We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Frank's Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frank's Place
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed six nights at the end of March 2013. My wife and I originally booked another Hotel. Unfortunately, the room we reserved was not available upon our arrival. We stayed one night at that Hotel without Air Conditioning and decided to find other arrangements. After securing our rental car, we walked right next door to Frank's and inquired about a room. Frank's hooked us up! After explaining our situation to Juliana at the front desk, she worked to find us rooms for six nights. We ended up staying four nights in a regular room and two nights in a deluxe size room. What we enjoyed about our stay was that breakfast was included. The rooms were clean and had A/C and mini refrigerators. The pool and surrounding courtyard were clean and maintained. The location was unbeatable. We could walk to beach and surrounding restaurants. The only minor issue we had is when we checked into the second room, the A/C was not working. They did manage to get it working the same day, but it took awhile. Another thing worth mentioning, but did not bother us, is that they have an open bar area around the pool area where soccer games are viewed at night. It can get a little noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoteach_ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
9
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Frank's Place for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent, right at the crossroads of Malpais and Santa Teresa and you can walk to Playa Carmen in less than five minutes. The grounds are beautiful with palm trees, flowering shrubs and nice swimming pools reminiscent of Hawaii. Very serene setting and none of the road dust so prevalent in Santa Teresa. We could walk to the beach, several restaurants, the ice cream shop and some souvenir stores. Our room was on the second floor, had AC and a nice balcony shaded by palm trees. While there, we drove north on the narrow beach road past all the surf camps, hotels and restaurants and stopped at one of the secluded beaches and just hung out. We stopped at Atardecer Dorado in beautiful Playa Manzanillo for something cold to drink and it was the best banana milkshake I've ever had. We really enjoyed our time here. I liked Frank's Place a lot and the people who work here were exceptionally nice.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go4Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Gerente at Frank's Place, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Miss Carolyne!

We appreciate the comments about our hotel! We enjoyed your company and hope to see both of you back soon!


Juliana Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. It offers decent rooms with airco, an absolute must in Mal Pais. The breakfast is good enough but not special, don't try the restaurant for other purposes than breakfast though, there are plenty of other places nearby. It's hard to believe that this was once the centre of all Mal Pais action. It's location of course never changed, the beach and its waves are very close.
The staff is very friendly and arrange for surfing lessons if you want.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director de Recepción at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Ron,

We appreciate your comments. Hope we can have you back with us on another visit!

Hotel Frank´s Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in the economical rooms with shared bathroom. These were clean but faced the parking lot with alot of foot traffic. The pool area and breakfast spot was nice, although the restaurant was only open in the morning. Great location, walking distance to the beach and multiple restaurants and grocery store. More pricey than it should be at 40$ a night for the cheapest rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_PO_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director de Recepción at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for taking us in mind for your stay in Playa Carmen. I am sorry to hear the Shared bathroom rooms weren´t of your liking. I hope you can visit us another time and we can offer you a better room. The good news is that the restaurant would already be open for lunch and dinner as well! Sorry we could not offer that service due to management changes.

Hope to have you guys back!

Hotel Franks Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

There is nothing I can say about Frank's place that is exceptional. At the same time, there's nothing I can really say bad about the place. It was basically clean, the hotel has clearly taken some wear and tear, but nothing of obvious neglect. The location is central to everything, coffee ship, sushi restaurant, sports bar, a little on the noisy side, as it's the intersection of the main road into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Front Office Manager at Frank's Place, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Jack E,

Hotel Frank´s Place would like to thank you. We take in consideration any concerns or discomfort our visitors have. This low season we have tried our best to work on the Hotel maintenance as best as we can.

We hope to have you around again!

Hotel Frank´s Place Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I made an online reservation, gave my credit card number, received a confirmation number and a notice that if I did not cancel within the given time frame, my credit card would be charged. Well, I get to the hotel with a print-out of my confirmation and they said they didn't have my reservation. That what I had was only "confirmation of a request" not an actual confirmation of reservation. They did not have any rooms for me and did not even let me use their phone to call around to find something. It was December 31 and everything in town was full because of the holiday. I ended up having to sleep on the beach. I am a 45 year-old woman traveling alone - not the way I wanted to spend New Year's Eve!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishInstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director de Recepción at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello!

We apologize for not being more careful with the reservation! During high season it is very hard sometimes to keep up with so many reservations specially on New Years week. It is not often this happens. We apologize and promise if at any moment you wanted to visit us we would make sure to make it an exellent stay!

Hotel Frank´s Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mal Pais hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Franks place for a week in April and absolutely loved our trip. The hotel couldn't be in a more central location, its within walking distance to just about everything. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, they made everything so easy and were very helpful when booking tours. The rooms are very large and the hotel had a very relaxing atmosphere. Definitely stay here and enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaystravelling307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franks Place H, Director General at Frank's Place, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello!

It feels so great to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate the comments and hope to serve you with even a better stay next time!

Thank you,

Hotel Frank´s Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Santa Teresa
Hotel Playa Santa Teresa
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frank's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frank's Place

Property: Frank's Place
Address: 150 meters Playa Carmen | Crossroads Santa Teresa, Mal Pais 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frank's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Began in the 90's where a small family business began working with the few tourists who came to the area. It was when surfing started in santa teresa beach . Over the years the number of tourists and nationals began visiting Santa Teresa and Malpais beach , the hotel grew and was still one of the most popular places in the area, which was the benchmark for all tourism that reached the area. The small restaurant and cabins at that time housed about 25 people , led to the residents of the community to see the need to start working with the tourism in this area . From 2000, the growth of tourism grew exorbitantly by the arrival of more tourists. The boom in sales of properties where many foreigners came to be part of the community, building cabins to house tourism . Frank 's Place as well as being a family business was located between the number one place in the area for both its domestic meals, and international. The warmth of the Costa Rican hotel has managed to keep its roots and is still run by its owner and family . After 23 years of progress , you will find Hotel Franks Place located 150 meters from the beautiful beach of Playa Carmen , one of the best places to watch sunsets in Mal Pais, Costa Rica , and next to all services banks, pharmacy, commercial center , car rental , etc. .. This charming and typical place will ensure you to have a pleasant stay for a nice vacation . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Frank's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frank's Place Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing