We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy G's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tommy G's Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Jaco B&B and Inns
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

A delightful stay wonderful hosts. Very best wishes Barbara and Tommy.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Ruby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our stay at Tommy G's was a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. We went on a referral from a family member, and they were right about how wonderful it is. Tommy G and Barb are two of the nicest, friendliest, amazing people we have ever met, and they are the ideal small hotel owners. Experiencing them alone would be worth the trip, and the hotel is a nice bonus experience. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well-appointed. Rooms have kitchenettes, cable television, private baths, sitting area and bedroom and are air conditioned. The upstairs units have balconies with views of the ocean and sunset. While not directly on the beach, they are only a block away and it is very convenient to everything in Jaco - shopping, restaurants, beach and tours. The pool area and swim-up bar were a great place to relax. I had read that Jaco can be a little rough around the edges, but we never had to worry about that at Tommy G's and we felt safer there than in our own home. They have the hotel designed so that only guests can enter the grounds with a key, they have a night guard so someone is always awake and moving around, and they are very particular about their clientele. Tommy and Barb live at the hotel, so they are available to answer questions, provide referrals and recommendations, address any concerns, or just chat if you would like. And I would recommend that chat - they are such interesting people, it would be a shame to visit and not get to know them. If you are planning to be anywhere near Jaco, book a room at Tommy G's. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 4 and 5 have the best views of the ocean and sunset from their balconies. Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewUlm-gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at Tommy G's during a short jaunt to Jaco with our friend from CO. Clean, nicely furnished and very confortable. The pool is great, and you cannot beat the location. Within walking distance of everything you want to see and do in Jaco.
And yes, there really is a Tommy G. He and his wife live on the premisses. They let us check in early and check out late. Our "go to" place in Jaco.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingo425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We came down early to go on a cruise. Tommy G's is located close to the town and close to the beach. Great small suite very clean and wonderful hosts Barbara and Tommy. You feel like an old friend. Great price and great value. A view of the ocean, a river wonderful pool and courtyard. We will come again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

SIMPLY PERFECT! The place is immaculate, rooms are spacious, and the service is great. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have been coming to Jaco for about 3 years and have stayed at Tommy G's about 6 times. Barb and Tommy own the place and personally run and operate it. They take tremendous pride in keeping their hotel in tip top shape since they call it home as well. Everything is well maintained, especially the pool. This hotel should command at least $80-$120 a night but their a fair couple and make their rates very affordable for all budgets. Happy repeat customers Rick Reyes & Ivannia Chacon

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you are looking for a hotel that is clean and spacious with all the amenities, then look no further than Tommy G's. Tommy and Barb who own Tommy G's were the most friendly and gracious hosts ever. The rooms are big. The showers are big. There is a kitchen, refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. Tommy keeps the grounds aesthetically landscaped and clean. The pool and service is simply the best.
Tommy G's is within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants downtown. My girlfriend and I got up early and walked to a cafe for coffee and then walked to the beach.
We give Tommy G's our highest recommendation if you are looking for a great place to stay.
Dave & Ava

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room where we could walk right out to the pool which was excellent. Truly, any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Dreamers4Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#12 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#19 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Ranchos
Hotel Los Ranchos
#9 of 29 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy G's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy G's Hotel

Property: Tommy G's Hotel
Address: Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tommy G's Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing