We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poke Bowl! Poke Bowl!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caliche's Wishbone

Caliche's Wishbone
Ranked #12 of 155 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the hub of Jaco's surf community, Caliche's Wishbone has been slicing and dicing up it's recipes since 1995.The Wishbone is well known for its unique mix of casual to exotic ingredients , from pitas to poke, tacos to tuna, pizza to pad thai, we have the dish for you. So come to the local hot spot, order up some fresh catch, get the kids a pizza and enjoy the view. WiFi and people watching FREE!Pura Vida,The Wishbone Tribe.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poke Bowl! Poke Bowl!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Don't miss the poke bowl when you are in Jaco. Great price and a huge bowl of some of the tastiest poke around. No complaints here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sdcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    150
    38
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Eight of us went to have dinner at Wishbone due to advice from a local. I have to say I wasn't impressed. It was way overpriced for the quality of the food, that's not to say they don't give you a lot of it. I ordered the 'Casado' which comes with chicken or fish (fish was delish!), rice, beans, mashed potatoes (??), a fried egg (way overdone where the yellow was cooked through), and a salad which was nothing short than the crap you buy ready made at the supermarket. Drinks were also very expensive. Our bill came out to $140 not including tip. Just say, no thanks. Look for a SODA instead.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Priscila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good traditional Costa Rican dishes. My sister and brother-in-law had grilled lobster which was delicious. I had a casada and it was wonderful. We were very happy with our selection

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Legendary Local Resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The food is spectacular with local fresh fish. The Caliche Poke Bowl is fresh Yellow Fin Tuna that is out of this world. It's owned by a local pro surfer and his American wife and they are always there to greet and talk to you. The owner is a great local surfer, so all the surf pro's from around the world come to the restaurant; Kelly Slater, Andy Irons, etc.

Can't say enough good things about The Wishbone! A must on your trip to Jaco.

Eric

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food and super friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been to CR several times now and we always make a point to stop at the Wishbone. The food is super fresh and amazingly good. There is something for every appetite, from arroz con pollo (which we ordered extra of to bring on the plane!) to the best ahi poke ever. But what totally clinches it for us here is that our 2 boys, 8 and 11, love it as well. Staff is great with them, and they get to watch surf movies! What could be cooler. If you are in the area, you have to make a point to come to the Wishbone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's Wishbone also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Caliche's Wishbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing