We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet, convenient hotel with outstanding restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, convenient hotel with outstanding restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel has top reviews on TA for a reason! I chose it based on TA and when we got there, people we met at 4-star Ylang Ylang in Montezuma (a must-stay) had driven all over Malpais and Santa Teresa and came to the same conclusion - Ritmo Tropical is the best option and a great value! The rooms are basic but clean, have a nice front porch with table and chairs, and all look out onto the pool. It's a lovely setting unless you have loud people in the pool, which we did for one day. RT is run by an Italian/Tico family that takes impeccable care of the place.

We walked through some of the most expensive resorts on the beach in Sta T and were glad we didn't waste the money. Ritmo is not on the beach, but is a 2-minute walk from town and 3-5 minutes walk from the beach. You have the option of walking into town and hanging a left at the main intersection, or walking left from the hotel down the quiet street and then right down a path to a secluded beach.

After a couple dinners at Ritmo, we ventured out to explore other top-rated restaurants in the area. Mary's looked inviting but had no parking except on the poorly-lit street, and after one car crash in Sta. T we couldn't chance it. Beija Flor's restaurant has great reviews but when we went, the place was all dark, and even a walk down a dark path following the "Restaurant" arrow took us nowhere. Not a soul in sight. We went back to Ritmo Tropical and found it packed. Everyone knows it is fantastic.

If I could get the recipe for the pasta in curry cheese sauce with shrimp I'd be a millionaire. The ingredients sound all wrong together but the dish was beyond scrumptious. If they had brought a vat of it, I'd have eaten the entire thing. The pizzas and salads use all fresh and delicious ingredients, and everything is generously proportioned. For breakfast and lunch, the Bakery in Sta Teresa is highly recommended and a popular spot - real French pain de chocolat and other delicious breads and pastries, amazing smoothies, and a whole menu of interesting items. Almost all organic and local.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777puravida777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
12
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

we loved this place,family run,low key,can walk to everything,safe,quiet great pizza!!!!!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We came across the Ritmo Tropical almost by accident in 2006, after spending a couple of less-than-stupendous nights at another hotel down the road. The Ritmo looked a little more upscale than our budget permitted, but we were given a quick and very courteous tour around the spotless cabinas and killer pool area, and were quoted a ridiculously inexpensive rate. We stayed for the rest of our vacation, had a wonderful time, and got to know the blended Italian/Tico family that own and operate the hotel and restaurant.

We have been back to the Ritmo 4 times since then, and it remains spotless clean, luxurious, and inexpensive. The only recent change is the new paved walkways that are much easier for seniors or anyone with bare feet!

The only grumble? No A/C. If you can get by that, the Ritmo has the best location and is easily the best dollar-for-dollar value in all of Malpais / Sta. Teresa. Great for honeymooners, surfers, young kids, and seniors too.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank gringodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and loved it. It was very close to the town unlike many of the other hotels in the area and was a 2 minute walk from the beach at Mal Pais.

The pool was amazing, the whole property was beautifully landscaped, the rooms were huge and each cabina had it's own porch to sit out on overlooking the pool. There was also a nice Italian restaurant onsite and a selection of breakfasts were available.

The only drawback was the lack of air-conditioning in the rooms which could be uncomfortable for some people.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeCee_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

As we pulled into Playa Teresa we stopped for a cold refreshment. Luckily we meet a couple who were staying at the Ritmo Tropical in Mal Pais and they highly recommended it. We were really lucky! What a beautiful place. The rooms were spotless. We had a poolside room that had a queen size bed and a bunk bed. The complex is set back from the road with nice landscaping all surrounding a large refreshing pool. The dust from the road is a real problem in this area. Because of the way this is situated, you had no dust or street noise. I can't say enough about the pool. It was very hot while we were here, so we really took advantage of the pool.

Unfortunately, the rooms did not have air conditioning. But the ceiling fan were the strongest I've ever seen. Each cabin has a nice porch with chairs. We sat out in the evening, drank some wine and enjoyed the evening breezes.

This was a very nice place to stay. A real value for the money and very quiet also. The shower was nice and hot. The room also had a room safe and there was a security guard in the parking lot at night.

  • Liked — Wonderful pool
  • Disliked — No A/C,
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BigBearMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mal Pais hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vista de Olas
Hotel Vista de Olas
#2 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritmo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Property: Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Address: 100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the beat of the nature on one acre tropical gardens. The chant of colorful birds, the sound of the night wild-life and the constant waves of the Pacific Ocean. Let Ritmo Tropical be your host to make your holidays the best you ever had. Come enjoy Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ritmo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritmo Tropical Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Ritmo Tropical Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing