We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliche's Wishbone

Caliche's Wishbone
Ranked #9 of 141 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the hub of Jaco's surf community, Caliche's Wishbone has been slicing and dicing up it's recipes since 1995.The Wishbone is well known for its unique mix of casual to exotic ingredients , from pitas to poke, tacos to tuna, pizza to pad thai, we have the dish for you. So come to the local hot spot, order up some fresh catch, get the kids a pizza and enjoy the view. WiFi and people watching FREE!Pura Vida,The Wishbone Tribe.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great restaurant and had a ridiculously good meal. Prices were competitive and quality excellent with fresh fish and vegetables. Staff is madd cool. Get the Ahi Poke!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank bradGOBUFFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    131
    31
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place looks like a tropical version of Applebee's, but don't let that stop you from eating here. We really enjoyed our meal. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was so good. Our waiter was fantastic! If we go back to Jaco, we will absolutely eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing. Freshest seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ate here 5 times on this trip. The poke bowl and whole snapper rival the finest seafood restaurants in the states! Don't miss this place when in jaco!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon-Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped here for dinner after exploring Jaco, a lively beach town. It appeared to be your conventional beach town restaurant...bustling, indoor and open air eating areas, bar. The menu was extensive and when the food arrived we were all pleasantly surprised at the presentation, the quality of food, and the generous portions! Service was excellent. Prices were similar to what I expect in our So Cal beach town restaurants. A great way to end our day!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Driving into a strange city and realizing you haven't eaten in quite awhile, you try to search out something that looks passible. Your not expecting great, or even good, just something to take the hunger away until dinner time. And then you spot a Trip Advisor decal.

All I can say is, We only ordered pizza and explained that we didn't like the fat size that most people like but thin and they were happy to accommodate. The waiter even recommended that maybe Katerina and I share a medium pizza with half her way and half mine and it would save
us some money. The Pineapple Juice was fresh squeezed and delicious, my beer was ICE cold as I like it. The pizza was as good as any we have had and paid 2-3 times more for.

I recommend to everyone, look for that Trip Advisor Decal more & more, it will lead you to the right place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Knight1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's Wishbone also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Caliche's Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing