We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!”

The Papaya Lounge Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Mal Pais
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This place is a must to see the sunset and to have a great meal! The views are amazing!!!! We had several tapas and each one was delicious!

Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

Moana is a great romantic getaway. The Papaya Lounge greatly combines its perfect setup, the view of the sunset in Malpaís can't get any better, and the food is outstanding. We had several tapas and main dishes over the course of two days and each selection only got better than the last one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Federico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Amazing spot. Great tapas food for dinner. breakfast was out of this world. Fresh juices. coffee...great menu options. all looking over the jungle to the horizon of the pacific ocean. Great service from Danny and Michael and the owners.

Thank Andrew_reeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had high expectations based on tripadvisor rating but were very disappointed. We were a large group, service was slow and food was not good. Shrimp risotto was way too salty and mahi mahi over cooked. The one exception was the beef tenderloin which was well prepared
Not worth the long climb from the parking lot to the restaurant or the high end prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moanamanager, Owner at The Papaya Lounge Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2012

Were sorry that our restaurant didn’t meet your expectations and we apologize for our mistake as we did on the night. The evening your group was in I heard that you had mentioned that you felt the fish was overdone. As you were unhappy our manager Mike offered without hesitation to replace your plate with a new one as soon as it would be cooked to which you declined and added that it was fine, but obviously it wasn’t. Mike also checked with the rest of your table and they said that they were very happy with their food. Unfortunately we all make mistakes from time to time and you were the unfortunate one on this occasion.
While we did make an error, we also tried to rectify it, but as you wouldn’t afford us the opportunity to correct the mistake there was very little else we could do. We’ve fed many hundreds of diners whom have said great things about our food and you’re complaint was the first we’ve had this season. Regarding your comment of having high-end prices, I have to say that’s a little unfair. We have beers from $2.50, wines from $4.50 and tapas from $3.50 while mains begin at $11, or a 3-course meal can be had for a total of $20. We don’t go for the easy option of serving just rice and salad garnish as a side we put more love, variety and detail into our food. We believe that’s the best way to prepare and serve food. The main course plate you were served was a 200grams/7ounce fillet of mahi mahi, a side of potato puree and julienne vegetables for the very affordable price of $13. We always believe in dealing with problems in the moment as we can’t do anything about the problem once the client has left, and sadly as that was your choice thats the case here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

After 12 days in Costa Rica, most spent in Mal Pais, The Papaya takes top honors all the way around! The banana nut bread french toast in the morning melts in your mouth as do all the other offerings. The 2 very traditional Costa Rican choices are delicious too, the Gallo Pinto and the Huevo Rancheros. YUM! Then there is dinner. I had several different dishes and they were all cooked to perfection. I would hate to have to pick a favorite. Mike is a fabulous drink maker! Have the catica made with local ingrerdients. Great mojitos to be had also. The atmosphere in the place is spot on. Just the right vibe for a most enjoyable evening. Now if I could just get that catica at home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank catz9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Papaya Lounge Restaurant also viewed

Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Papaya Lounge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing