We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$144
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$500
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
$247
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Hotel(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$90
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$119
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Carlo Condominium(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
66
39
5
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
39
5
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslost beachpool courtyardbasic kitchen supplieswonderful accommodationsbath condomultiple balconiesgated entrancegarbage bagsonsite managernice condowasher and dryershort walk into townbeautiful oceanfamily orientedshopping and restaurantstop floorbar next door
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 130 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 7 days during Easter week..unit was dirty..ceiling fans had a great amount of dust. A/C thermostat was locked to go no lower than 24 degrees Celsius...very hot at night and staff did turn down to 22 but still wasn't totally comfortable. Had ants in tv area, master bath area..staff sprayed but didn't help. Patio doors have gap at least 1/2 inch wide letting in bugs/hot air...patio furniture and chairs around pool are falling apart. No TV in 2nd bedroom. Beautiful view but needs attention in many areas. Bar/ restaurant next door playing loud music on beach still at midnight and we have 3AM wake up to return to airport

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bond1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi. I'm very sorry that you had a bad experience staying with us. This unit has had many problems but the owner rents it out directly and we have no control of the quality. I would like to offer you an opportunity to come back and stay with us so we can show you the type of vacation that you deserve. Please contact me directly Lisle Head.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Wow, this place is awesome! I can't think of anything not to love! Every room has a view, the pools are just steps away from the beach. It's not crowded, often we are the only ones in the pool. There are 24 hour guards who keep an eye on everything. Next door is a restaurant/bar that has a huge variety of wonderful food at good prices. The water is fine for boogie boarding or beginning surfers. On the other side of the condo there is a jungle area where two scarlet macaws live, and we watch them fly around every morning from our private rooftop terrace. The condos are elegant, roomy and comfortable. The walk to everything in town is short. We don't speak any Spanish, but it's not been a problem. Everyone takes dollars, and most also take cards. The people are nice and friendly, the women are the most beautiful I've ever seen. Love this place!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pishposh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thanks for the nice comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have a family of 5 ( 3 boys aged 14, 13, 9 ). Booked room through Expedia. It was a beautiful condo. Pool area right outside of our room and a beautiful view of ocean. The staff downtown Jaco were very helpful and accommodating. It was a bit pricey considering it did not include breakfast or daily cleaning. There was no restaurant or services on premises. The latter two comments would not be a big issue had we not paid over $350 a night for the condo. For the price, we just thought there would be a bit more. We were charged extra for a 3rd child. Even though the condo could easily house 7. The staff kindly arranged our surf lessons through Tortuga Surf school. There is a lovely outdoor style restaurant next to the hotel and a little grocery store just outside the Hotel. Jaco is a beautiful little town. Everything is accessible by walking or a quick taxi ride.

Room Tip: Choose a condo away from the restaurant side. My kids were awake though out night due to fireworks. It may just have been the time of year though as we noticed fireworks were a number of places.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi Terry. I'm so glad you enjoyed our condo. Expedia is a great site but next time contact us directly for better rates :-). Thanks for the comments they are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many thanks to our host, David Kish, for securing these wonderful accommodations for us in such a great location!! Great condo!! The condo/resort is great place to enjoy the surf & pool by day and then it's an easy walk into town for dinner at night. Or you can stay in and eat local seafood - it's fresh & delicious!! We stayed over Christmas break, which if you're looking for solitude, rest & you want to be in bed by 7 - this is NOT your town or at least not your time of year! If you're looking for a week or more - we stayed 10 days - with so much to do right at your door, then this is your vacation!! :-) The 2 bdrm 2 bath unit we stayed in was clean, bright and directly faced the ocean, with direct beachfront & the pool mere steps away - it was spacious, clean and well appointed. We stocked the fridge & had breakfast every day on the lanai watching the wild birds, he breaking surf and sometimes a horse or two. Beautiful view - lovely breeze!! Location is great for walking & jogging on the beach, great for surfing, great for families with kids. (The bar next door is very, very conveniently located next door, it's filled with live music & lively patrons - not the condo for you if you have babies!! We don't so, it was perfect!) Overall - this was a great place to stay for a very reasonable price! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are a 'people person' the 1st floor beach-front unit is perfect. Great to jump from the lounge chair into the kitchen for a cold drink or quick lunch without elevator or down-time. Great to step off your porch onto the beach in just a few steps...plenty of privacy, but not secluded in any sense.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi Cheryl. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Bahia Encantada. We look forward to seeing you next year :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about the quality of the service we received! Lisle, the new manager at DayStar, made our stay the best we have had in Costa Rica! He knows Jaco Beach as well or better than anyone else you could meet and all of his suggestions were top notch! As for the unit itself, you cannot beat the location or the quality of the units and, because they are full functional condos with kitchens you can avoid dining out all the time. We travel with our 3 year old son and making healthy food for him is critical for us. No hotel is perfect all the time- but it is how the management responds to the little things that makes all the difference - DayStar has a winning team at work. Thanks Lisle! See you again soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor units are ideal for kids with access to the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Bahia Encantada, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thanks Jed. We really enjoyed you and your family here at Daystar. We looking forward to seeing you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews