We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down, best value in Jaco”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarita's Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Clarita's Beach Hotel.
After kicking around some cheap hostels, and some pricier hotels, I came back to Clarita's, and here's why:
The rooms are plenty big and clean, and come with a mini-fridge, TV (satellite), and a safe.
The 24 hour on-site security is priceless.
Can't beat the location, as it is right on the beach.
The swimming pool has a swim up bar and a relaxing waterfall, and the water temperature is perfect.
The bar restaurant always has something fun going on, and the food is a good value.
Save yourself the heartache, and check into Clarita's first.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mills_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Clarita's Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 309 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

Excellent service, clean rooms, great food at the restaurant, live shows on weekends & during the week.

Room Tip: Be ready to enjoy.....
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acarazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I found Claritas sportsbar and hotel to be a great base while staying in Jaco. The rooms were comfy for me if a little basic. Including empty fridge, aircon, fan, shower, tv satellite, safe and a firm bed. At night when the bar closes is very quiet for your beauty sleep. The pool is nice if a little small and the bar is facing the beach.
The food and service is not bad. Lots of friendly expats around who will arrange drivers and tours. It is at the end of the beach so at night need to get the bar to order you a taxi into Jaco proper, but this is less than 1000 CRC. The hotel is guest friendly so if you meet a tica in the beatle bar no problem bringing her back. No joiner fee. Very friendly and would stay again. The weekends gets popular with ticos and ticas who come to the beach and some great local bands and singers.
MongerPlanet

Room Tip: Go for a room with aircon gets humid
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirMarjAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The hotel is behind the bar & grill and right on the beach at Jaco. The rooms (some have a/c) are comfortable and clean. The staff at Claritas is about as close to friendly on the whole as I've encountered in Costa Rica in a long time. The bar & grill is on the beach with great views, acceptable food, cold beverages and an interesting mixture of tourists, ex-pats and locals. Some of the locals may have questionable social behavior after dark but I didn't arrive without knowing that. All in all, Claritas is worthwhile, especially for singles.

Room Tip: Call ahead.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We just got back from a week in CR with the last few days spent at Claritas. The views of the beach and the sounds of crashing waves were breathtaking. All of the staff were so nice and we thought the food was great. The best thing about the place is it has the feel of a neighborhood beach bar. We made fast friends with everyone and felt like we belonged after the first round. Is it the Ritz? No, but having spent the first part of our week at the Springs Resort in Arenal we all agreed that the best memories of our vacation came at Claritas. I guess it depends what you're looking for but in our case, Claritas was exactly what we needed. Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie7487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The rooms have air-con, TV and fan but that's about all that the rooms and resort have going for it.

The rooms are very small and there is no soundproofing from the other rooms. My bathroom was also mouldy.

The "nice swimming pool" as advertised would better be called a fish pond, as only small fish could really swim in it.

The restaurant is very dirty and over priced - I rubbed a paper napkin across my table surface and it came up brown. The kitchen looks dirty too and there's a dog leashed almost constantly near its doorway - neither good for the dog or for hygiene... or for my ears! Smoking is also allowed in the restaurant, which I find unacceptable.

Location - the resort doesn't score for me there either. It's about as far away from the commercial centre as possible whilst still being in the area. It's quite a walk each day to the restauarnts and bars in town.

The resort has free wifi and it does work reasonably well. However, it only works in the dirty and smokey dining area ...

Finally, cancellation policy - the resort has a quite harsh policy - 10 days notice. I can't help but wonder that they have this to stop people cancelling once they turn up and see how crap it is - it worked on me, I know that much.

Enough said.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The staff is great! The rooms are clean and the beach location is fantastic. Don't expect inexpensive food at Clarita's or anywhere else in Jaco. The chocolate lab...Clarito....is a special treat... I will return...Gerry

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
2.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
459 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarita's Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita's Beach Hotel

Address: 300 meters North of Best Western Hotel on the Beach, Jaco 0078, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $50 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaco's most affordable beach front hotel with complete restaurant and bar. Prime Beach front location with spectacular views of Pacific Ocean and rain forest. The Place in Jaco for folks who love the beach, crave ocean breezes and breaking surf, who expect excellent friendly service, and who want to kick back, have fun and catch Costa Rica's Pura Vida!!! Claritas provides ocean front clean rooms with ac, cable TV, hot water, refrigerators, room safes, swimming pool and bar, free wifi, free secured private parking, live bands- all at affordable rates. Great surf in front of your room. Cheapest rooms & Coldest beer on Jaco Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claritas Beach Jaco
Hotel Claritas Beach
Clarita's Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing