We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable piece of heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An affordable piece of heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a lovely property. The pool is the highlight. Staying in a bungalow that slept 3. There was a little bar fridge and it had air conditioning. It's nothing fancy but wonderful. What blew me away was the service. The staff are lovely and attentive. If you're looking to get away from the constant hum of the town it's the perfect distance to still be part of the vibe without the noise. Perfect for couples small groups of friends and people looking for solo time. The restaurant is incredible practical breakfasts and delicious dinner.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the north side of the pool but they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairesadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    21
    4
    1
    8
See reviews for
13
29
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just spent 7 day at the Ritmo and found the place to be just what most of the viewers have been saying, very lovely grounds and the pool area is very nice. The sleeping huts/rooms are nice and clean, but they do need some TCL soon, if you like staying in 5 star hotels this place is not for you, this is in the jungle and the huts/rooms are basic but comfortable and safe. The family that runs/owns the Ritmo are very nice and the restaurant on site was quite good any time that we ate there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ableson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay at the Ritmo Tropical. The grounds are gorgeous, the bungalows are clean and comfortable, and I had a great porch, perfect for relaxing with a cold beer after a day of surfing. Elena and Jonathan are fabulous and cheerfully answered my never ending questions, they are very knowledgeable! I became addicted to breakfasts and dinners at the restaurant as well. Delicious food. They are located just a few minutes walk from the beach, surf shops, ATM's, and other places to eat/shop. Hope I'll get to enjoy another stay here someday!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

.I've been in Mal Pais 3 years ago and tried to stay in this place but it was full.
It left us a great impression, but now it seems the magic is gone or they don't care to low season and in these case I think they should shutdown until next season.
The staff were really reduced an unavailable lots of time. The guy that looks like the manager treat us as if he was doing favors. Beside that it a dinner and breakfast the restaurant was closed and we had do find a place for having food while it was raining! Including it looks like the owner doesn't want to invest in the business anymore because the pla need repairs ...
But its not bad at all, just were very below expectations. Location is centric, garden is beautiful and pool is lovely.
Has potential if taken with the needed care.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliano Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Pool Main Drain cover was missing, very dangerous. The toilet didn't refill, so I just kept filling the tank myself. No coffee until 8 am. Great little private bungalows with their own porches and the staff might be somewhere, sometimes. With the windows open, you will get second hand smoke in your room,so get AC. I stayed there for more than a week May 2013 and liked it enough to return, since i am after all, a Survival Instructor that has a low comfort level and I come prepared for about anything. I just thought how odd it was so nice there and well groomed but had all these little quirks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Would stay there again. Attached to one of the best restaurants in Santa teresa/Malpais. Well situated - 5 minute walk into Malpais centre. Best thin crust pizza. Amazing food, great relaxing pool area...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Clean, organized, friendly, convenient, gourmet, cozy, quiet, beautiful -- and monkeys in the trees! Many hotels are too close to the little town's super loud disco, but Hotel Ritmo Tropical is far enough away to get good night's sleep.
Breakfast fruit salads and fresh homemade tortillas...heaven!
Couldn't have asked for more.
Gracias to Carlos and familia for a great stay, wonderful food

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Carmen
Hotel Playa Carmen
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritmo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Property: Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Address: 100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the beat of the nature on one acre tropical gardens. The chant of colorful birds, the sound of the night wild-life and the constant waves of the Pacific Ocean. Let Ritmo Tropical be your host to make your holidays the best you ever had. Come enjoy Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ritmo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritmo Tropical Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Ritmo Tropical Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing