We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Mal Pais
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Freedom Riding SUP Adventures was formed by Andy Seidensticker and his Costa Rican wife Edith. We started doing SUP lessons and tours five years ago in the fishing village of Mal Pais, taking clients all the basic fundamentals of SUP, and paddling clients into the Cabo Blanco Reserve. The business has grown quickly in the last couple years, and has now expanded into SUP rentals, clinics for all levels, and SUP adventure tours around the Nicoya Peninsula. We are passionate and true lovers of the sport of SUP and take teaching the sport very seriously. Edith competes on the Costa Rican National SUP Race Circuit, and has clinched the National Womens Champion two years in a row, in both long distance and short distance. Contact Freedom Riding if you would like to schedule a class, tour or rental for your next vacation.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a great experience! Andy and his family were great instructors and really made it an experience to remember. We really appreciated the excellent pictures they too as well. This was the first time both my wife and myself had tried paddle boarding and they were really helpful. Also, as a surfer, I felt the lesson helped my ability to surf better also. I really loved this excursion and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Costa Rica.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome sunset paddleboarding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are experienced paddle-boarders from Colorado. Back again to see Andy for more fantastic paddle boarding in Mal Pais. We had an amazing sunset and moonrise paddle. The preserve is so beautiful to see and even got to check out a volcanic vent that comes up in the water. Also did another day with big swells for a totally different feel. Ocean paddle boarding is a great variation that new and experienced boarders would really enjoy. Andy is great as he will adjust the intensity based on each person's experience so those new to paddle boarding can enjoy as well. I enjoyed it because he teaches no matter the skill level and I was able to pick up some new racing techniques to bring home to Colorado. If you want to paddle board in Costa Rica, this is your guy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing sport in a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Tried out paddle boarding whilst staying in santa teresa. Rented some bikes and cycled down to Andy's place in Mal Pais. What an amazing time. He was such a nice guy and a great teacher. His place is in a lovely little spot at the end of mal pais. Beautiful scenery. Can't wait to try paddle boarding again. It's much easier than surfing to get a hang of. I'd recommend this for anyone staying down in Santa Teresa/Mal Pais. $50 for a half day

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicolacurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our canopy tour guide recommended Andy's Freedom Riding shop for SUP. We popped in and were told to come back at 4pm. There were two of us, one of which had never done paddle boarding before. Andy and Edith took us to the lagoon/ocean near their shop. Some quick instructions on land, and then we hit the water. It was such a great time! The sun started to go down after a while, and the views with the sunset was really beautiful! Andy was able to take some cool photos with his camera (small fee) and we ended up with some great pictures of a fantastic time. Would highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WNYSue48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Mal pais is a great place to paddle board! The views of the coast line were great & Andy's instruction was helpful!
Wish I would of brought my water proof camera!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chasehubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing