We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SUP Rentals on Nicoya Peninsula”

Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Freedom Riding SUP Adventures was formed by Andy Seidensticker and his Costa Rican wife Edith. We started doing SUP lessons and tours five years ago in the fishing village of Mal Pais, taking clients all the basic fundamentals of SUP, and paddling clients into the Cabo Blanco Reserve. The business has grown quickly in the last couple years, and has now expanded into SUP rentals, clinics for all levels, and SUP adventure tours around the Nicoya Peninsula. We are passionate and true lovers of the sport of SUP and take teaching the sport very seriously. Edith competes on the Costa Rican National SUP Race Circuit, and has clinched the National Womens Champion two years in a row, in both long distance and short distance. Contact Freedom Riding if you would like to schedule a class, tour or rental for your next vacation.
Truro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great SUP Rentals on Nicoya Peninsula”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was concerned whether or not I could find a SUP to rent for surfing while staying in Mal Pais. Fortunately, Andy at Freedom Riding stocks a wide range of boards appropriate for first times, as well as for those experienced with riding waves. Andy provided critical insider's knowledge of where the best breaks are located, and for what direction of swell and tide. Freedom Riding is a must stop when visiting the Nicoya Peninsula for a surfing vacation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank splinteredsunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great place to learn to surf waves on a SUP”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a great day out on the water with Andy. We headed to a completely uncrowded reef break where he coached us through surfing the waves. It was perfect - we spent some time getting used to the boards in the channel, then riding the shoulder of some waves and finally catching them at the peak. We also saw turtles and rays... and the views of Mal Pais and Cabo Blanco were beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing sunset paddle!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I did paddle boarding for the first time with 6 of my friends in early Nov 2012 with Freedom Riding, and Andy was very knowledgable and safety conscious - he gave us lots of tips about how to best stand on the boards and how to make the most of the paddle (how to hold it etc). We had a beautiful afternoon paddle as the sun went down and were able to watch one of the famous Mal Paid sunsets from the water. I would highly recommend this company!

Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of Nicoya”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had an incredible sunset SUP with Andy. There were seven of us and Andy and his wife were amazing at teaching us some basics while keeping it fun! The views from Mal Pais were insanely beautiful. 2 of the 7 even saw some sea turtles! Yes! It was fun and a bit challenging - perfect really. Thanks Andy! We will send/post photos soon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kittsjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great boards, great guy...made our trip perfect!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our family had the pleasure of meeting Andy, owner of Freedom Riding, on our recent amazing trip to Mal Pais. We rented surfboards and SUPs from him for the week and were totally stoked on his knowledge and hospitality. I have surfed and SUPed for many years and found that his boards were perfect for us. My 20 tear old son wanted to take one of his boards home...loved it! Andy made us feel like friends visiting and showed us some incredible breaks. Looking for amazing surf, pura vida and super friendly locals?.......visit Mal Pais and look up Andy...you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank drinkward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Mal Pais Freedom Riding SUP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing