We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
49
51
20
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
51
20
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rican breakfast outside wall liquid soap bob marley poolside room blow dryer garden view surf lessons free wifi luxury resort loved this hotel plantains short stay third floor c unit continental breakfast hotels in costa rica
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 140 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night in Sept 11. So glad it as only for the night. We were the only ones at the hotel (low season) yet that did not help budge the price down from the Hotel Manager. The hotel was in dire need of complete refurbishment. The bathroom had seen better days as there was cracked tiles/shower door and dirty lime scale everywhere. There was even plaster work on the bathroom floor where some repairs had been made. The dinning area was crumbling and the pool was half empty.
On the plus side the waitress provided us with a decent breakfast and the bed sheets were clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-lover1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It's been a few years since we visited, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there in early June, and had excellent weather, excellent surf and an overall excellent time. We had the room closest to the ocean. Admittedly it was small, and lacking many amenities, but this suits our needs. We don't really need several rooms, turned down beds, and all the other five star comforts. We can fend for ourselves, thank you. The property was clean, and quiet, easy to find and had extremely easy access to downtown. Clean pool. Well kept yards. Excellent little restaurant. Friendly iguana about the size of my wife. Of course, the beach was only about 10 yards from the front door. Excellent security, everpresent guards, friendly staff. The electricity went out one night during a thunderstorm, but we had an astounding natural light shown from the porch overlooking the pacific. If you really must have a full luxury resort where you are catered to at all times, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a decent and safe bed and a central base of operations, this is a very good deal. We stayed in 2007. --Chuck

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck n Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We do business in Costa Rica Medical Care.com and we always put 2 or 3 days in a trip to go here for some R & R. They have wi-fi and I love working or calling some one back home with the waves behind me.

Only 75 minutes from San Jose it is the perfect get away. We send our patients that wish to go to the beach here as well.

The staff is very helpful and will do anything for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lildoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We were a family group of two sisters, a brother, and our spouses who spent a week at this hotel. During the week, the hotel was extremely quiet. It became very busy with Costa Ricans getting out of the city on the weekends. The staff were so helpful and friendly, bringing us ice and other things whenever we asked. The rooms were spotless, even after we drug in lots of sand from the very empty beach. The security was great. As the hotel was so quiet, we even brought in grills and made dinner with a local friend in the covered area near the beach. The a/c was a quite effective and a welcome respite from the intense heat. There was surfing right on our beach.. Breakfasts were okay, but we found the fish at lunch to be delighftul. The grounds were very well kept. It is a bit far from town, though we did walk in a couple of times. The parking was in a secure area. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizinCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Jaco beach is a tough place to get accommodations during Semana Santa (holy week -Easter holidays to North Americans) but we managed to get a room last-minute at Arenal Pacifico. We were pleasantly surprised by its location -right on the beach and at an ideal spot for those of us learning to surf. What you're getting here is basically a 2 star private resort with decent rooms, a good location and friendly staff. The food in their kitchen was ok and it was nice to have everything in one spot, from surfboard rentals to food, a clean pool and walk out to the beach. It has good security to boot as well as parking and some resident wildlife (iguanas, lots of birds and even chickens!).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJKham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews