We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Budget Accommodation in Jaco!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutan Surf Cabinas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rutan Surf Cabinas
Ranked #33 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Budget Accommodation in Jaco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just stayed at this wonderful little place in Jaco. It is quite the bargain for cabina pricing. The helpful staff, clean rooms, and beautiful ambiance make this a must stay if traveling on a budget through Jaco! I recommend this spot to all my friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tichp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STA Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Rutan is the shiz!! The cabinas are centrally located to the Jaco strip, the better surf spot in Jaco and the bus station. Jaco in general is a busy but the cabinas are tucked away in its own little piece of paradise.
For the price there are many amenities: Outside kitchen/Bar B Q, wireless internet, hammocks, fire pit with rocking chairs, outside shower, and surfboards/beach equipment for rent.

The best part about the cabinas is the staff that run it. Maria lives on site and will most likely be the one you talk to. She is extremely helpful and always smiling! I was lucky enough to meet the owner Devyn who made my stay even better. She had time to show me around Jaco and the nearby surf breaks which was very appreciated (and she's smokin hot!)
HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SPOT!!

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs room if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rutan Cabinas is a great affordable place that is close to everything and has a personal touch to it. The staff is super nice and as a local of 20 years in town I recommend it for anyone traveling hostel style in Jaco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hostile was awesome! The staff was really friendly and the room was clean and nice. The location was great we were able to walk to lots of fun places for food, bars and beach activities. We loved this place and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at these cabinas a few weeks ago and had a great time. The rooms were simplistic, but with everything you needed to enjoy yourself while staying there. Maria, the lovely landlord takes exceptional care of the facilities and maintains a very clean establishment..Did I mention that you are in walking distance from all kinds of fun bars, restaurants and of course the beach. There is an excellent break right out in front of the cabinas with killer lefts and rights! Affordable, clean and a great place to stay! Heading back in December...hope to see you there!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with just the 2 beds in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedd' M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Extremely dirty - it looked like the sheets in our room hadn't been washed in months. Sand actually rolled around on the bed when we sat on the sheets, and we just felt sooo unclean the whole time we were in the room (which wasn't very long since we wanted to spend as little time as possible in there). The bathroom was absolutely horrible too - we avoided showering until we reached our next hostel. Maybe we just got the worst room since some of the other reviews are much more positive, but I would personally never recommend this hostel to anyone. Staff wasn't any too friendly, and there is no way I would describe this place as "clean" like the other people on here did (and I'm a low-maintenance college student and didn't have very high expectations going in, but somehow I was still grossed out and almost slept on the beach instead of inside the gross room). Jaco just sucked in general though as a town in my opinion, though, so maybe that's part of it. A part of my Costa Rican experience that I really don't care to remember.

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alixkvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Central, clean and by far the cheapest place in town

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#23 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#12 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buddha House Boutique Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riva Hostel Jaco
Riva Hostel Jaco
#7 of 65 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beds on Bohio
Beds on Bohio
#16 of 65 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Hacienda Garcia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutan Surf Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutan Surf Cabinas

Property: Rutan Surf Cabinas
Address: Calle Anita, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the laid-back coastal town of Playa Jaco, Cabinas Rutan is centered amidst pristine sandy beaches and killer surf! Rutan is a retreat, a quaint island style getaway for surfers and sun worshippers. Upon new ownership, formally known as Chucks Cabinas, we have added amenities such as a BBQ to new beds, linens and decor, Rutan Surf Cabinas is more unique and tranquil and still the lowest price in town! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rutan Surf Cabinas Hotel Jaco
Rutan Surf Cabinas Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing