We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“ALL I WANTED TO EAT IN COSTA RICA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caliche's Wishbone

Caliche's Wishbone
Ranked #11 of 142 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the hub of Jaco's surf community, Caliche's Wishbone has been slicing and dicing up it's recipes since 1995.The Wishbone is well known for its unique mix of casual to exotic ingredients , from pitas to poke, tacos to tuna, pizza to pad thai, we have the dish for you. So come to the local hot spot, order up some fresh catch, get the kids a pizza and enjoy the view. WiFi and people watching FREE!Pura Vida,The Wishbone Tribe.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ALL I WANTED TO EAT IN COSTA RICA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

"What should we eat tonight?"
This was a question that was rarely asked during our 17 day stay in Costa Rica.
Caliches was our 1st choice. Sometimes we even ate here for lunch AND dinner.
We would drive by and see the restaurant and let out a small cry for the BLACK BEANS.
They are magical.
I'm from LA where I have access to many different types of food but there was honestly nothing like these black beans and fresh chips.

The POKI & INSANITY PITA are to DIE FOR.
CIPRIHANA was my go-to drink every time.

You must believe all the good things people say about this place. There's a reason they're in all the Costa Rican travel books.

Not only is the food amazing.. the staff and owners are some of the most beautiful people inside and out. So accommodating and loving!

When I think of Costa Rica, yes, I think of the birds, sights, and beaches.. But what I miss the most is Kristen and Caliche's Wishbone. NO JOKE.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    133
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Super yummy cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after spending some time on the beach in Jaco. Sat at a table with a view of the downtown area. Food was exceptional, my husband had a black bean and tortilla appetizer with a nacho meal and I had a mahi burrito. Everything was awesome, including the quick service. Really relaxed, chill place. The drinks were awesome too, we had milk smoothies that was large and super yummy. highly recommend stopping here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Not impressed with this restaurant. The food was average- nothing really noteworthy or special. Very expensive for what you get. Portions were decent, but the food subpar. I ordered a Veggie Quesadilla, and it did not have any flavor and very little cheese on it. There are much better options- there was a Peruvian restaurant where our bill was about the same, but we experienced gourmet foods, full of flavor, and more variety on the menu. The location of this restaurant gives it the opportunity to overcharge. Definitely a tourist restaurant- no culture.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nestlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Tuna Sashimi Lunch in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visit Jaco about 4 times a year and having lunch at Wishbone is top of our list. The tuna sashimi plate is the best in town - a simple and healthy lunch. The frozen margaritas are also a great treat at lunch when paired with the guacamole and pico.

Very casual and easy - no reservations needed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmara32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Jaco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Caliche's Wishbone is an absolute must! It has a fantastic atmosphere, great people, great food, and always provides a great experience. The food is very delicious, with nice big large portions! Great for leftovers or sharing :) Thanks for helping my stay in Costa Rica be so fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's Wishbone also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Caliche's Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing