We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Paloma Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Blanca
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Escazu
2 reviews
“Far exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

After living in Costa Rica for 2 years we usually expect hoteld to be much less than advertised. This place is AWESOME! We rented 2 three bedroom units for 12 of us. The apartments are very spacious and the pools are wonderful! The units include washer and dryer and full size appliances. The beach is right out the door and the surfing here is excellent. It also has highspeed wireless internet in the rooms. I would and will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirlenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rockford, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

La Paloma Blanca is just over a year old and it is well appointed, attractive and clean. The pools are beautiful and one is next to the beach. We had a 2 bedroom condo near the main pool (not an ocean view). There is a full kitchen so we made breakfast every morning (helpful because this is not a hotel with a restaurant on site). La Paloma Blaca is on the quiet (south) end of Jaco (good or bad depending on your preference). We rented a car but you can walk into town, probably 10-15 minutes each way. The only problem we encountered was tight parking over the busy easter weekend. Overall, it's fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

Stayed at Paloma Blanca from January to the beginning of March 2009, Had a great time beautiful views, nice people, very helpful staff. Taxi ride into town $2.00 US great service. Grocery store Max y Menos( more or less) owned by Walmart, can get almost anything you can get in North America. Beach is clean and garbage emptied every day. We walked into town nearly every day for breakfast at Bohio and then wandered around town until it got too hot and we sat and had an ice cream. Restaurants are great try Pili Pili, Lemon Zest and the Wishbone. Don't miss a trip to Los Suenos and Tortuga Island and the sunsets from Villa Caletas are unbeleivable. We hope to go back next Year.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedarbrook361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

This was perfect for us! Daystar had a driver pick us up at the airport and take us 2 hours thru the mountains to the condo for $100.00. Check in was easy and Edwin took us to our 4th floor oceanview condo and oriented us to the place. As a beginner surfer I found the waves to be gentle, and easy to learn on. As experienced surfers my 16 and 20 year old and my husband enjoyed the fine surf just in front of the condo. We rented boards from the condo. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo was clean and well stocked. Airconditioning and fans kept us cool and television reception was perfect. We enjoyed a day river rafting, and appreciated the easy walk into Jaco for shopping and meals. Lemon Zest was a fanstatic restaurant for fine dining at resonable prices. Can not recommend Hicaco, it was a bit pricy for dinner and we didnt enjoy our food. La Paloma Blanca was not crowded the week we were there, and the pools were always clean and never used it seems. Staff was nice, and the place was very safe. The beach was clean, and never crowded, low tide made it a joy to walk to Jaco along the surf. I would return here in minute, we really enjoyed everything about La Paloma Blanca.

  • Liked — Clean, safe, affordable.
  • Disliked — cant think of a thing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alacraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the La Paloma Blanca, Jaco. I have 2 teenagers (16 & 14 ) and it's always a challenge finding a place to accomodate all of us. This condo/resort was excellent because my husband and I had our own master suite w/bath and the kids had a bedroom with 2 twin beds and their own bathroom. My son was excited to not have to sleep on a roll away bed or sofa! This resort is located on the southern end of Jaco - where it is very quiet and the beach was clean. Further into the central part of Jaco Beach, the beach is covered in rocks - very uncomfortable to walk bare foot. This resort was not crowded during our Spring Break like the other resorts. Very nice! Since the condo had a full kitchen, we were able to buy groceries and eat breakfast on our balcony every morning. And the washer/dryer came in handy, too! The security staff and on site manager were very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend renting a car with GPS - especially if driving from the airport. The zip line tours are awesome. My picky teenagers loved only one restaurant - Jaco Taco! They have free drink refills - which is a big deal for teenagers! Do your grocery shopping at Auto Mercado - lots of great food and American food labels. Beware - there are power outages several times a day in the whole area of Jaco!

  • Liked — Very nice room!
  • Disliked — Hard to find
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povremoi19
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

Wow! What a great classy place! We needed a relaxing time on a beach listening to the waves pound against the shore. We needed some excitment, just enough not be get bored. We needed a place with a great view, a place to store food, make reservations for tours, be totally comfortable! We found it here at this wonderful intimate condo. Beautifully furnished with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, even a washer and dryer. It exceeded our epectations! Gracious and helpful staff, right on the beach, taxis always at our disposal, but parking available right on the premises. Four swimming pools, a barbeque, everything to make ourselves comfortable. We even had a party with 3 other couples that loved the condo we stayed in!
Horse back riding at sunrise, ziplining through the canopies of trees in the day, quaint restaurtants with fabulous food in the evening. We even had take out with some of the greatest pizza I ever ate! I'm jazzed because my vacation was great and this place was the reason. I hope you have as wonderful a time as we did. If you stay in Unit D-3 I hope our good vibes are still there!! Pura Vida to all of you!!

  • Liked — so convenient and beautiful
  • Disliked — leaving!!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank povremoi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rasa84
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

If you want to experience a purely fun, relaxing, enjoyable, and carefree getaway, I highly recommend La Paloma Blanca. First of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and pleasant, and always available to answer any of our questions or assist us if we needed anything. The suites had all the amenities we desired(and more) and the kitchen was fully stocked with cooking supplies in case we wanted to enjoy our breakfast on the balcony watching the sunrise. We were your lucky enough to wake up right after a storm, and see a perfectly arched rainbow right outside our balcony. The suites are so charming and comfortable, I found myself wanting to just relax on the couch listening to the waves crashing. My favorite has to be the balcony which offers not one, but two views, the ocean and the mountains. The view from anywhere in Costa Rica is amazing, but the view from La Paloma Blanca is undeniably breathtaking. Best of all, it's literally a hop skip and a jump from the ocean, which means the beach is in your front yard. Lastly, bicycles are popular in Jaco, so I suggest renting one and riding down to Hermosa for beach-front breakfast and killer waves. You'll be glad you did.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Rasa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
4.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Blanca

Property: La Paloma Blanca
Address: | Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Paloma Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene beachfront community with 2 and 3-bedroom condo rentals at the pristine south end of Jaco Beach. Four different swimming pools, mature tropical gardens and the quiet beach at your front yard indulge those wanting to be away from the crowds, yet still walking distance of town. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and wireless internet. Services include concierge and staffed security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel Jaco
La Paloma Blanca Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing