We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$144
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$500
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
$219
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$119
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Carlo Condominium(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$107
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
44
51
19
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
51
19
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta rican breakfastoutside wallliquid soapbob marleypoolside roomblow dryergarden viewsurf lessonsfree wifiluxury resortloved this hotelplantainsshort staythird floorc unitcontinental breakfasthotels in costa rica
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 134 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017

You could not ask for a better spot - on the beach at Jaco, a little away from city center - about a 15 minute walk. The rooms and the hotel set-up were perfect - clean, cozy, large, tropical, and quite charming. The staff was great (but still waiting for those post cards I left at the front desk to get to their addresses here in the states after two months now), They were friendly and helpful, made you feel at home. But avoid the breakfast. Lousy. Walk into town. Otherwise, a great place and yes, I would come back here but with my own box of Raisin Brand and a few bananas.

Room Tip: Very accessible. All rooms are ground level.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sclif1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

South Beach is terrific. The poolside room is spacious, comfortable with great air conditioning and super shower!
The staff is so accommodating and really kind.
The pool and quick access to beach is a plus. The gentleman rakes morning and evening quite a distance from the hotel access.
The typical breakfast is really great.
Enjoyed our stay immensely.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank debbyseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

South Beach Hotel is picturesque located on a beautiful beach in Jaco but on the south side, which is typically quiet, and only a short distance into town. The staff is awesome and they have a great surf/SUP school located in the hotel. Surf lessons are taught by a great instructor, Tiger, who will make sure you have a fun and safe experience. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

South Beach Hotel is a BASIC hotel. We were disappointed with what we found when checking in. The hotel was "clean" but the maintenance was poor. I felt the hotel was overpriced for what the accommodations provided. First...google maps has NO idea where this hotel is. We even tried Galileo which was no better. The hotel manager should change the coordinates of the FRONT of the hotel. Both maps tried to send us down a side road to the beach to enter the hotel. Unfortunately we were frustrated before we even walked into this hotel. After waiting 10 minutes listening to the single person at the "front desk" on the phone, we were checked in. My first clue should have been the threatening tone of this individual when explaining the consequences of NOT returning the room key, TV remote and AC remote. Note there are no elevators to the 2nd or 3rd floor of the building. Although not an issue for us, it is an important detail for some travelers. The room was large with a large balcony. The furniture was SPARSE and of poor quality. There is not a closet but rather a large wooden structure presumably to store surf boards, wet suites, etc. We complained there was no hot water at the bathroom sink although this was not fixed during our stay. I complained again when checking out (handing key and remotes to front desk). The shower was large enough although the plumbing was questionable, however included hot water. I would love to have hotel mangers/owners understand that relatively simple repairs or upgrades make a big difference to travelers. In this case, a shower head that directed water down would make a huge difference. This shower went in every direction with poor pressure down.

Another way to make guests feel comfortable would be to have something other than molded plastic lawn chairs (2) on the balcony. I felt as if they made it as uncomfortable as possible to sit outdoors.

The hotel is located on the beach which is quite nice. However, Jaco is VERY different than other beach towns we have been to in CR and other locations. In Jaco there is nothing on the beach. No restaurants, bars, shops, etc. As far as a leisurely walk down the beach to a restaurant, it doesn't happen in Jaco. You are forced to walk/drive to get into town. All the rooms face the pool and if you have a 3rd floor room it is an "ocean view". Be prepared for lots of noise (happy noise) from the pool during the day. There is also a large fountain which is run 24 hours a day....making it very loud all night.

There is security on the property which i find to be typical. Although the room did not have a any extra security on the door (deadbolt), etc. we didn't feel unsafe.

The best parts of this hotel are the free wifi access and the efficient air conditioning. Both of which we appreciated. We are travel bloggers (TravelAddict101.com) so being able to upload pictures is important during our travels.

Although I wanted to like this hotel, it simply missed the mark for the amount of money charged. If it was priced for the level of hotel it is, i would have been happier. It is trying hard to be a mid-class hotel, and simply isn't.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lv2CSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017 via mobile

First the staff are perfection
Lets go through them - security,pool side,bar,kitchen,cleaning,waiters,reception all well trained
Special thanks to Ali so professional

The room was so comfy , slept well

Breakfast good/on b&b

Swimming pool area well maintained

Next to one of the greatest beaches

Coming back and thank you ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Stayed: March 2017
Thank davethedrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews