We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lac-Beauport, Canada
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

For our second time in mal pais we decided to go back to pachamama and we don't regreat it, the feel of the house and garden is very special. Thank you Franz for keeping it so real ! Noah liked is tall chair by the way.. i will return for sure. Nick

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
68
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Franz and Marta are the best hosts! When I arrived Franz had invited me to a nice dinner within a few minutes of meeting him at one of the restaurants in town with a big gang of people. This garden lodge has something for everyone whether you are traveling on a tighter budget or are looking for a private (extremely nice) house with another family or couple. I was traveling on a budget and enjoyed staying here immensely in the backyard "tipi" tucked nicely away amongst the lush trees. Amançio was also awesome, we cooked dinner alongside him several nights and he helped me learn some Spanish. He even made us dinner one evening, which was delicious.

As for location this hotel is well situated in a safe location. It is close enough to Santa Teresa that is it walkable but far enough for some quite as well. There are countless beautiful beeches all over the place with the closest being about a 1 minute walk. There are a few restaurants nearby which was also handy on several occasions.

Anyhow, I actually visited Mal Pais Pachamama Lodge in January so this post has been a long time coming. As you can tell I still am a big fan and I refer anyone I know that's going Costa Rica to visit this area and to stay here! No regrets, awesome place, good friends and great memories! I hope to come back soon! I'll never forget Toni Salad....haha!

-Chris

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Amazing spot in Malpais, full nature, great place on and off season, hope to come back soon!. Is clean with everything in place, the nature welcomes you and is only 8 minute walk from the beach in malpais, great fishing spot too and very close to santa teresa with great surfing. totally recommended. Franz is the best host to make your trip just amazing, a lots of tours and activities, i'll definitely return...

Room Tip: Ask for the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tugues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed 3 nights and it was unbelievable. The little bungalow was perfect and everything i needed was there. It was very clean. It feels like we are in the middle of the jungle. Across the hotel theres a very good resto Caracolas. so hotel is well located. Unfortunatly i couldnt meet Franz but I was very lucky to meet Amancio who took good care of me. i can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlita200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A very big thank you to Franz, his lovely gardener and family. Stayed here with my 8 year old daughter for 1 week and it was more than wonderful. The cabins are well maintained and set in beautiful and well loved tropical gardens by Franz and Pachamama team. We had an excellent stay and highly recommend Pachamama Lodge, its was a sweet find. Many thanks Franz.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the viewing point at the top of the steps, sunsets are wonderful from here and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had a lovely stay here. It was clean and very welcoming and Franz could not have done enough to help you with making arrangements he even takes you into Santa Teresa for your shopping when you arrive. It is a 10 minute walk along the beach into town which is directly across the road. There is a lovely little restaurant also across from it but if you want to cut costs the cooking facilities are great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Two friends and I spent four days in Malpais at Pachamama. We were so lucky to have stumbled upon this tropical haven. We didn't have reservations, but luckily there was availability when we arrived. We stayed in the big House -- two stories, two bedrooms, a fully-equipped kitchen, a porch and hammock, and an amazing garden/patio/barbeque area. It was absolutely perfect.

The best part about our stay was the service. Franz was awesome and so good to us! He was kind and welcoming and accommodating. Totally buena onda!!! He arranged surfing lessons for us and always had good suggestions and advice about activities and places to eat in Malpais. He even drove us himself to Playa Hermosa two days in a row to go surfing and he drove us into town with all our luggage to catch the bus on our last day there. He was low-key and lots of fun to hang out with!

Franz has created a very special place in Malpais. He has lovingly built Pachamama over the years to be his vision of a tropical paradise. He designed and built all of the bungalows and the house, and he did all the lovely tropical landscaping. He grows fruits and other plants on the grounds, giving his property a really homey feel. This is a perfect place to feel at one with nature and to truly relax. It is on the rustic side (which is what I love!) with all the necessary comforts. I slept so well, to say the least! Thanks, Franz for a great experience. Hasta pronto!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shepard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 8 in Mal Pais
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge

Property: Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge
Address: 1 Km From Cross Route , 50 M From The Beach, Mal Pais 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachamama Houses and Bungalows is the perfect place for people who like sports, nature, sun and beach. Only 1 km away is Cabo Blanco, the first national park created in Costa Rica, in 1963.We have two bungalows, each with a double bed and shared terrace for $60 a night, monthly $1400. A third bungalow is on a second floor with a double bed and private terrace. All lodgings are fully equipped with hammock, kitchen, fridge, fan, private bathroom with hot water. The house for rent has air condition and is fully equipped. There are 2 bedrooms, a beautiful terrace with BBQ, outside shower, hammock for $140 per night, monthly $2800. We have wireless internet, security 24 hours, private parking and cleaning service. It is the best option, for relaxing and enjoying the nature. We have a lot of wildlife in our tropical garden: butterflies, exotic birds and monkeys hanging around in the trees, and our coati, a sort of raccoon, which always comes to pick up his breakfast from us. The bungalows and the house are about 50m from the beautiful and quiet beach of Mal Pais. Here surfers find perfect waves year round. Air temperature is 30-35 degrees and water 24-26. We offer surfboard rentals and surf lessons. I'm a passionate kite surfer and if there is coming up some wind I'm in the ocean with a 16 m2 Kite. The wind is 15-20 knots from January to May. It is possible to rent a small house for $80 a night as well. It is fully equipped in a very beautiful and quiet place only 200m from the beach. Perfect location for 2 people. Monthly $1500We can reserve a hotel and transfer in San Jose, or book you a rental car in San Jose or in Mal Pais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama Tropical Garden Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing