We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and accommodations”
Review of La Paloma Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Paloma Blanca
Ranked #4 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
savannah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and accommodations”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Jaco and our stay at La Paloma Blanca met or exceeded our expectations in nearly every category. The condo, J1, which I encourage any couples to book because you can walk right out of your condo into the pool or ocean and right back in for another drink. No stair climbing or wasted time! The view was spectacular! Condo was clean, updated, and we felt very safe there. It's easy to walk into town on the beach and take a cab back for $2. The only issue with walking is how hot it was in the middle of the day when we were there. You can also rent bikes for $10 a day and this is a great way to get around and see the town! I recommend renting surf boards from Mike a Tortuga surf school that sets up right in front of la Paloma Blanca. Super nice, knowledgeable instructors, and affordable.

Daystar was very helpful and accommodating. Our biggest issue was with the Tortuga Island Tour that we expected to be just like the Daystar catalog described. We were booked to go with bay island cruises, and it was terrible. My understanding is there are some other companies that do the tour so you may have a better experience with them. Just ask questions, don't take everything you read in the catalog at face value. Overall Daystar staff was very helpful and offered wonderful service.

We will definitely be returning!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    32
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were three couples staying in a 3 bedroom condo in La Paloma Blanca. We loved our stay. It was our first time renting a condo and the staff at Daystar was helpful and professional. Once our confirmation was confirmed I was contacted by Karina. She was pleasant , courteous, prompt to reply;a joy to work with. The condo was great: very spacious and well divided. The location was perfect. Two steps from our semi private pool and a few yards away from the ocean... a dream come true. We loved being at the south end of Jaco beach because it was quieter, a beautiful sandy beach and still only a 10 minute walk to town. The staff at the condo was courteous and very prompt to address any problems we had. We booked our transportation to and from the airport and for our day trips with Daystar and the service was excellent and the price was fair. All in all a wonderful place and a terrific trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoniquePD877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hi Lupe, Our experience in Costa Rica was truly a beautiful one. Our condo was clean and beautiful and full stocked with everything you can need. The way you took care of us day after day was outstanding. The pool was amazing as well as the beach. The people were so friendly and welcoming. We truly had the most amazing time there and we will be back really soon. We will definitely recommend our friends and family to stay with Day Star. Thank you so much for our wonderful stay!!!!!!! Love, Carlos & Melanie:-))

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I initially found another condo on the beach in jaco that we wanted to stay at, fortunately they were booked and we stayed at La Paloma Blanca. It was better than I imagined it would be. Directly on the beach, a few pools that comfortable fit everyone, beautiful flowers and nice people. The location is about a 15-20 minute walk in to town, which is nice during the day but at night we recommend getting a cab, just to play it safe. Most taxis will charge you 800-900 colones, which is about $1.50-2.00, so it's worth it. But watch out for scammers, we are obviously American and a few of them took advantage of that and would raise the price a bit. Most places will take dollars and cards but have your colones ready. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the pool, walking around the beach/ in town, and BOHIO fish tacos. We wish we would have been able to visit arenal volcano, but we came as a couple and they only take 4+ at a time.. So plan ahead! We chartered a small private boat for deep sea fishing, snorkeling and visiting Tortuga island. My fiancé enjoyed that and even caught some tuna and a big Mahi! We think it was worth the $700 for the day. My favorite was the Atv jungle tour on our last day. We rented rented the atvs for 4 hours and had our own personal tour guide who took us through the jungle, to a waterfall, on top of the mountains, and even through rivers.. Literally. Prepare to get dirty! Over all, we had an amazing time in Costa Rica, and would certainly recommend La Paloma Blanca!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I couldn't have been more pleased with our first visit to Costa Rica. We had an oceanfront condo a mere 20 steps from the beach with an ocean breeze and sunsets to gaze at every evening. The Daystar office staff and the onsite staff were wonderful, helpful and always friendly. Downtown Jaco is a beautiful 20 minute stroll down the beach or a quick cab ride. Daystar provided numerous options for excursions and other activities and made it simple to plan and schedule everything we wanted to do. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: There are numerous condo's in the complex, and they all look wonderful. Oceanfront is the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iguanadon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hi David,
My friends and I are back from Costa Rica after a wonderful 5 days stay. The Paloma Blanca condo worked out perfectly for us. It was clean and had all the required amenities including a nice pool, beach front access, beach towels and a blender which we put to good use. The beach bar The Point next door was a convenient place for a quick bite or sunset cocktail.
I took a surf lesson from Mike at Tortuga Surf Camp in front of the PB building which was fantastic and I highly recommend him. We booked a zip line tour at Los Suenos Canopy tours and it was great as well. Safe, thrilling and well organized.
Lastly, the girls at the Daystar office were very helpful in organizing transportation and getting us acquainted with the town.
Thank you to David Kish for all your help in setting us up at the beautiful Paloma Blanca condo.
We hope to come back for another beach vacation soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanGirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the month of Jan 2014. My husband I come to escape the winters in the USA. The property is very beautiful and well maintained. Juan Jose was very helpful and friendly. The entire staff was very welcoming. The condo it self was very nice but the kitchen utensils needed very badly to be updated with new ones. The condo is very good location and easy access to the beach. The property has 3 very nice pools. I loved this property the most because it made you feel the culture in the country. I would certainly stay again. This is our 3 trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alenathibert2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
4.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Blanca

Property: La Paloma Blanca
Address: | Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Paloma Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene beachfront community with 2 and 3-bedroom condo rentals at the pristine south end of Jaco Beach. Four different swimming pools, mature tropical gardens and the quiet beach at your front yard indulge those wanting to be away from the crowds, yet still walking distance of town. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and wireless internet. Services include concierge and staffed security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Paloma Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel Jaco
La Paloma Blanca Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing