We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo Hotel and truly Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Absolutely Divine. I had the pleasure of meeting Brain in the Canadian embassy in San Jose, I had lost my passport and was having a hell of a time .When I met Brian that all changed, he told us about his Hotel and invited us there. We arrived in paradise , I was blown away. Dolce Lunas is the perfect Hotel, it has all your needs and wants.Thank you Brain and Chris for an unforgettable time , you guys rock.

Ciao,
CanadianGirl4:20

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahar_cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

Me and a friend traveled to Jaco and had an amazing stay at Doce Lunas. Chris and Brian were incredibly friendly and helpful and also available. We sat in the Bar/restaurant with them and felt very welcome.
The grounds are beautiful, and serene--a perfect getaway from the bustle of Jaco. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom and shower are a great--the best in Costa Rica.
We definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in a beautiful hotel on the outskirts of a town with a great nightlife and great beaches. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveleroftheworld70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at Doce Lunas for a week in Feb. One of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere. It was recommended to me by a friend, and now I know why. The grounds were bueatiful, exotic plants and birds. Not to mention a great swimming pool, which has it's own version of the grotto waterfall. The rooms are very impressive, comfortable beds, clean and well decorated. Great food, great service, great hotel...what more could you ask for. The staff was great, very helpful. Brian and Chris know where all the best spots to visit are. Thanks to Chris and Brian for such and enjoyable vacation. The only place I would stay in Jaco!!! Will definately be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boosasios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

My friends and myself were pleasantly surprised when we were recommended to stay at Doce Lunas in Jaco Beach, on the central Pacific shores of Costa Rica. Our budget was geared towards middle-comfort accomodations...meaning that the occasional A/C or swimming pool would be a bonus! We were so excited when Brian, the friendly and worldly general manager of Doce Lunas showed us our rooms, or shall we say suites, with bathtubs, minifridges, and really better rooms then most expensive franchise-hotels.
The swimming pool is luxurious, and the service is attentive, bi-lingual, and well-trained.
Needless to say that one night turned into four, and we cannot wait to go back to this beautiful oasis. Bravo!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costadezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Doce Lunas is a little slice heaven. (From an atheist, that's saying something...) This luxurious, secure, gorgeous property is a great place to get away and relax. Very beautiful and tranquil, easy to get to, not far off the beaten path south of San Jose, just an easy, extremely scenic two-ish hour drive to this gorgeous, peaceful place. The grounds are landscaped with indigenous flora, you can watch scarlet macaws at sunset going to roust. The rooms are impeccably clean and quiet. You'll not even know that someone else is staying there. Enjoy the covered outdoor restaurant and candle light meals. Sun during the day or have a yoga class with the top notch staff. I can't say enough about how pleasant and relaxing out stay was at Doce Lunas. We spent many a night enjoying a cold cocktail and the surroundings outside our bungalow. If you want a great time in a beautiful place, this is it! And if you have the pleasure of bumping into the owner, he's one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet and has some great stories. You can't go wrong. If you happen to also enjoy cats, you can also make friends with some of the ones that live at the resort and come by to visit from time to time, wonderfully care for by the staff.
We really enjoyed our stay at Doce Lunas and are really looking forward to going back during our next trip to Costa Rica. Go!!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman1763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the Doce Lunas Hotel this past February. It has beautiful resort like grounds with a small hotel feel. It was quiet and peaceful, especially in the morning, when all you could hear were the birds chirping. Weather was fantastic and the kids particularly enjoyed the pool, with the waterfall cave. Pool also has a shallow end which was perfect for my two year old to wade around in and play. Staff at the hotel was friendly and accomodating. Rooms were extremely spacious and clean. We stayed in one of the family suites, which had ample room for me my husband and our two kids. Rooms also had fridges and coffee makers so we were able to buy some groceries at the local bodegas and relax in the mornings.
Our only issue with Doce Lunas, if you could call it that, was that breakfast didn't begin to be served until 9am and when you are traveling with small kids (2&4 year olds) they are up way before 9am. However, a coffee maker and coffee were provided in rooms. Restaurant/ Bar area was a beautiful open air area. All meals we had were delicious, staff even prepared Super Bowl Patry for us. However, everything takes a long time so just have to be aware and order way before you want to eat. We also took a really great yoga class at the rooftop yoga studio. It was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtafuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

If you want to go to Jaco and have a car, this is a good choice. Disappointed in the pool area but the landscaping was done very well. The visiting chef from NYC made an excellent vegetarian meal for my husband.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
1.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
593 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caletas
Hotel Villa Caletas
#1 of 3 in Punta Leona
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.6 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#5 of 40 in Jaco
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#4 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: $101 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing