We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“PRO/CON - Exactly in the Middle. NOT Amazing. NOT Horrible.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“PRO/CON - Exactly in the Middle. NOT Amazing. NOT Horrible.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

PRO/CON - Exactly in the Middle. NOT Amazing. NOT Horrible.

Intro: This was our last hotel stop during a 1 week tour through Costa Rica. My gf and I picked this hotel because it was ranked number #1 on Tripadvisor (not the best choice as ranking does not necessarily imply "best" hotel).

Overall, the hotel is very basic and will meet the needs of the average traveller. There are no frills or luxurious add-ons. Full details of the Pros and Cons are described below.

PRO
-Staff is helpful, happy, and bilingual (e.g. speaks English).
-Condition of estate - Hotel premises is clean, safe, and well-kept
-Discounts available if you pay cash
-Impeccable ocean view from nearly any room
-Very inexpensive! Great for the budget traveller!

CON
-Location is NOT NEAR THE BEACH. The hotel is located at the top of a mountain which is only reached via a windy, gravel road. Do NOT expect to leave the hotel and instantly step onto the beach. We drove back and forth each time from our room to the restaurants and the beach.

-Wildlife. If you have an aversion to animals, this is not for you. There was a large spider, various lizards, dragonflies, and a wild possum all encountered during our stay. We particularly didn't mind this wildlife interaction as it was expected in Costa Rica. But don't be surprised to see tiny lizards scurrying in your bedroom and shower

-Breakfast. Super weak. Nothing but yogurt/fruit/granola. This was the ONLY hotel of the 4 hotels we've stayed at in Costa Rica that did NOT cook the typical Costa Rican breakfast. They note this in the website. However, just know that this breakfast does not follow the norm that you may encounter at other hotels (e.g. - eggs, meat, rice/beans, sweets, breads, etc.)


TIPS
-Be aware that this is a significant distance from the beach via foot.
-Not all rooms have A/C

CONCLUSION
-An average hotel with good service. If I'm on a budget and looking just for a place to lay my head for a low cost - I'd pick this place.
But if I'm expecting animal-free rooms, a short walk to the beach, and a hearty breakfast...I'd spend a little more money and go elsewhere.

Feel free to message if you have any questions and of course, safe travels! Pura Vida! :)

Room Tip: Ask for an A/C room. They're the same price as the non-A/C rooms. The owner is very friendly and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scalpelx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janandgreg, Owner at Aparthotel Vista Pacifico, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel and thank you for the positive things you noted. While our little hotel does not have all the amenities of a luxury resort, the awards we have won from Trip Advisor have been for Service and Value, both of which you commented on favourably.

It seems however that you were disappointed that our location was not on the beach. Actually our website is clear from the introduction that our setting is on a hill “above” Playa Jaco. We are 1.5 km from the beach and 3 km from the centre of town. It is our hill top location that gives us, as you said, the “impeccable ocean view from nearly any room”.

Regarding our complimentary continental breakfast, we are sorry it was not to your liking. We receive a lot of positive feedback from guests about our healthy breakfast. In addition to a variety of fresh tropical fruits, homemade granola and yogurt we serve homemade muffins, croissants, cinnamon bread, pastries, rolls, fresh juices, various jams, butter and cream cheese.

Pura Vida,
Jan Tilston
Owner, Vista Pacifico Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    52
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
176
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a great little get-away place...not in the heart of Jaco, but close enough to come and go. Personally, I love the smaller properties, which this was, and it truly was a hidden gem. I actually live in Costa Rica and can recommend this place to locals and others. We will come and stay again. Loved the owners/managers. The breakfast patio is great and a delish breakfast was served each day. I absolutely loved the pool. And did I mention the cool setting? Situated up on the mountain top with a view of the ocean on one side and a mountain/valley view on the other side. So glad we found this place thru TripAdvisor! Oh...one more thing: you cannot beat the price!

Room Tip: If more than 2 people, get the 2-bedroom suite....#6 and 7....you walk right out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not a BAD experience but we were expecting a bigger property and more room to move around. The place was very busy; it felt too crowded. For example, when we came out for breakfast there was someone lying in a pool lounger right in front of my door and there was no room at the 3 tables to eat breakfast. Outside our balcony, we expected a view as we were high on a hill but we could not believe the hydro wires were so close.
That said, the owners were very nice and helpful. The place was clean and beds were comfortable. Nothing fancy here; you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaledonEastLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is truly an incredible place! James and Julianna give the place an incredibly relaxing feel and offer great travel advice as well. The rooms are bright and breezy and the view is incredible. I would definitely stay here again although with a rental car next time as there are a lot of great activities around and transportation can add up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureGuy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here. Pretty much all the great reviews here are what they say. You will not be dissapointed and i would recommend this place for all. The view from the mountain top is great, owners are very nice, rooms clean, landscaping on grounds .beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a great joint! Fabulous feedback from the time we started planning our trip to Costa Rica, never mind, once we got there. We called several times from Canada, even waking up the then preggers-Julianna. Oops! We were given excellent advice prior to arriving, when we got there and even when we left. Great people. Great hotel. Area not my fave but we did travel widely in Costa Rica. I would recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LARocchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our family recently stayed at Vista Pacifico (Feb. 2013). This is my first review… EVER… but I felt I needed to let everyone know that if I were going to Jaco Beach, I wouldn't stay anywhere other than Vista Pacifico! It exceeded all of our expectations! James and Julianna are the managers and they were AWESOME! The views were spectacular, the rooms were spotless, beds comfortable, and the pool and cabana area beautiful. They had a grill out by the pool if you get tired of eating out. The kitchen was well serviceable and the rooms were spacious. The breakfast was a nice change from rice, beans and eggs. Julianna's banana muffins and homemade granola were excellent and James' smoothies were simply divine. This young couple know how to treat guests. I felt like I was staying with friends for a few days. The atmosphere was intimate, cozy and still private. On our second day we were met by the owners, Jan & Greg. They were also super friendly and helpful with all of our needs. BIG KUDOS TO ALL AT VISTA PACIFO! (Jan I left my map tote by the pool, think of me when you use it!)

Room Tip: If you are very sensitive to heat, request a room with an AC. We were a little warm on the second n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbajek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
0.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Vista Pacifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Vista Pacifico

Property: Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Address: Apdo 108, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Vista Pacifico 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Vista Pacifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Hotel Jaco
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing