beach is a private bay with crystal clear and warm waters. You can only hear the sound of the waves and birds. Just complete relaxation! The kindness and attention of the staff is incomparable and a great added bonus.
It is one of the most beautiful settings in Costa Rica ... a real paradise. I will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millie532
Cloverdale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mal Pais, Bad Lands? No way!”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent 17 days in Costa Rica. We stayed in five different locations, varied and unique in their own way. There was a general consensus among the eight people in our group that the March House in Mal Pais was our favorite spot.

We rented a house on the beach owned by Yan Pierre March, appropriately named The March House. The home is designed to be open to the outdoors. The entire second floor was a master suite with the a wall completely open to palm trees, the ocean and gentle breezes. You woke up to the sound of howler monkeys making their daly migration through the trees and the waves crashing on the beach. Waking up here was my favorite memory of the trip.

The home is located on a dirt road full of pot holes that became familiar and even welcome. It is a mixed neighborhood of locals, surfers, and tourists comingling graciouisly. Wild life is in abundance with plenty of white faced monkeys to watch daily in the back yard, The beautiful beach is probably 70 yards from the back of the house.

The owner, Yan, is a transplanted South African--a delightful, well traveled international man who volunteered to to take us on a 7 hour ATV tour of the remote, wild and beautiful area that he now calls home. We saw parts of Mal Pais that most tourists would never see. We crossed rivers, saw endless stretches of white sandy beach and encountered very few people. All 8 of us identified this as our favorite adventure and memory.

Our host also introduced us to an Italian restaurant, well off the beaten track, where the food and ambience was unforgettable. Our journey there was in the dark on dirt roads full of mud and driving challenges. But oh, we laughed so hard and have so meany memories from that night.
There is a housekeeper who is inconspicuously there throughout the day, but a delightful contributor to our memories.
The home is modern design and it comfortably slept the 8 members of our family. The kitchen was well equipped, but could use some updating, especially the refrigerator. But these were minor things that in no way detracted from our enjoyment of this house. For 5 days it felt like home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to the ocean and local life
Liked least: The refrigerator
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigAggie
Carentan, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A touch of paradise!”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This house really is on the beach...when you wake up in the morning to the wide open panoramic view through the coconut trees to the ocean, watching the sea change to it's brilliant blue colour as the sun comes up, listening to the waves and at the same time hearing all the wildlife herald the new dawn, it truly is a magical experience.
The house itself is beautifully designed set in a fabulous location.
A 4x4 is needed to cope with the roads in Costa Rica. Next time we visit, (that is a given we will be returning), we will try the flight to Tambor the local airport...the drive from San Jose & ferry crossing was a great way to experience the country but if you have flown long haul from Europe you really need to stay a night in San Jose before embarking on that part of the journey.
Yan the owner was incredibly helpful and accommodating.
We're back in dreary wet cold Europe after 3 weeks of delightful sunny Costa Rica...badly missing the evening sun downer watching the sunset from the gazebo in the garden...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Hi Tansy,
Thanks so much for your very kind review. I am so happy that you and Mike had a great time at The March House.
I am looking forward to the next time you come and visit us.
We will be waiting for you both :-)
Big hug
Yan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle N
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing beachfront venue - vacation rental home on a grand scale”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2014

The March House in Mal Pais... Where to begin?

My first trip to Mal Pais / Santa Teresa with my then fiancée was in March of 2013. We visited a number of potential venues around the area which would have the location, scale, and capacity to host our wedding. We met with Yan early in the day and toured one of the most spectacular homes we have ever had the privilege of viewing. Private beachfront. Generous spaces, both indoor and out. Architectural interest. Nature. This was the place where we were going to get married!

Talking with Yan and arranging our booking for the middle of January 2014 was a breeze. He makes every effort to provide full service bookings, and equally important he knows when to let guests flow down their own path when planning their stay. We fell somewhere in the middle, having hired a very capable and wonderful wedding planner for our big day, but still having a week to enjoy the house, Mal Pais, and the very best Costa Rica has to offer.

Daily visits from howler and white-faced monkeys. Waking up to the sound of the ocean breaking on our secluded beach. Beautiful ocean, jungle, and beach vistas throughout the days punctuated by magnificent sunsets. These are a few of the reasons our stay at The March House was one for the ages. Hosting an amazing wedding ceremony among the beachfront palms, and an elegant reception on the house's grounds (we had approximately 45 guests in attendance - but the grounds could easily accommodate significantly larger events) was the highlight of our stay, but the nuances of the house, our host Yan, and this amazing part of the world were what completed the package for us.

Everything about our stay was incredible. The subtle architectural interests of the home show a great care and attention to detail to create an elegant and accommodating space that does not always show up in the photos. Whispers and hints rather than shouty loud architecture. Laying in the master suite's king-size bed, with the wooden folding walls opened up to the ocean. Feeling the breeze. Hearing the waves crash. Stars among the moonlit palm trees. Gazing at the stunning Almendro wood ceiling details, with the high peak of this main and cavernous space supported by a single impossibly slender concrete pillar. You cannot help but know that this is a special place.

The staff at the house (other than Yan - whom I have already praised) also make for a very enjoyable and relaxing visit. The housekeepers keep the home spotless, and go the extra mile to ensure guests are well taken care of. Overnight security is out of sight, yet provides peace of mind (and can help get a beach bonfire started if the mood strikes). Private chef services are top notch.

I really cannot say enough about how great my stay at The March House was, but I have to stop somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Wow Kyle, thanks so much for your very generous comments. It was my pleasure to help you during your time here at the house. I am so glad to hear you and Maryflor had a wonderful time here and the house and it surroundings made your wedding that so much more special.
I look forward to welcoming you here again sometime in the future.
Mi casa es su casa
Best wishes
Yan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rom1968
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Many thanks Romain for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves at the house.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and Aminata to The March House sometime in the future :-)
Best wishes
Yan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing