We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with minor inconveniences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Encantada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Encantada to your Saves list
Bahia Encantada
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good location with minor inconveniences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Our group of 4 friends stayed at Bahia Encantada - A2 for 9 nights. The condo was perfect for it's location - it was far enough out of the main area of Jaco but close enough that we walked into town almost every evening for supper or daytime for groceries. The location within the complex was also very delightful - being right in front with the sand right below us and the ocean view unobstructed by other accommodations made our breakfast on the balcony very peaceful and serene. The pool area was very substantial with both shade and sun areas and 3 different pools - nice to have a few options for swimming instead of just one small pool. Although we did have a few inconveniences - our A/C quit one day, our dryer was not heating and our entrance cards kept getting deprogrammed, it did not have a negative effect on our vacation. The staff, in particular, Fernan the manager and the security guards (in letting us in) were very helpful in correcting these issues. We only had to sleep one night without the A/C and wait a couple days for the dryer. The only downfall for this particular condo was the owners lack of necessities - a toaster that works on both sides, maybe a few plastic cups if glass is not allowed by the pool, a couple of better knives with a sharp edge to cut the amazing fruit that we enjoyed for breakfast. It would be in the best interest for the owners to put a little money back into upgrading this condo. Overall these inconveniences were minor and we would still recommend this property to anyone interested in Jaco.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    4
    8
    6
See reviews for
44
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed in #G-2 during my recent fishing trip. The condo was very, very nice. 3 bedroom condo was very spacious, nicely furnished with a beautiful balcony that gave a direct pool and beach view. The staff was very helpful.

Bahia Encantada exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: G-2 and G-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack1957911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We showed up and everything was perfect with the condo.This condo J2 has Air conditioning, that's very important, it's my understanding that not all of the condos have air conditioning. The condo had 3 nice sized bedrooms, & 3 Bathrooms, very important for everyone. Each bedroom has it's own balcony. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Unit J2 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisBeevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
495 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Booked this condo using the feedback and great reviews on Trip Advisor. Wasn't disappointed. We spent 9 days (family or 6) in a 3 bedroom condo Dec. 27 - Jan. 5 and loved it!!! The condo was well equipped and tastefully decorated. Location is at the north end of the beach which appeared to be slightly quieter and less busy than in the central and southern end. So we had no issues with noise (except New Years Eve :-) ) The grounds staff was very friendly and helpful and the DayStar Property staff were as well. Even though it is at the far end of the beach there are several 'Sodas' and good restaurants within a short 5-10 min walk. The beach is literally steps from the pool and lounge area. The waves are awesome and our two kids (12&13) had endless fun in the waves and then switching to the pool to chill out. Overall, highly recommend this resort!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed Bahia Encantada. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks staying in condo F1. We rented the condo through the owner Chris Wyborne from California. The condo was absolutely beautiful, it was on the ground floor facing the ocean. It had 3 bedrooms and was perfect for our family of 4. I would highly recommend this condo unit to others. Fernan the building super is on hand every single day. He is wonderful. We rented a car from Zuma car rental in Jaco would highly recommend them as well. They picked us up and drove us back to the airport. We had a fantastic holiday and would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to having you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

the condos are very nice and nicely decorated. The daystar people are very nice and amazing with their help. The resort is very nice but noisy! Next door is an open beach bar with nightly bands; we are right beside this bar and can hear every word in the songs and feel the drums with all the windows closed - but they would stop around midnight. The kids screaming and running around the pool got annoying, the guards would tell them (and the parents) that they are not to jump off certain areas but 5 minutes later the kids were doing it again and the parents didn't care. Not the fault of the hotel and the ( very nice ) guards were always trying! Definitely need more lounge chairs by the pool

Room Tip: nearer the end closer to the beach would get rid of some of the pool noise. We were on the K side n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjfit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for the comments. It can get loud during Christmas and New Years week and we are always very busy. We will be passing your comments about the chairs to the home owners as during this time of year it is always a concern. Thank you and hopefully we can have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If you want to vacation in Jaco... this is THE place to stay... we had Penthouse E5 3 BD and 2 1/2 baths... with a two story deck / tower overlooking the ocean. Our family of 5 had the best vacation in years... The property is just far enough away from town to get away from the noise, but close enough to walk in... Jaco is a very busy place with a slight edge to it which at night means its great for 20 somethings, but not a place to turn your teenagers loose unaccompanied... Fernan, who is the onsite property manager was remarkable... every recommendation he made: Zip Lining through the Cloud Forests, National Parks (where we saw 3 species of monkeys, humming birds, sloths, bats, etc), restaurants in town... were fantastic. Tatty,the DayStar reservations supervisor, directed us to remarkable restaurants and even found us a great sports fishing charter (Felix and Jose) where we were landed yellow fin tuna, wahoo, and even a 5 foot dolphin fish... all of which we had fileted and cooked at a local restaurant (a good friend on Fernan's). The marlin we had on line shook the hook free unfortunately. All in all, lots to do, great fun for the kids (surfing right in front of the condo), wonderful food and a remarkable staff!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you Bob. We enjoyed having your family stay with us as well and we look forward to seeing you guys back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
2.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Encantada

Property: Bahia Encantada
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Encantada 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing