We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing beachfront venue - vacation rental home...”
other travelers have booked this property
Your view to the beach...just steps away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view to the beach...just steps away.
Spacious lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Your view to the beach...just steps away.
Spacious lounge area
Large hard wood dining table seating 12 persons comfortably
Open plan kitchen and dining area seating 12 persons comfortably
Chandelier in the entrance hall
Your view from the den in the upstairs master bedroom
View from the upstairs master suite
Upstairs Master bedroom lounge area
Bath and shower in master bedroom
Large tub in the master bedroom (2 showers too!)
Vanity and closets in the master bedroom
One of our three ocean facing bedroom on the ground level
One of our beachfront facing bedrooms
The double shower bathroom for two bedrooms
Master Guest bathroom
Three single beds with en-suite bathroom
Nice clean, surf-able waves on your doorstep
The bay right outside the house early morning
The bay from above. The house is apparent with the terracotta roof.
The 'secret' beach, not far from the house
When you see this sign you are not far away from heavan
Tours to islands or fishing can be arranged by our concierge
The walk home after a good days surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kyle N
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing beachfront venue - vacation rental home on a grand scale”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2014

The March House in Mal Pais... Where to begin?

My first trip to Mal Pais / Santa Teresa with my then fiancée was in March of 2013. We visited a number of potential venues around the area which would have the location, scale, and capacity to host our wedding. We met with Yan early in the day and toured one of the most spectacular homes we have ever had the privilege of viewing. Private beachfront. Generous spaces, both indoor and out. Architectural interest. Nature. This was the place where we were going to get married!

Talking with Yan and arranging our booking for the middle of January 2014 was a breeze. He makes every effort to provide full service bookings, and equally important he knows when to let guests flow down their own path when planning their stay. We fell somewhere in the middle, having hired a very capable and wonderful wedding planner for our big day, but still having a week to enjoy the house, Mal Pais, and the very best Costa Rica has to offer.

Daily visits from howler and white-faced monkeys. Waking up to the sound of the ocean breaking on our secluded beach. Beautiful ocean, jungle, and beach vistas throughout the days punctuated by magnificent sunsets. These are a few of the reasons our stay at The March House was one for the ages. Hosting an amazing wedding ceremony among the beachfront palms, and an elegant reception on the house's grounds (we had approximately 45 guests in attendance - but the grounds could easily accommodate significantly larger events) was the highlight of our stay, but the nuances of the house, our host Yan, and this amazing part of the world were what completed the package for us.

Everything about our stay was incredible. The subtle architectural interests of the home show a great care and attention to detail to create an elegant and accommodating space that does not always show up in the photos. Whispers and hints rather than shouty loud architecture. Laying in the master suite's king-size bed, with the wooden folding walls opened up to the ocean. Feeling the breeze. Hearing the waves crash. Stars among the moonlit palm trees. Gazing at the stunning Almendro wood ceiling details, with the high peak of this main and cavernous space supported by a single impossibly slender concrete pillar. You cannot help but know that this is a special place.

The staff at the house (other than Yan - whom I have already praised) also make for a very enjoyable and relaxing visit. The housekeepers keep the home spotless, and go the extra mile to ensure guests are well taken care of. Overnight security is out of sight, yet provides peace of mind (and can help get a beach bonfire started if the mood strikes). Private chef services are top notch.

I really cannot say enough about how great my stay at The March House was, but I have to stop somewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Wow Kyle, thanks so much for your very generous comments. It was my pleasure to help you during your time here at the house. I am so glad to hear you and Maryflor had a wonderful time here and the house and it surroundings made your wedding that so much more special.
I look forward to welcoming you here again sometime in the future.
Mi casa es su casa
Best wishes
Yan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rom1968
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Many thanks Romain for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves at the house.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and Aminata to The March House sometime in the future :-)
Best wishes
Yan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saraville...
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Las vistas
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirena226...
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Muchas actividades
Liked least: tener que marcharme
Traveling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing