We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One Week Stay”
Review of La Paloma Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Paloma Blanca
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
LA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great One Week Stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were really happy with our condo selection of Paloma Blanca. We were travelling with our 4 year old son and wanted a condo with a pool and on the beach. We heard that the south end of the Jaco Beach was the nicest and most family friendly and we have to agree. We stayed in B3 which overlooked the pool and had a decent view of the ocean. The pools were a little smaller than we expected but they were kept very clean and we used them every day (and night). The beach was very nice. Clean, soft sand, safe. The surf stand on the beach allows Paloma Blanca guests to use the chairs and umbrellas for free, if they are available. We used them every day no problem. The staff at the surf tent were awesome -- they are not affiliated with Paloma Blanca. My husband rented a boogie board and surf board every day.

The condo itself has the basic essentials including beach towels but didn't have coolers, beach chairs, etc. The condo was clean and we didn't have any maintenance issues. The cleaning staff swept it out every other day and replenished paper goods, soaps, etc. It was a nice touch.

The guards and maintenance staff at Paloma Blanca were so friendly and helpful. Loved them! If you make any special requests with the office staff I would recommend that you follow up with them. We had placed a small grocery order to be delivered the day of our arrival. We were pretty disappointed when we arrived at 9 pm to an empty fridge. The office staff had the order but forgot to give it to "Helen" who does the shopping. The day before we were to leave I called to confirm our transport back to the airport and the staff couldn't find the request. They were able to get us transportation but we would have been SOL if I had not followed up with them.

Would we return to Paloma Blanca? Absolutely. We had a great week and felt like we picked a perfect location in Jaco Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    32
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed at Oceans La Paloma for one night during vacation. The hotel was nice, but it seemed like there was a lot of maintenance problems. We had a two bedroom suite for my family and the air conditioning didn't work in one of the bedrooms. After calling the front desk, maintenance staff were in and out of the room for about an hour, but still not fixed. Tried calling the front desk at 5 pm, but no one was there for the rest of the night. Multiple calls. You;re on your own when you're at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rush583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at La Paloma Blanca, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks for the comments and I'm sorry we did not respond to this sooner. We understand this happened and will not deny it. We have been working very hard on our customer service over the past year and hopefully next time you come to Costa Rica you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We spent 10 days with our family in these condos and they were so relaxing and beautiful. We would recommend it to other travelers!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph_alease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a 2 bedroom in this small complex. Our apartment had excellent furnishings. The outlook onto the pool and beyond to the sea was lovely. We were very impressed with the design of all the rooms and balcony.

Our receptionist was very helpful and even took our daughter out one evening to do a little clubbing!

This complex is on the south end Jaco and have acess to the beach that is very beautiful and lovely for walks and sunsets.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelockes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This is a condo arrangement. The building was very nice and well appointed. The location required a taxi ride back and forth at night. We were warned to not walk on the street or the beach at night. The town itself was fine to walk. You can rent surf boards at the hotel and walk them right out the gate to epic surfing. Nice place for families.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Just back from 5 sunny, hot and fun filled days at La Paloma Blanca.
Nicely appointed and maintained condos right on the beach with 4 nice
pools. Very family friendly. 15 minute walk into town or easy 2 USD taxi ride.
Local pizza place and decent homestyle Costa Rican restaurant less than 5 minutes away.
A little too noisy at night but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2009

After living in Costa Rica for 2 years we usually expect hoteld to be much less than advertised. This place is AWESOME! We rented 2 three bedroom units for 12 of us. The apartments are very spacious and the pools are wonderful! The units include washer and dryer and full size appliances. The beach is right out the door and the surfing here is excellent. It also has highspeed wireless internet in the rooms. I would and will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirlenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
4.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
6.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Croc's Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Blanca

Property: La Paloma Blanca
Address: | Jaco Beachfront at Calle Hidalgo, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Blanca 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene beachfront community with 2 and 3-bedroom condo rentals at the pristine south end of Jaco Beach. Four different swimming pools, mature tropical gardens and the quiet beach at your front yard indulge those wanting to be away from the crowds, yet still walking distance of town. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and wireless internet. Services include concierge and staffed security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Paloma Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Paloma Blanca Hotel Jaco
La Paloma Blanca Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing