We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our stay in Costa Rica”

Sunset Lounge & Katsumi
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Vista de Olas has now two restaurants - one is with International cuisine open for breakfast, lunch & dinner then the other is a Japanese restaurant open for dinner.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

Roger and his son Sven made our trip to the coast wonderful. Firstly Sven picked us up from up-country and drove us 6 hours through the most stunning scenery. As you'll have read on other reviews there is no view of the ocean as good as from Vista de Olas. Sven took us out fishing on their private boat and they cooked us our catch of tuna and maki-mahi that evening. You don't get it fresher than that. Breakfast was limited but we were happy to check out the fun cafes in town. Whilst there we hired one of their ATV's which was essential. Roger was at hand constantly to advise on where to surf, swim and eat. If you fancy they can organise all sorts of other excursions. The rest of the staff were friendly and professional and they all worked very well together. If you can't stay there at least pop up for a sundowner cocktail.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Q1169ZHjamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Had such a wonderful start to our Costa Rica vacation. All the staff is super friendly, the view is spectacular, and the location is in the middle of the coast so it’s very convenient to jump on the atv and go places. Roger the owner is dropped us off at the “sansa” flight station and stayed until we got on the plane. As a person who has worked in hospitality all my life, I found that to be so genuine and authentic.

PS our private outdoor bathroom was our favorite part!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mluna2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

I went with my boyfriend a few days ago to have late afternoon drinks, relax on the pool and have some dinner. the place is indeed amazing with a beautiful view, the waiter and bartender where lovely, but our evening was completely ruined by one of the owners, Heidi, at first I couldn’t believe this woman was the owner, she was the most unpleasant and rude persons I’ve ever seen. We got into the pool thinking we could open an account directly on the pool bar, as it turns out you’re supposed to open it on the outside bar, but instead of explaining this, as a good host should do, she had the worst reaction, completely rude, very offensive in her treatment and even started shouting at us at one point. Talk about mood killer!!

Clearly we didn’t stay for dinner, and is such a shame cause the place is completely beautiful and the rest of the staff is very nice.

My only recommendation if you go to this place is to avoid this woman in order to have a pleasant time.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank P5434LIcarolinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant and decided to dine here. We were not disappointed! Expensive menu but totally worth it. Fresh seafood and impeccable service. Very romantic and beachfront. The property was gorgeous. Private and secluded

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful scenery overlooking the ocean and infinity pool. Good food...especially the chicken wrap and chicken and rice.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank JulieShaw0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Lounge & Katsumi also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Sunset Lounge & Katsumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.