We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #5 of 29 Jaco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Catalina with my girlfriend over Christmas break. We were looking for something quiet on the edge of Jaco, which can get a little loud downtown sometimes. We found perfection at Hotel Catalina. After we were dropped off by our taxi, Naomi greeted me by name at the gate. The hotel was empty at the time and she gave us the choice of whatever room we wanted. She then showed us through the room which was perfect for two people. The rooms have one double bed and one twin. They also have a small kitchen with assorted pots, pans, etc. and a fridge. The bathroom was perfect, too. Everything was VERY clean. There was no TV, however, I did not travel to Costa Rica to watch TV, I had an ocean 50 yards from me. The rooms are also cleaned every morning,with new towels arranged in cute shapes on your bed with fresh flowers.
The owners Naomi and her Mom Sandra were two of the nicest people I have ever met. They went out of their way to help us with taxis, ordering take in food, calling tours, and directions. Naomi was always around to help us with anything we needed and with a big smile. When my girlfriend stubbed her toe Naomi quickly brought out a bottle of hydrogen peroxide and gave it to us. My girlfriend and I were utterly charmed within minutes and left that way, too. It was exactly what we were looking for and hoping for during our stay in Costa Rica, a quiet little out of the way Inn with super friendly people, not some big Americanized hotel with satellite TV and walls around it to keep Costa Rica out. I can't say enough good about this hotel and Naomi and her Mom Sandra. We will most definately be back and I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to slow down and take it easy and who is not looking for a loud and crazy place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranierrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    16
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
37
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper NY state
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The Hotel Catalina is a wonderful choice for a beachfront vacation in Costa Rica. The owners will arrange a driver and van to pick you up at the Airport in San Jose and drive you to the hotel/beach. The hotel is a bit of a secret: picturesque with clean rooms and simple charm. Family owned and maintained. It's wonderful to walk out of the hotel, take a few steps and be on the beach. Then back to the hotel- shower the sand off and relax near the pool. The waves are medium sized year-round, which is perfect for a surf lesson. I'm 43 and arranged several surf lessons: the instructor essentially finds the wave for you, saying "paddle!" at the exactly the right time. All the luggage you need is a swimsuit and flip-flop sandals. I rented a bicycle for the week and enjoyed cycling the short distance to the surf-town of Jaco. I explored the local restaurants and ate fresh snapper and sea bass with rice at least one meal per day. I wish I could have stayed longer but I had to get back to work. It's been almost a year now since my visit and I'm reserving a room again at the Hotel Catalina.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikecommuter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

It was relatively quiet when I visited, apart from the amazing thunderstorms over the bay that we could watch from the patio. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. The domesticated four-legged company is a big plus as well, since I don't have any pets of my own. Would definitely stay here again and would heartily recommend it (and have) to anyone heading near Jaco.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clotilde2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Terrific. Spent considerable time here. Very comfortable. Always a breeze coming off the ocean. Great sunsets. Peaceful, quiet, tranquil. Caring, conscientious management. Nice guests. Cool dog.
Beachfront location in southern end of Jaco lends itself to hiking and surfing. Easy access to the fun trails located in the mountains just to the south as well as to the hidden coves and rock outcroppings between Jaco and Hermosa. At high tide, simply step outside your room to check the waves. Walk a few steps and you're in the water.
Rooms are clean and well maintained. Light and airy. Fully functional little kitchen. Comfortable bed.
Good stuff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Untethered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We sent several couchsurfing (www.couchsurfing.com) and home exchange (www.homeexchange.com) friends to the Catalina for some beach time these past few months, and remembered that we owed ourselves a visit. Especially when our friends came back to thank us for the recommendation. Fortunately for us, the Catalina is only 2 hours from our front door.

Sooooo...it was great to be greeted by Naomi's smiling and relaxed face, and our room was cool, clean, and comfortable. The refrigerator was even cold. There just is no downside to a stay at the Catalina. We'll be back again soon...maybe talk some family and friends into another Christmas week loxing out at poolside:)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saramandaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I am from Minnesota and have stayed at Hotel Catalina 3 different visits and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The hotel is clean, cozy, safe and friendly. It is located on the quite end of the beach and is right on the beach. The rooms have kitchens, bathrooms with showers, and comfortable beds. They get cleaned daily by a friendly honest maid. I love the owner Naomi who is an American but speaks perfect Spanish so she helps with all transactions, calls, questions, taxi,etc....... She also makes a great Pina Colada for her guests at sunset. The sunsets are clearly seen from the outdoor poor area and in three weeks I only missed one and that was because it was cloudy. The town is an easy walk from the hotel and every Friday the outdoor market is a short walk from the hotel also which should never be missed - all the fresh fruits and veggie the farmers bring to town! There is also a hill a short walk from the hotel which gives an outstanding view of the ocean and surrounding hills. You can see monkeys, lizards and many many different kinds of birds during the hike up the hill. A short bike ride over the hill is another beach worth seeing and if you like surfing it is as good as Jaco beach for surfing, boggie boarding and just playing in the waves! Jaco has a lot of variety - surfing, boggie boarding, zip-lines, fishing, 4 wheeling, day trips, great food!!! etc.......
I give Hotel Catalina 5 stars and Naomi 10 stars!
Don't miss this stay!
love joy peace
Lauri

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

I stumbled upon this place about 4 years ago, and I come back every year! Its quiet and just far enough away from the hussle and bussle of Jaco. You can relax and enjoy the beach, thats just steps from your room Or enjoy a short walk in to town for dinner, nightlife, and shopping. Its by far the safest yet affordable and comfortable place to stay in Jaco for anybody and everybody.
Ive been all over Costa Rica, and as far as accomodations, and the best sunsets... this is the place you'll want to visit.
Naomi is also the biggest help with anything. From setting up transfers to and from the airport, or recommending things to do...whatever your needs may be, shes great!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Shambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#18 of 44 in Jaco
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#15 of 44 in Jaco
109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#7 of 44 in Jaco
421 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Property: Hotel Catalina
Address: Calle Hidalgo | South Jaco Beach, Beachfront!, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront hotel, friendly and peaceful atmosphere. Rooms are clean, simple and bright they have kitchenettes and private patios. Lush gardens, ocean breezes create the perfect relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalina Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing