We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$144
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$500
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Creole(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$127
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$119
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Carlo Condominium(Jaco)(Great Value!)
$131
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
44
51
19
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
51
19
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta rican breakfastoutside wallliquid soapbob marleypoolside roomblow dryergarden viewsurf lessonsfree wifiluxury resortloved this hotelplantainsshort staythird floorc unitcontinental breakfasthotels in costa rica
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 134 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I came here on a prearranged tour thinking the hotel would have to be at least basic but clean. Wrong. It was dirty, the rooms were ugly and dingy, there was construction right next to the pool and beach that is going to take quite a while longer to finish and the restaurant was dismal.

The front office was good with friendly staff and the ability to walk out the back onto the beach is great. These two good points don't make for a satisfactory experience considering the state of the hotel. I can only hope that the tour company got a big discount even though I didn't get a penny of it.

The hotel is not centrally located but in a place like Jaco, that is a good thing if you value your sleep. However, late night party revellers returning and then indulging in vigorous bedroom activities tends to diminish that aspect as well.

In short, a one night stay felt very much longer.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank painfultruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

I spent two nights here in January '06. The front desk staff was very helpful and spoke English well. Though far from luxurious, the room was very clean. The free wireless high speed Internet was a definite plus for me. The grounds are well cared for and had enough lighting at night to make me feel comfortable. The pools were in great shape. The location is fairly remote, on the south end of town, so I was glad I had rented a car. Getting a taxi out there might cause you to have to wait. The only noise was from the sound of the poorly constructed bed frames. If you're going to have any romantic activity, plan on everyone in the rooms around you knowing about it! The beach is right at the end of the property. I saw two Jesus Christ lizards, which are really interesting creatures, and other non-threatening wildlife. Overall, it's a nice place, and I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tx500sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

1. The best thing about this place is the excellent front office staff. The staff spoke English and was very helpful in arranging tours and answering questions.

2. The town of Jaco is about a mile away. You have to either ford a river (if you take the beach approach) or walk on a dark dirt road (where i tripped over a concrete block and hurt myself). If I had it to do over again, I would have asked the staff to get me a cab, and then hailed a cab in Jaco.

3. The rooms are large but dark. (My room contained a large bed and a single.) The only place to put anything is a set of shelves.

4. The place is really like a motel court -- a number of rooms located around the pool area.

5. The pool area seemed deserted even on a warm day.

6. Aside from the front office staff, you will hear litle or no English.

7. The "restaurant" is really a poolside open-air place where you can get lunch and free breakfast. The free breakfast was passable but there was little selection. The restaurant is theoretically open for dinner, but I don't think this happened on any of the three nights I was there. Incidentally, the restaurant staff has little or no English.

8. There is a lagoon with ducks in it. The ducks sometimes come on land.

9. I didn't see any place in Jaco that looked superior. You might be better off at one of the other beach towns. Make sure, though, that it has ready access to Manuel Antonio National Park,which is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank SouthjerseyCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Hotel Arenal Pacifico for a week in June. Our room was steps from the beach and we could hear the surf rolling in from the room. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The cleaning ladies even left me a boquet of fresh flowers one morning because they noticed me admiring the flowers on the grounds. The grounds of this hotel are tropical and very nice. There are 2 pools in the courtyard and an area for grilling. There is a nice restaurant next to the pool where a complimentary breakfast is served each morning and you can purchase very reasonable lunches here also. If you want to relax, there are 2 hammocks in a secluded and quiet area. There are bikes that you can borrow to getaround town rather than having to drive. The owner and staff of the hotel are extremely helpful and kind. Out of all of the hotels I have stayed at in Jaco, this is definately my favorite.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obhcr, Gerente at South Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews