We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the sunset and die...”

The Papaya Lounge Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Haslum
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“See the sunset and die...”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Just the best place to see the magical sunset over the Pacific ocean. Serves great cocktails, and very good tapas. A bit pricy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerok72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    15
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunsets”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you want to witness the most incredible sunsets while sipping a cocktail this is the place to do it!
The lounge is so funky yet comfortable. The service fantastic and the bocas (tapa type food) were excellent.
This is my favorite sunset place and I recommend it to anyone visiting Santa Teresa/Mal Pais!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank minimere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
1 review
“Paradise in a boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

from breakfast to dinner gourmet, from service, to the beautiful rooms and the incredible panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean, not to mention the sunsets in moana lodge feel in paradise. We hope to return soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luiggi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best cocktails and best view of malpais”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stunning view, lovely food, wonderful staff. Highly recommended. We arrived very late to our fist night in Mal Pais and was still treated to a wonderful dinner combining local flavors and tradition with cosmopolitan sophistication. We came back a few days later to enjoy best ever coconut cocktails while watching the sun set...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trippin572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No need to look elsewhere”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We couldn't believe this place wasn't packed every night, even if it was Costa Rica's 'green season.' We lucked out finding out about this place only because we were staying at the lodge. However, we continued to come back here for food and drink even after our stay at their lodge because the tapas are incredible and everything was a great value in our opinion. The owner of the lodge and restaurant actually created the menu and we thought it was killer. Additionally, it was the best view we had throughout our time in Costa Rica. It was quite a feat just to have built this restaurant where it is. Fantastic staff and service to go with the incredible view and food too. Couldn't make a higher recommendation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Papaya Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Papaya Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing