We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect for families or couples”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for families or couples”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

set in a delightful tropical garden, the blue jay lodge was way better than other hotels we saw in the area. my wife and I and our two young children shared a bungalow for four nights just before Christmas and it was a lovely experience. it had an excellent location just off the beaten track of mal pais and was rustic without being unsophisticated. very mellow and peaceful surroundings with hammocks on the veranda. wonderfully hospitable owner David was always there for questions so thanks for that David and we wish we were still there. although we travelled with our kids, it would have been a very romantic spot as well as each bungalow is quite private. highly recommended

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    40
    10
    10
    1
See reviews for
24
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We got a comfortable bungalow with two Queen sz beds, a big bathroom with hot water and lots of storage space. TV and A/C. Everything was clean and nice, there was a sink outside in the front with a gas kitchen and plates and kitchen supplies included.
There's also a pool and breakfast is included. You will be surrounded by lots of trees, so you get enjoy the birds and TONS of howler monkeys! Pretty cool!
You can walk to Playa Carmen (cross street) and if you don't mind a 10-15 min walk you can also do it to the little town of Malpaís and Santa Teresa Beach.
If you are looking for the basics and having fun in one of the most beautiful places in CR, I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this green lodge. Looks like a jungle with iguanas walking aroung, giant spiders and even monkeys once on a roof. We had a bungalow with 2 hammocks outside, warm shower and 3 big beds inside. In a warm amd humid nights I wish wehad A/C. Nice swimming pool! Breakfast was fresh, but not too big cjoice- fruits, eggs or toast. Walking distance to a clean and calm beaches. Easy surfing for begginers and the owner was very friendly and gave us advie how to find best tide-pols.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrinaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Hotel is located in one of the most beautiful beach area in Costa Rica. The bungalows are located in the middle of a garden which allows you to to some bird watch or MONKEY watch. You don't need any luck they'll be there. You will be near one of the most beautiful breaks in Costa Rica in Santa Teresa so take your surfboard and get stoked with the waves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossross1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Well worth the money, I believe we paid $80 a night? perhaps less?
Includes Breakfast as well. has pool.

Villas were actually pretty big. they are like being in a tree house. The property is surrounded by thick forest with tones of birds. Through out of 3 1/2 week stay in Mal Pais & Santa Teresa we stayed at 7 different hotels. This one by far had the most variety of birds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLaFlamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were planning on staying two nights, but left after only one. For the price of $90, this was not what we expected. The room was entirely screened in, with lots of ways for bugs and other things to find there way in, which they did. The room was very dirty, and the beds in very poor shape, needs major upgrading. Since the room is only screened, the surrrounding noise made for a very sleepless night. People enjoy tearing up and down the dirt road that parallels the beach on their four wheelers at all hours. A near-by party had the music so loud I could feel the bed pulse. If you want a camping experience, then this might be for you - but at a high price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This end of the road location might as well be the end of the earth! Facilities are run down and the general condition of the property is a cut below most remote Tico owned facilities in this price range. Condo-type rooms have noisy A/C that didn't quite keep up with the March heat, no trail lighting from rooms to pool and the pool is a long trek from any room. We can not recommend this property to any traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 8 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 800 sur Banco de costa rica Playa Carmen Mal Pais, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Jay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Mal Pais
Blue Jay Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing