We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Mountain! Shooting stars and star fruit and movie stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Mountain Jungle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Mal Pais B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Star Mountain! Shooting stars and star fruit and movie stars!”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

First things first - we LOVED Star Mountain Jungle Lodge! Perfect location for us since we wanted to be all over the southern part of the peninsula - from cabo blanco to montezuma to hermosa and everywhere along the way - Star is a quiet sanctuary tucked away on the road to cabuya. Unspoiled!
We had planned to split our time between Star Mountain and another hotel closer to the beach but ended up staying the whole time at the lodge because the main thoroughfare is a bit dusty. ok, a LOT dusty. plus there was an obnoxiously loud (anti-pura-vida IMHO) festival going on in the 'downtown' area.
Let's see....I LOVED the yummy breakfast served up in the open-air dining room every morning! Gobs of fresh cut fruits (pineapples, watermelons, papayas, mangoes, even STAR fruits!) - in big beautiful chunks - always there waiting for us - along with FRESH BAKED breads for toasting, cereal, yogurt,, granola, jams, honey, coffee...AND that was included in the $65/night!
The owners are cool and laid back - they live on the property - and always came around in the mornings to see what we had planned for the day and if we needed any suggestions etc...super nice!
The pool was GORGEOUS. An oasis in the late afternoon when it was just plain hot. AND. Just as nice at night - with the stars so close and so bright you could just put up a ladder to touch them....or it seems. Lots o' shooting stars! Surrounded by far-out foliage - it's cool to just sit and see what comes by - a hummingbird or else one of those brilliant blue butterflies...a morpheus?? I forget what they're called. And MONKEYS!! They are everywhere!
There's a hiking trail that starts basically right outside the rooms and that we did a few times - the view at the top is breathtaking (or did it just take all my breath to get there....) You can see forever and just to mention it - you can see the abode of a certain, rather notorious celebrity.... Yup, Star Mountain has its own resident movie star :)
We also did the horse tours - twice - one in the morning and one in the late afternoon for sunset. It was great to be on a horse - it's like going back in time, wandering through those hills and trails, crossing little streams...the sound of their hooves...sigh...and we got to ride along the beach - yes! dream come true!
Our room was simple, cozy, and best of all, CLEAN. Nice front porch area for chilling in the hammock or those funky rocking chairs, chatting up the neighbors over Imperials (the beer in Costa Rica) AND there was hot water in the shower. Stop. You had me at hammock.
So there you have it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellejar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    8
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

pretty rad spot for a couple or if you're travelling with a group as you could easily rent out the entire place.....

breakfast was simple but convenient....the pool was a great addition...being close to marys restaurant was great....
its rustic, but defintaly worth the money in my opinion....
the location isnt the best (on the old road to cabuya soooo...kinda far from the action) but it feels safer than most places along the main road in mal pais and area.....

its literally a safe haven in the middle of the jungle....
thumbs up

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pred_banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I can only explain that riding horseback to the top of the resort mountain is amazing! The scenery, foliage and wild life are unlike any other place I have visited. The view of the Pacific Ocean from the top of Star Mountain is picture perfect. I'll be back again and again. And if you enjoy seafood, only 10 minutes down the mountain you will find a fresh seafood market with Tuna that melts in your mouth!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacon4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I have stayed at Star Mountain several times, mostly with my girlfriend and with g friend and other couples. It is a very relaxing, laid back place. you are up on a rain forest, 2 kilometres from the beach. you have monkeys, parrots, all sorts of amazing trees, and you get to look at the ocean 180 degrees from up there. The place is frugal and rustic, exactly what you would expect from the location. Yet you have a beautifull tiled swimming pool in the middle of all this, and a great bar where the honor code works, just grab a cold one or a bottle of Pinot Grigio and write it down on the little notepad at the counter, and jump back into the pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martini2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I had always heard of the beauty of Southern tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. Huge beaches, some of he best and most consistent waves including point breaks and breathtaking natural beauty. On top of it all, I found a little paradise At the Star Mountain Lodge. Located on a private estate of over 170 acres on top of a mountain, the Lodge nested under large trees where howling monkeys can be seen. The bungalows are quaint. We went horse-back-riding, hiking, surfing, chilling on the beach, eating in some of the areas top-notch restaurants. The Lodge is a great bargain and a true haven from the hustle of life.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamifrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Uva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I went there twice, first a quick family trip. We needed a real break: to lay down and do nothing, it is the perfect place for that and the swimming pool is a plus when you have kids [or not]. So morning : relaxation while the kids were splashing in the pool and afternoon, hiking or surfing and then sunset. It was perfect, so perfect that we booked the entire hotel with some friends for a week of party for the new year 2005/2006. Andrew and Lisa, the owners made everything available for us, made it happened , oh my god we had a blast!!!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribegirlPuntaUva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Star Mountain is still one of the best kept secrets in Mal Pais and our favorite spot on the entire West coast of Costa Rica. We have been coming to Star Mountain Jungle Eco Lodge since 1992 - back when there was no electricity in most parts. Though the town has grown, Stare Mountain has maintained its charm and privacy - away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip - in a quiet oasis of tranquility, peace and nature. The rooms are designed with great taste, always clean and the beds very comfortable. If you are not into surfing or just want to relax, there is a great pool where we have been known to spend the entire day. Monkeys visit the lodge regularly. The staff will take you on hikes through the 200 acre reserve on foot or on horseback. If you are looking for something slightly off the beaten path with a touch of tropical luxury and good taste - you can't beat Star Mountain!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manuel_emmanuelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
1.4 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 8 in Mal Pais
423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#1 of 8 in Mal Pais
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 8 in Mal Pais
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 8 in Mal Pais
115 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 8 in Mal Pais
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Mountain Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Mountain Jungle Lodge

Property: Star Mountain Jungle Lodge
Address: 2 kms on the Cabuya Road, Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Star Mountain, a charming Costa Rican eco-lodge nestled within a 225-acre sanctuary in the hills above Mal Pais.Come experience the power and beauty of the jungle while relaxing in our comfortable eco lodge. With 4 guest rooms and 1 house for rent our resort is intimate, low-impact, and ideal for a medium sized group. It is the perfect spot for nature lovers who want to experience unspoiled nature and tranquility while enjoying all the amenities of fine lodging and dining.Our commitment is to provide our guests with the vacation they desire. For adventure seekers, opportunities abound in the dry tropical rain forest and on the beach. For people seeking a tranquil setting to decompress, we offer you an oasis where the only sounds you will hear are the grousing of howler monkeys and a symphony of birds.Star Mountain is tucked in the hills above Mal Pais next to the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our vast property forms a continuous stretch of forest with Costa Rica's oldest nature reserve.Star Mountain is a mosaic of jungle, rolling hills, mountains, and streams with hiking trails throughout and plateau views of the light sandy beaches of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. Famous Mal Pais Beach is only one mile away downhill and many other Costa Rica's finest surf breaks are within minutes.Treat yourself to this luxurious ecological paradise in Costa Rica - where the jungle meets the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Star Mountain Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Mountain Jungle Lodge Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing