We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“On the beach and a big pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Bahia Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Daystar Bahia Azul
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Victoria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“On the beach and a big pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Bahia Azul is a condo across the beach road in Jaco, Costa Rica. I imagine that normally the road is only local traffic but they are building nearby and there were quite a few large construction vehicles going past. At weekends the beach is popular with the locals and there were more cars and noise with families and young people BBQing or partying on the beach. None of that would deter us from returning. Our unit (1A) was on the ground floor right next to the manned security entrance. This was both a blessing and a curse. While feeling very safe we also had to put up with brighter lights, cars coming in and out, the guard's annoying communications radio and friends visiting in the early hours. This wouldn't be a problem in any of the other suites. We would return to this complex but would choose buildings 6-7. There are 10 buildings contain three units each surrounding a very large, well maintained pool. The grounds are also well maintained and staff is constantly around. Judging from the outside I assume that the units are all the same. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundry, large kitchen/living room, and a deck with dining table and chairs. The master bedroom has a balcony and ensuite. It is a 20 minute walk to the main street of Jaco where you'll find restaurants (Lemon Zest was great), grocery stores, ATMs and shops. There are a couple of casinos and places to rent vehicles or off-road vehicles. The beach is long and sandy with crashing waves and quite low tides. We felt safe while in Jaco but were smart where we walked after dark and were always in groups. I wouldn't walk the beach at night.

Room Tip: contact Day Star Properties or vrbo,com at the Bahia Azul
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaColwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Azul, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are so glad you had a good time and appreciate the comments. Have a great day and we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed at Bahia Azul many times and in many different units over the years.
Many of the owners directly give you a better price than if you go through Day Star. As time goes on the property all all do is slowly showing signs of aging, but at the same time they do a pretty good job keeping up with things. Each unit is different with its furnishings, noise, beds, TV's, and so on. Some a simply furshished much better than others. I like Bahia Azul because its small and usually quiet. Sometimes the street in the front fills up with people on the weekends as Jaco gets discovered by more people. But all in all its a good location, not right in town, just a 10 minute walk to the store for food. They deliver too if you dont want to walk. The pool is also almost always in great shape and beautiful. All in all its a good property, but each unit is different something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get one of the buildings in the front 1,2,3, or 4. C units are the top with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeepsgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Bahia Azul, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoy the project. Bahia Azul was our first project and one of our most loved. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I loved the Bahia Azul condo so much. I had to buy it.
- spacious
- excellent location
- everything is close and within walking distance
- not touristy with souvenir hawkers at every turn.
- friday farmers market right behind the condo with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables and of course Costa Rican coffee.
- inexpensive car rentals if you want to do some personal exploring.
- most of the locals can manage enough english so language isn't a barrier. Although they do appreciate any attemot on your part to communicate in Spanish.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuthierOnLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for a week during July condo 7B. The condo was just as described. It was a very spacious 2 bed 2 bath and very clean. The pool is huge and was never packed, most of the time it was just my husband and I. The condo is located on the beach and is a short walk to some delicious restaurants and to the grocery store. We booked through Day Star properties and had no issues besides our key cards not working one day but the 24 hour property security let us in and Day Star was there with new keys in about 20 minutes. If we stayed in Jaco again I would definetly book here because of the cleanliness and location. They also have maintenance men on site every day cleaning the grounds which are immaculate. In a nutshell, beautiful property in a great location in Jaco!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have stayed in Bahia Azul and have been nothing but impressed. The condos are amazing (especially the third floor that have rooftop balconies). Our condo had two bedrooms, which were both a good size and two full bathrooms, a kitchen with bar stools and a living area. You can open doors onto the balconies from the master bedroom as well as the living room, which really gives you a feeling of being at the beach. These condos are located on the beach, so you can hear the waves, even if you are inside the condo. If you are not an ocean swimmer, then they have a gorgeous pool in the center of the condos, facing the beach. The pool has lap lines on the bottom and was never over crowded. Everyone at the pool was friendly and we loved the family-like atmosphere.
The location of Bahia Azul was perfect for us. It was about a mile walk to our favorite restaurant (The Bohio) through town, or a half a mile down the beach. Everything in town is within walking distance, but the taxi rides were cheap when we needed a break.

Room Tip: Third floor so you get a roof top balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunbum010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We loved our stay in Jaco and were especially lucky to have stayed at this property. We rented from a private owner, Jodi and she was very helpful and great to work with - we stayed in condo 4B. The condo itself was perfect, very clean, nicely decorated, and highly functional with all that we needed while on vacation! The grounds were beautiful with lush vegetation and palm trees, clean pool and right on the beach! Everything is within easy walking distance: water sports, restaurants, groceries, shopping and pharmacy - so convenient! We rented bikes and spent afternoons exploring a little more off the beaten path. We were happy to discover how centrally located we were to everything. There is a nice sense of community created by the condos surrounding the pool with a mix of owners and vacationers. Everyone made us feel welcome.
Most evenings we would check out the local fare, the restaurants were excellent, with great food and good service. All in all, it was a fantastic vacation -- we will be back and we plan to stay here again!

Room Tip: Jodi rents a few condos I think but we had 4C on the second floor. It was great and the location wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Costa Rica few weeks ago and wow we loved it. We rented a condo on VRBO from a private owner and she was amazing, helped us with everything from transportation to surfing and everything in between. We stayed in a top floor condo and watched every sunset while were there - really amazing view. I would suggest to anyone to rent a top floor condo!!! We planned to just relax by the pool but we ended up hiking and zip lining and we took an amazing ATV tour up the moutain. We didn't rent a car, just walked everywhere or grabbed a taxi for next to nothing - that saved us a lot of money! Everything we wanted or needed was so close.
The condo was perfect, the pool was beautiful, the area was quite, the staff was friendly and the owner was great. We loved our trip and we loved our "home" while we were there.

Room Tip: Rent a top floor condo. We were in condo 4C which has tables and lounge chairs on the roof top. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.8 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
0.8 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daystar Bahia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Bahia Azul

Property: Daystar Bahia Azul
Address: Calle Morales, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daystar Bahia Azul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront condo community in Jaco Beach with 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos. Steps from the ocean and a quick walk to town, you'll enjoy unobstructed ocean views and a lively beach scene at your doorstep. All units feature fully equipped kitchens, in-unit laundry rooms, cable TV, telephones and WiFi Internet access. Services include concierge, staffed security and free local calls and long distance to USA and Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Daystar Bahia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Bahia Azul Hotel Jaco
Daystar Bahia Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing