We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sports Bar and Hotel Oz
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced, average”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Pros:
Location
Fairly quiet

Cons:

We got totally overcharged. Maybe it was because it was Holy Week (Spring Break for most of S.A.), and possibly because it was one of the last rooms available probably in all of Jaco, but for the room we got we should have payed half the price. The year before at Hotel Zabamar we paid $40 for something similar (possibly slightly better), while here we paid $115.

Only one one handle for water (aka no hot water). Shower head was horrible. I'm not being high maintenance. I mean the shower head spit out maybe three or for thin lines of water in different directions and a little tube pointing towards the wall spit out the only reasonable stream of water which I used my hand in the air to steer in my direction.

The A/C was mediocre at best. It took ages to cool down the room, and that's leaving it at full blast while we're gone. Practically worthless.

Also worth mentioning was that there was a guy there who offered us drugs the first time we drove by (which I don't mind bc I can chose to ignore or partake and these guys are in most major cities I've traveled to), the problem was the same guy kinda creeped us out because he hung out at the bar the whole time we were there giving us a weird look every time we walked by. Kind of uncomfortable, but whatever.

Anyway, if we got ripped off and you go and find out they will give you the room for $40-65 a night, that's reasonable. Anything more than that, forget it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
3
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Oz and had a wonderful time in Jaco Beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful with connections for fishing and other activities to do in the area. The bar had a lot of action at night for sporting events and also had live music one night. They are also in the process of putting in a pool which will be great for our next stay in Jaco. PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guarnieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Rosie is such a wounderfull hostess and her staff, all ways there for you. The place just makes you feel as if you are family. This being my second year, Having stayed at other places but all ways end up at oz. Paying a lot more at the other hotels,and haveing half the fun. It is located close to the Beach with nice cool clean rooms. It also is near shoping and night clubs!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Great place to stay in Jaco area, nice prices, nice staff, clean rooms, very safe and secury. Beside that it have the nice bar in Jaco with nice barthenders and gentil manager, lot of fun and good food. Nice location close of every impotant place in town, supermarket, banks, beach, restaunrants.

I'll back for sure!

  • Liked — Nice staff
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinkiwinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 41 in Jaco
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#23 of 41 in Jaco
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 41 in Jaco
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#33 of 41 in Jaco
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Jaco
Posada Jaco
#26 of 41 in Jaco
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sports Bar and Hotel Oz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sports Bar and Hotel Oz

Property: Sports Bar and Hotel Oz
Address: Calle la Central, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sports Bar and Hotel Oz 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sports Bar and Hotel Oz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sports Bar And Hotel Oz Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing