We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Italian.”

Lanterna Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Los Suenos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful location. We enjoyed it very much. It was nearly empty though, so atmosphere was lacking...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were ready to go off property from our nearby hotel. This restaurant had outstanding service & food! The martinis were excellent. Juan Diego took excellent care of us!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I truly do not understand the positive reviews this restaurant has received, unless we just happened to hit them on the worst night of their existence. Our food was awful and overpriced. A seafood pasta dish came with a handful of small shrimp. The shrimp were hot but the pasta had long since grown cold and sticky. The four of us all tried different things and no one liked anything we ordered. The service matched the food. Our waiter brought out appetizers and main dishes out of sequence. He would also bring out just one person's dish and then leave for 10 minutes before bringing out anything else. No explanation or apology, even after we complained about the strange timing/sequence. He seemed put out to do most anything, and the restaurant was virtually empty. You could not pay us to return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK Food, Convenient Location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Located in the heart of the marina, it is in a very convenient location. The service and ambiance were great. There was even a little game room upstairs to occupy the kids while you relax, have a drink or catch a game on one of the TVs. But the food did not live up to true good Italian expectations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kendra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
202 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My family and I came here for lunch, this place is located in a great area and the decoration looks quite nice in the inside, kind of difficult to find a restaurant like this in Costa Rica!! It has a nice and big terrace, and plenty of great dishes in their menu as well as wine choices. My wife and I had a great piece of meat, perfectly done with delicious vegetables!! We really enjoyed our visit and definitively will go back if ever in the area again. My kids were also very enthusiastic about their pizzas. The services was excellent, always friendly and patient with our requests.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterna Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Los Suenos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
Herradura, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Lanterna Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing