We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lay Back and Relax”
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #5 of 29 Jaco B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Naomi and Sandra make you feel special and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful. We stayed eleven nights here and look forward to returning. We have traveled to many locations in Costa Rica and we like to stay in places that incorporate the culture and natural landscape. Hotel Catalina has done that with their rooms and property. Our room was on the top floor and it had air conditioning. We sat on the porch every morning and evening and listened to the waves and birds. There is no television but we both relaxed with our books. Every day Josephine cleaned our rooms and she would fold our towels on our bed in all different shapes and decorate it with flowers and leaves from the garden. I don't know why it is listed on Trip Advisor as a B&B or Inn because it really is individual apartments with kitchens and a nice size refrigerator.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank stressreliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is located literally steps away from the beach. We've stayed here twice.

Highlights: gated parking, a kitchen, a little outside semi-private porch area with table, beautiful sunsets, beautiful garden area, a little pool, and great service (but no breakfast, which was fine for us).

The hotel next door (Hotel 9, I think) rents a set of two beach chairs and umbrella for $10 for the whole day...we enjoyed just sitting on the beach all day, periodically walking the 50 steps back to the hotel for more cold beer or to make a sandwich or get a snack. So relaxing.

And its fun to watch people learn how to surf, since one of the surf schools in Jaco does lessons there.

Even though Jaco is known for being a bit dangerous, we didn't have any trouble the two times we were there...although we didn't venture out too late at night either.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, which doesn't have A/C, which we liked. But we've never staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this family place. It is perfectly located in the Southern end of Jaco beach, which is for our liking just perfect with sand and no stones (unlike the central part). Very calm area, with some surfers outside wh are cleaning the beach daily. Catalina i run by a small family and is very cosy. We had room with aircon, but it was in fact not required. The place is quite simple, no TVs, breakfast or bar. But each room has a kitchinette and a large fridge. There is a nice beach bar just some minitues down the road with the best view you can imagine, serving breakfast and coffee. The best about this place is its location and the hosts. We definitely recommend this place! Thanks to Naomy for relaxing 4 days in Jaco!

Room Tip: A/C is not necesery as every room has a ceiling fan. Rooms on the second floor has large balcony wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DePo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Such a cute little place right on the beach. Very laid back and great price for such a hot spot that looks out on the beach. Naomi was wonderful, she made sure we were happy and always had everything we needed. Very helpful with places to go and arranging rides. What an awesome trip and very safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were three families, including two young children, and we had a great 3 day holiday getaway. As always, the rooms were clean, there was plenty of hot water, and everything in the kitchenette functioned perfectly. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saramandaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hotel Catalina was quiet and convenient, and the price was excellent. Naomi was a wonderful host, making us feel welcomed and making recommendations. This is the type of jewel we love to find when traveling, not fancy, a bit off the main drag, but comfortable and pretty. It is right on the beach, with free parking on site.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandMfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Naomi gave me such a nice welcome to Catalina that I wanted to stay more than 1 night originally planned. The location right on the calmer South Beach Jaco was perfect, and the sound of the sea put me to sleep at night. The apartments were simple, but functional, clean and well distributed. Enjoyed breakfast and sunset at the Point..and the surfers presented entertainment. It did change my perception of Jaco as a destination. Naomi, her mother and not to forget the dog and the cat......I do wish that you readers can experience their hospitality! Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#18 of 40 in Jaco
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pochote Grande
Hotel Pochote Grande
#20 of 40 in Jaco
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
603 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perico Azul
Hotel Perico Azul
#6 of 40 in Jaco
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: Calle Hidalgo | South Jaco Beach, Beachfront!, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range: $110 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront hotel, friendly and peaceful atmosphere. Rooms are clean, simple and bright they have kitchenettes and private patios. Lush gardens, ocean breezes create the perfect relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalina Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing