We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Location in Mal Pais/Playa Carman/Santa Theresa Area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Denver
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Location in Mal Pais/Playa Carman/Santa Theresa Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Ritmo Tropical is a great value - approximately $60-$70/night depending on the season. Great location - only a 3 minute walk from surfing at Playa Carmen, but yet just off the main road - so quiet and peaceful. I believe there are only 7 casitas on the property, so the pool area is the perfect spot to relax after surfing or a day of exploring. The restaurant on property is also one of the best in the area. On the negative, the shower water wasn't always "hot" and just expect the basics in your room - no hair dryers or irons. While in the area, our other favorite restaurants included: Brisas Del Mar - by Buenos Aires, simple combo specials at the Playa Carmen hotel - can't beat Ceviche and a beer for $4, Restaurant Chameleon is a great breakfast spot - great fruit smoothies and breakfast burritos. Also, the "Surf Hole" also referred to as the "[---] Hole" is the cheapest place to rent boards - only $5/day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    20
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
12
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

The Ritmo Tropical is so beautiful !!! The cabinas are modern, clean, quiet, roomy, private and for longer stays the owner was willing to reduce the price. The staff was pleasant and the grounds immaculate - including the pool. You can hear the surf from your room at night unlike another hotel down the road with an 'on the beach' location that is surrounded by bars on both sides with loud music that's impossible to ignore. The restaurant offers delicious food, good portions and as a pizza officianado I couldn't stop ordering their thin crust variety of authentic Italian pie. It can be a little loud until the restaurant closes at night but it's a popular place and it does seem to close down by 10:30PM. After staying at several hotels in Costa Rica - some double the price of the Ritmo - I came to really appreciate the silent fan and air conditioner in my room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodhiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks and it was AMAZING! Everything was top quality and I enjoyed every moment there: relaxing in the pool, enjoying the big room with many windows and perfect Wi-Fi, exclusive food, and most of all - wonderful welcome from the family that runs the hotel. They all became friends and made my stay unforgettable. The restaurant provides a great menu from real italian pizza to fresh seafood meals, always super-fresh and delicious. Location is perfect - in a quiet part of Malpais, but only 3 min walk from the beach and banks/taxis/shops/restaurants. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We had 14 days to spend in costa rica with no plans and ended up spending 7 days here in paradise...it was amazing!!! $30 a night on the beach with a pool..couldnt ask for better. The pool was always clean day and night. The bungalow rooms had a fan, ac, safe, hot water, and TV! I did not want to leave. I will definitely be returning asap

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BriA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon through Costa Rica. We were so happy with the Ritmo Tropical that we cut out another stop on our vacation to spend more time here. RT is in a great spot, right in the middle of everything you will want to do in Mal Pais/Playa Carmen. The family that runs this hotel is so nice, we basically felt like a part of their family after a day. Comfortable rooms, with plenty of channels on the cable. A great restaurant/bar in the middle of the bungalow circle, as well as a nice pool to spend some time in the afternoon. The family will also help you plan activities (like zip-lining) around town. We hope to get back there one day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomBruno23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel has top reviews on TA for a reason! I chose it based on TA and when we got there, people we met at 4-star Ylang Ylang in Montezuma (a must-stay) had driven all over Malpais and Santa Teresa and came to the same conclusion - Ritmo Tropical is the best option and a great value! The rooms are basic but clean, have a nice front porch with table and chairs, and all look out onto the pool. It's a lovely setting unless you have loud people in the pool, which we did for one day. RT is run by an Italian/Tico family that takes impeccable care of the place.

We walked through some of the most expensive resorts on the beach in Sta T and were glad we didn't waste the money. Ritmo is not on the beach, but is a 2-minute walk from town and 3-5 minutes walk from the beach. You have the option of walking into town and hanging a left at the main intersection, or walking left from the hotel down the quiet street and then right down a path to a secluded beach.

After a couple dinners at Ritmo, we ventured out to explore other top-rated restaurants in the area. Mary's looked inviting but had no parking except on the poorly-lit street, and after one car crash in Sta. T we couldn't chance it. Beija Flor's restaurant has great reviews but when we went, the place was all dark, and even a walk down a dark path following the "Restaurant" arrow took us nowhere. Not a soul in sight. We went back to Ritmo Tropical and found it packed. Everyone knows it is fantastic.

If I could get the recipe for the pasta in curry cheese sauce with shrimp I'd be a millionaire. The ingredients sound all wrong together but the dish was beyond scrumptious. If they had brought a vat of it, I'd have eaten the entire thing. The pizzas and salads use all fresh and delicious ingredients, and everything is generously proportioned. For breakfast and lunch, the Bakery in Sta Teresa is highly recommended and a popular spot - real French pain de chocolat and other delicious breads and pastries, amazing smoothies, and a whole menu of interesting items. Almost all organic and local.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 777puravida777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

we loved this place,family run,low key,can walk to everything,safe,quiet great pizza!!!!!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mal Pais
0.0 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#6 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
Indigo Yoga Surf Resort
#7 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel The Place
Hotel The Place
#5 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Moana
Hotel Moana
#3 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#4 of 9 in Mal Pais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritmo Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritmo Tropical

Property: Hotel Ritmo Tropical
Address: 100 mts. sur del cruce Playa Carmen, Mal Pais., Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Mal Pais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mal Pais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the beat of the nature on one acre tropical gardens. The chant of colorful birds, the sound of the night wild-life and the constant waves of the Pacific Ocean. Let Ritmo Tropical be your host to make your holidays the best you ever had. Come enjoy Costa Rica with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ritmo Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritmo Tropical Hotel Mal Pais
Hotel Ritmo Tropical Costa Rica/Mal Pais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing