We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pura vida style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Catalina
Ranked #5 of 27 Jaco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pura vida style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Right on the beach, comfortable, lush landscape, clean and with wonderful hosts - what else could you want???! Our rooms were large with a kitchenette, balcony & a/c. We were there in August, so air conditioning was important. They do have rooms without it and that would probably be OK at certain times of the year. Naomi & Sandra (from the U.S.) live on-site and are very helpful and friendly. They definitely added to the charm of the hotel. Our teenage son would stay to surf and the rest of us would take day-trips around the area. We never worried about his safety. He walked out of the hotel to the beach. It is a little far for walking to town, but we rented bikes and could get to town easily that way. We took a taxi when it was raining and it was an inexpensive trip. Great for families or people looking for a quiet, relaxing spot - not a "party place". We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailormom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, July 21, 2015
Thank you Sailormom97! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Catalina! It was a pleasure meeting you and your family! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    16
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
34
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My first visit to Hotel Catalina/Jaco Beach was in 2008, at which time I fell in love with the hotel, the staff and the entire vibe that Costa Rica has to offer. I loved it so much, that I decided to return in 2013 (too much time in between if you ask me). NOTE: I've visited during off peak times (May both visits).

Both visits, my primary goal of visiting Costa Rica was R&R. I am from NYC, so getting away from crowds, relaxing and unwinding was the only thing I had on my mind. Hotel Catalina was the best place for that. The hotel itself is somewhat "off the beaten path", so it is nice and quite, directly on the beach and a quick 5 minute cab ride/15 minute walk to town.

Being that Hotel Catalina is family owned, throughout your stay you will be greeted with smiles, great conversation and recommendations for food/activities - a level of hospitality I've never experienced anywhere else (I travel 5-6 times a year to all types of places). Another great aspect of the hotel is that is does not have TV or Clocks. Some may see this as a negative, but I saw this as a HUGE positive, being that I don't get caught up watching TV or even knowing what time it is. I can simply enjoy everything the hotel and Jaco has to offer and I can do it without having to rush or worry about what time it is. (if you've never been without TV or a clock, I seriously recommend you give it a try).

When you arrive at Hotel Catalina, they have two sets of rooms, in two different locations. They have AC rooms and fan rooms, so you can choose your level of comfort. Also, they have rooms towards the front of the hotel and one towards the back. The front rooms tend to be more social while the backrooms tend to give you a bit more privacy, again, all up to how you feel.

At the end of the day, if you want to get away and relax, Hotel Catalina is my go-to place. I come back home feeling great!

Want to go to the beach? Literally steps away from the Hotel
Want to enjoy town? They will call you a cab and it will be there in less than 5 minutes
Want to take part in activities like zip line, fishing and ATV? They have great recommendations
Want to learn how to surf? There are surf tents setup right outside their hotel
Want to explore places outside of Jaco? They can point you in the right direction
Want a friendly staff that genuinely cares that you have a good time? Look no where else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_B_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are glad that you got to getaway and relax at the Catalina. Always a pleasure to to see you. Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of the Catalina! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We discovered the Catalina over a decade ago, and I keep coming back for more. It feels like our home away from home, not a hotel. The amenities are wonderful, like having a fully stocked kitchen and beachfront pool. I love the little private porch in front of each room for reading a book and getting completely relaxed. Directly in front is a surf school to take lessons, and a few beach bars to have an afternoon snack not too far from home. It is only about $2. Taxi ride into town for dinner, movies, or grocery store. The south end of Jaco is really turning into the best place to be in Jaco! Enjoy the Catalina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Always wonderful to see you and your family. We are happy that you keep coming back. Thank you for such a great review. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Catalina in Jaco, Costa Rica is my home away from home. It is on the south end of the beach, so quieter than in town, close to areas where you can watch surfers, and easily the most comfortable middle of the road hotel you'll find where you can hear the surf pounding through the night and wake up to dawn breaking outside your door above the waves. The hotel is immediately on the beach! It’s on the southern end where the beach is quieter, but still right next to a surf school, so the scene, while quiet, is still fun to watch. They have units with complete kitchens totally stocked with dishes, pots and pans, regular sized refrigerator… and the price is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Catalina. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We had this weekend a lovely time at Catalina Hotel. Quiet, near the beach place, full of green gardens.
We stay just for one night but we had a great time. Long walks on the beach, surf lessons just out side the hotel beach gate.
Great place to stay. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AA3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time at the Catalina. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Naomi, Sandra, and Dino(their doggy) were wonderful to us. The property was secure with lush gardens. The pool looked nice and clean, we didn't use it. A few tables in a shady common area which was nice. It was on the south end of the beach...quiet, yet only a nice 5 minute walk into town. We had an A/C balcony room. Very clean and spacious. Large, comfy beds. The balcony had chairs and a table, with a bit of an ocean view. Naomi was very helpful when it came to bus info, taxis, where to find dart frogs, and tips on the town...we had several long, in-depth chats with Sandra and she
was a great inspiration to both of us. This place felt like a second home. Be sure to hike to the look out behind the hotel and go to the Jaco farmers market.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Real-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Catalina! It was a pleasure to have met you both. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Naomi and Sandra are lovely hosts (hostesses?) and we would never think to try another hotel when we return to Jaco. Which we will, every time we're in CR. This was our second trip.

In fact, now that we own property in the south, a trip through Jaco is impossible to avoid. It's the stop at Hotel Catalina that we'll look forward to.

One small example: on our recent trip, some unusual circumstances led us to arrive in Jaco, and our reservation at HC, about 6 hours later than we'd predicted to Naomi. Needless to say, we were greeted warmly. We feared that perhaps we'd missed our window of opportunity. We hadn't. But here's what we'd like to share.

We were lost (how unusual on CR roads), we were behind schedule, it was dark and we were both tired, hungry, racing the clock and stressed. And on the way towards Jaco we both commented that we were glad we were headed to HC because we knew what to expect. Which was a great room, on the beach, for a fair price, and a lovely smile when we got there. If they'd only still be awake.

Which they were. We recommend HC totally. And we will return every time we're in CR.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravida643, Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for always choosing to stay at the Catalina while in Jaco! It is always a pleasure to see you both! Thank you again and see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#13 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Property: Hotel Catalina
Address: Calle Hidalgo | South Jaco Beach, Beachfront!, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful beachfront hotel, friendly and peaceful atmosphere. Rooms are clean, simple and bright they have kitchenettes and private patios. Lush gardens, ocean breezes create the perfect relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalina Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing