We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”
Review of Bahia Encantada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Encantada
Ranked #15 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Our family of five stayed here for a week. It's self catering,Has a guard at the gate and is within walking distance to town. Free calls to the US and Canada, which was nice... And wifi that even reaches the pool. The rooms were simple but nice... The beds are not the greatest, but we were pretty tired when we hit them! We took taxi's into town sometimes, which cost us about $6 per trip. Worth it in the heat or with groceries... The guard at the gate was the best. Always smiling, knew our name and so helpful. Great showers and plenty of hot water! Washer dryer in our room, lovely view, rooftop hot tub, full size fridge... Great place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginakirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments. Brian the guard just got started with us and this review is great to see and appreciated. I'm going to talk with the owner about the beds as well because it is about time for them to change. Again thank you and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    36
    4
    9
    8
See reviews for
55
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just returned from a 7 night stay in Costa Rica with 5 adults staying in this condo. I rented the condo from vacation rentals from a gentleman that owns the condo and lives in California. The unit was absolutely awesome with an amazing view of the pool and beach! There was a master bedroom (king bed) with a huge bathroom and then 2 other bedrooms (queen beds w/ jack and jill bathroom) and then a half bathroom. It was spacious and very comfortable. Also, the property is well maintained and they have gated parking and a security guard 24/7 that monitors the grounds. All the staff were very nice and helpful, especially Fernando the onsite manager of the property! This property is also located about 10 minutes from the center of Jaco (we had a rental car but I saw several people from our condo walking there.) This condo is located on the right side of the property so noise from Clarita's (sports bar next door to the property - also fun and good place to eat) was not too bad except for on the weekend which is to be expected. There is also a rooster that crows pretty early in the morning but we were getting up at 5 AM anyway so that was not a problem. The pool bar was not open since this is their slow season but you can bring your own drinks to the pool (probably much cheaper than paying for someone to hand you a drink) so that was no issue for us. Tips: if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs as the noise may bother you. My family and I had an awesome vacation, wonderful condo, great people and amazing time! We are already talking about returning for our next trip!

Room Tip: F-1 @ Bahia can be rented through vacation rentals by contacting Chris Wyborny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilly01_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments and we will let Fernan know that you appreciated his help. Have a great day and we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A group of 5 adults shared H5, a 3 bedroom condo on the top floor while in Jaco for a wedding. Our hosts, Stephanie and John were very helpful and helped return a piece of luggage lost on our flight with United. There were no bad rooms in the condo, each had a king size bed and was more than comfortable for a couple. One bedroom (the master) had an ensuite bathroom, while the other two shared a walk-through jack and jill style bathroom. There was lots of space for 3 ladies and 2 guys to get ready for the wedding :) The condo was very clean and well maintained. The elevator to our condo was out of service for 3 days of our vacation which wasn't a big problem, but it was a big effort to walk up 5 flights of stairs.
We all enjoyed spending time on the two balconies. The downstairs balcony was perfect to enjoy coffee and fruit (fresh from the market, as recommended by Stephanie) for breakfast, while the upper one was amazing for a glass of wine while watching the sunset. The pool area was very clean and well maintained. The condo is approximately 10 minutes walking from the shops and stores in town. Cabs are cheap and easy to get in Jaco if you dont want to walk from the far side of town.
The only downside was the rooster who lived next door and he couldn't tell time, and was crowing from 5 am until 9. Most of us were up at 5 am and varying success at getting back to sleep.
Overall we all enjoyed our vacation very much!!

Room Tip: A room on the bottom floor is best if you are running from your room to the pool and back throughout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Valerie. Thanks for the kind words and we are glad that you and your family had a good time. Have a great day and we look forward to having you back next year and we can get you set up on one of the lower floors away from the Rooster :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 7 days during Easter week..unit was dirty..ceiling fans had a great amount of dust. A/C thermostat was locked to go no lower than 24 degrees Celsius...very hot at night and staff did turn down to 22 but still wasn't totally comfortable. Had ants in tv area, master bath area..staff sprayed but didn't help. Patio doors have gap at least 1/2 inch wide letting in bugs/hot air...patio furniture and chairs around pool are falling apart. No TV in 2nd bedroom. Beautiful view but needs attention in many areas. Bar/ restaurant next door playing loud music on beach still at midnight and we have 3AM wake up to return to airport

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bond1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi. I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience staying with us. This unit has had many problems but the owner rents it out directly and we have no control of the quality. I would like to offer you an opportunity to come back and stay with us so we can show you the type of vacation that you deserve. Please contact me directly Lisle Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo WA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wow, this place is awesome! I can't think of anything not to love! Every room has a view, the pools are just steps away from the beach. It's not crowded, often we are the only ones in the pool. There are 24 hour guards who keep an eye on everything. Next door is a restaurant/bar that has a huge variety of wonderful food at good prices. The water is fine for boogie boarding or beginning surfers. On the other side of the condo there is a jungle area where two scarlet macaws live, and we watch them fly around every morning from our private rooftop terrace. The condos are elegant, roomy and comfortable. The walk to everything in town is short. We don't speak any Spanish, but it's not been a problem. Everyone takes dollars, and most also take cards. The people are nice and friendly, the women are the most beautiful I've ever seen. Love this place!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pishposh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thanks for the nice comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Pain, AB
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have a family of 5 ( 3 boys aged 14, 13, 9 ). Booked room through Expedia. It was a beautiful condo. Pool area right outside of our room and a beautiful view of ocean. The staff downtown Jaco were very helpful and accommodating. It was a bit pricey considering it did not include breakfast or daily cleaning. There was no restaurant or services on premises. The latter two comments would not be a big issue had we not paid over $350 a night for the condo. For the price, we just thought there would be a bit more. We were charged extra for a 3rd child. Even though the condo could easily house 7. The staff kindly arranged our surf lessons through Tortuga Surf school. There is a lovely outdoor style restaurant next to the hotel and a little grocery store just outside the Hotel. Jaco is a beautiful little town. Everything is accessible by walking or a quick taxi ride.

Room Tip: Choose a condo away from the restaurant side. My kids were awake though out night due to fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Terry. I'm so glad you enjoyed our condo. Expedia is a great site but next time contact us directly for better rates :-). Thanks for the comments they are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many thanks to our host, David Kish, for securing these wonderful accommodations for us in such a great location!! Great condo!! The condo/resort is great place to enjoy the surf & pool by day and then it's an easy walk into town for dinner at night. Or you can stay in and eat local seafood - it's fresh & delicious!! We stayed over Christmas break, which if you're looking for solitude, rest & you want to be in bed by 7 - this is NOT your town or at least not your time of year! If you're looking for a week or more - we stayed 10 days - with so much to do right at your door, then this is your vacation!! :-) The 2 bdrm 2 bath unit we stayed in was clean, bright and directly faced the ocean, with direct beachfront & the pool mere steps away - it was spacious, clean and well appointed. We stocked the fridge & had breakfast every day on the lanai watching the wild birds, he breaking surf and sometimes a horse or two. Beautiful view - lovely breeze!! Location is great for walking & jogging on the beach, great for surfing, great for families with kids. (The bar next door is very, very conveniently located next door, it's filled with live music & lively patrons - not the condo for you if you have babies!! We don't so, it was perfect!) Overall - this was a great place to stay for a very reasonable price! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are a 'people person' the 1st floor beach-front unit is perfect. Great to jump from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Cheryl. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Bahia Encantada. We look forward to seeing you next year :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
3.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
5.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Encantada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Encantada

Property: Bahia Encantada
Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Encantada 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Encantada is an impressive resort-like community at the northern end of Jaco Beach, Costa Rica. Bahia Encantada offers incredible ocean views over a series of infinity pools from what is widely considered Jaco's most beautiful beachfront estate. Spacious 2 and 3-bedroom condos boast luxurious comforts and numerous terraces, including private rooftop terraces atop all penthouse suites. Bahia Encantada offers several floor plans for two- and three-bedroom condos, with two or three baths, and ranging in size from 1,200 to 1,800 square feet. A spacious three-bedroom unit comfortably sleeps six to seven people. All rental condominiums have fully equipped kitchens, wireless Internet access, in-unit laundry, balconies with great views, telephone service, cable programming, and large LCD televisions with DVD players. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahia Encantada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Encantada Hotel Jaco
Bahia Encantada Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing