We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place and incredible food!”
Review of The Bakery

The Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Mal Pais
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best fresh baked cakes, bread, croisants, pastries, coffee and refreshing drinks! We are open all day for breakfast, lunch, dinner and any time in between. Fusion cuisine with fresh daily products and original flavours.
Shepparton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely place and incredible food!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Out of 6 days being here, my 2 friends and I went to the bakery at least 4 of those days and possibly sometimes twice a day! The sandwiches are fresh and tasty, the cheesecake is to die for! the pizza is great and monday pizza madness is a great idea - especially for backpackers like us to have a nice big meal for a great price! Also the baked goods and breads are wonderful. I certainly cant fault any of the food at all. The place itself is also very lovely with alot of charm. Thank you - from the three aussies that visited far to many times in our 6 days!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    872
    261
    58
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a welcome sight”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

after five days at a womens retreat, eating delicious, healthy fare I was in heaven with my fresh cappuccino and pastry. yum.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsycota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stopped here on our way out of santa teresa And were immediately glad we did! Awesome pastries and French toast. Coffee was outstanding. Very clean and courteous workers tho I think they may have been the owners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing coffee, okay food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you're staying at a hotel that doesn't offer breakfast, or if you're looking for a good lunch, then you should definitely swing by The Bakery at least once. Their coffee is incredible. We had breakfast sandwiches, and they were pretty good! Not the best breakfast food I've ever had, but still a good find in Mal Pais.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ajgebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best breakfast in ST”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

it's time to put the no carb diet aside and have a croissant. best i've had outside of Paris (bold claim, i know). everything here is fantastic. cute place too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyukyuNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing