We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

this place rocks...Marco, Jorge & Daniel really go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one, along with Brian & Chris. Most of the time you don't even have to ask, they know what you need and get it done!

The rooms are great, VERY clean and spacious, and resturant has great food. EXCELLENT value.

See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisaspenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    39
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
66
114
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Docelunas Oct 27-30th. I must say it has been one of my best experiences I have had in my many visits to Costa Rica. It is located back at the base of the jungle which provides a great morning breakfast experience. The central area of Jaco is only a $5 cab ride away with very prompt service, taking less than 5 mins to arrive after the front desk places a call. The staff is wonderful and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Docelunas is a must on my repeat schedule when visiting the Jaco area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

THIS PLACE IS A LITTLE SLICE OF HEAVEN ON EARTH,Nestled away in a jungle paradise and very close to some of the greatest beaches on earth,The Staff extremely attentive to your every need,The food Fantastic,My Wife Love Love LOVED the Bikram Yoga facility,and I have not felt this relaxed in years,I have traveled the globe,and this place is simply amazing,and some of the COLDEST a/c ever (which I love),We cannot wait to Return , I highly Recommend this incredible place, Cheers.

Room Tip: The Staff is Very Attentive to all your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEVY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I loved my stay at DoceLunas. It is the only place I would stay in Jaco. You feel like you are miles from civilization, in a beautiful rain forest, at an upscale small resort, yet you are a short walk from the noisy busy town of Jaco. I cannot say enough about the HUGE beautiful pool w waterfall, the incredible landscaping, the wonderful dining and bar area, and the super friendly staff. I was fortunate to meet Brian, the general manager and Chris, the owner and they are two of the nicest guys I have ever met and they really care deeply about providing a great vacation experience. I felt so comfortable, relaxed and safe that I did not want to leave. The food is the best I had anywhere in Jaco. I walked into town each day even though I had a rental car with me. It took about 15 minutes which was a nice walk for me, as I live in a big city and am used to walking everywhere. Parking is easy if you choose to drive, or cabs are inexpensive if you don't have a car.
A few other notes: this is one of the few places I have ever stayed that has reasonable prices on the in room mini bar and snacks! There is free wifi everywhere; the rooms, the pool, the bar...
The rooms are huge with giant bathrooms and giant tubs. The entire resort is immaculate down to the smallest detail. I had such a great time that I have not been able to get this place out of my head since returning to Chicago, and all I can think about is when I can get back there. Thanks Brian and Chris for a great vacation, I am telling everyone to go visit DoceLunas!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennessey, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I spent a long weekend with my parents over Labor Day. This is a small Hotel, off the normal path. We felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves, so quite and peaceful. It is a beautiful property, the vegetation was as nice as we have seen.
We had a family wedding and the welcome dinner was held on this property. They did an excellent job getting ready for a large crowd.
Brian was a blessing, he kept my Dad entertained at the bar which gave Mom and I a break! He can also make a good Bahama Momma! When you go be sure to have him hook you up with Raul for the Turtle Refuge, amazing experience!
Be sure to make it to Graffiti for dinner, the food was spectacular! Although you may choose to enjoy the hotel restaurant, you can't go wrong. We enjoyed everything from the complimentary breakfast to dinner! Wonderful!
The beach is about 1 1/2 miles, we walked it but caught a taxi back. The cab was only $3.50 fare.
I am ready to go back with my husband now! Thanks to the staff for a great getaway!

Room Tip: I only seen our room, which was the deluxe. It had two double beds and a very spacious layout. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Doce Lunas was my ticket to a much needed retreat away from reality. I stayed nine days and enjoyed every moment. My room was spacious with an enormous bed. The bathroom had a beautiful tub to soak in. The restaurant and staff were out of this world always making me feel at home. The restaurant menu was simple but delicious. The pool was heaven with a man made waterfall on one end and a hot tube on the other. The hotel was five minutes from Jaco Beach which made it more relaxing away from the chaos. Thank you to the staff. I will definitely see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very nice place, spacious tranquil grounds minutes away from Jaco.
Rooms were clean, staff friendly and accomodating. Chris is a great host, very helpful and knowledgable about nearby attractions. Huge swimming pool and hot tub that were open all the time. Amazing food with a chef that varied the menu every single night. Overall a very good value and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#9 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Property: DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing