We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yoga Retreat Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yoga Retreat Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A short distance outside of Jaco set back into the country side is DoceLunes Hotel and resort. The staff is attentive and courteous to all. The staff will schedule excursions or make reservations at local restaurants for you. The yoga studio is set up the hill overlooking the tree tops. Exotic birds fly by while you practice. Refreshing pool available on site or a short walk through town takes you to a gorgeous ocean. Full body massage and scrub at the spa to help you relax into your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnrn729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    39
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
114
40
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Doce Lunas is a quiet refuge from the crowds of Jaco beach, and a great option if you want your time here to be a quiet retreat. Set back on a sprawling estate at the base of a hillside, the grounds are majestic both night and day. The over-sized pool is the nicest one we've seen in Costa Rica, and features a relaxing waterfall. Our suite was spacious and full of wonderful original artwork, most of which was inspired by, and created on, the grounds of the hotel. Very clean, with modern amenities including cable TV, cold air conditioning, and a stereo system. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were good, and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the only night we did not have a reservation in Costa Rica, as we left the NW Pacific beaches which were not as beautiful as we thought they might be. We thought it would be easy to find a room between Los Baulasand Jaco, but discovered there were extremely few hotels along the way. Jaco was in the midst of a surfing contest and partygoers from San Jose flooded the place. Due to the almost always accommodating and friendly Ticos, a room was found for us at Doce Lunas, a couple kilometers out of town away from the beaches and activity. Night staff who hablan no Ingles, and my little Spanish got us a room for the night. As we arrived at midnight, the place was quiet and the grounds dark. But we got a superb room and discovered the next day immaculate grounds and well maintained facilities. If one wants to relax in a secure environment and enjoy the encroaching jungle with birds and flowers galore, and enjoy a spacious room with a grand shower/bath and pool, this is a great place removed from the hub-bub of Jaco. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: I am certain anywhere at this facility would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracker557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

DoceLunas is a beautiful place near to Jaco Beach. It has lovely,well maintained grounds in a very natural setting. The room we stayed in was spacious and beautiful. The hotel staff was helpful and service was very good. It is a short walk to the beach, in a very quiet location. My friend and I have nothing but good things to say about excellent property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ME517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed there for an event that was going on at the hotel in January called JungleJam. We debated back and forth as to whether or not we wanted to be at one of the hotels on the beach, or at DoceLunas. We couldn't have been any happier with our choice! The grounds of the hotel were beautiful, the rooms were exceptionally clean, and the service was excellent. Also, as a bonus, the shower pressure was great, and you could drink the water right out of the faucets. The staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
If your like my friend and I, and are concerned about not being right on the beach....don't be. The front desk people call you a cab, which arrives in a matter of minutes, and it only costs $2. Or you can walk the mile easily.
I have high standards for hotels, and I thought this place was great :).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely pool with a waterfall cave, grounds well maintained and attractive, polite friendly service and knowledgeable guides, punctual and well organized transportation. Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJpaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Mass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel Doce Lunas is tucked into the mountainside, surrounded by jungle and somewhat off the beaten path, but within walking distance (for the adventurous of spirirt) to the beach. The grounds are kept lush and pristine and the staff is warm and friendly. You might not want to leave. Beauty pours out round every bend. Whether stargazing on the terrace, kicking back in the pool, or practicing yoga in the beautiful hardwood studio. The vibe is magical and relaxing. Oh, and if Jungle Jam's best musicians take front stage while your there, well let's just say for now that you have been truly been blessed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElHombreSinNombre27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Property: DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing