We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing,Beautiful,Excellent,Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing,Beautiful,Excellent,Paradise”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My family and I heard through friends and family about this beautiful jungle paradise.A boutique resort in Jaco Costa Rica called Doce Lunas.So of we went for 3 weeks not knowing really what to expect.
Upon arrival at the resort we were greeted at the outdoor patio reception by Marco with a warm and friendly welcome and much needed water.We were shown to our rooms which were amazing and quite large,also overlooked the pool area (which was child friendly) Staff at the resort were extremely helpful with arranging our outtings.
As it happened we were there for some of the hottest days,Temps they had not seen in over 20 years apparently.It was nice that I was able to escape to an air-conditioned room as I am not heat friendly(lol) Some of the facilities include a yoga studio which i did not make use of,but next time and there will definetly will be a next time.
This resort Doce Lunas blew me out of the water and I will reccommend it to all.Although it is a Boutique Resort I am giving it a 5 star rating.
Thank You Doce Lunas for an amazing visit and see you next year.
A.M.A. Alberta Canada

Room Tip: All the rooms at this resort are beautiful.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A Marcie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    43
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
76
121
42
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Docelunas just hosted our monthly company dinner with such charm , attention and hospitality in the open aired Eclipse Restaurant. The owner, manager and staff consulted with every detail. I highly suggest this locale for a great getaway spot nestled on 5 acres of gorgeous, naturally landscaped gardens. The hotel offers large rooms with porches or balconies, original Costa Rican art, and live orchids. The only hotel with full sized bathtubs,,Just 2 minutes away from the hustle of downtown Jaco, Docelunas offers a great getaway for any occasion, take it from the locals

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachVaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We only spent a couple days here but I would definitely put DoceLunas on my list when we return to Jaco. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated (not kitschy) and we spent every morning drinking coffee on our terrace surrounded by incredibly lush foliage in what seemed like total seclusion from the rest of the world. The food at the restaurant was delicious (with a special shout out for the pork tenderloin with a spicy pineapple salsa!), so despite the fact that it's just a couple minutes from the main drag of Jaco, we ate most of our meals in the tranquil open air restaurant on the grounds. It's not on the beach but with just a short cab ride and we were surfing and enjoying the waves and the staff were friendly, helpful and available if we needed anything. Hard to find a negative...!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calliopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was in Costa Rica for the Jungle Jam, a music festival that actually took place on the Hotel grounds. Unfortunately I did not have a room there, but I will next time. This place is like a little paradise, so calming and beautiful. The rooms are really nice and the grounds are amazing...surrounded by a jungle! Beautiful outside eating area and bar with nice lighting...which seems to be rare in this town! I would recommend this place to any of my friends and I'm gonna be there next year. Oh yeah, wait till you see the pool. And yes, this place is very safe, if you are a female traveling alone, this is a cool place to hang!

Room Tip: try to get one close to the pool and on second floor....beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed here for a week from New Year’s eve.
It’s a nice hotel, probably the nicest in the area.
The staff are great, the owners are great characters so i encourage getting to know them if you stay here.
Rooms are big, pool is nice and clean. bar although quiet when we were there was good.
Didn't eat here, went into Jaco mostly.
It is a short distance from the main town, but an easy taxi ride.

The main thing is really the staff, always friendly and if you ask them about the area if you see them at the bar you will get to know secret beaches, how to release newly hatched turtles, off the beaten track walking, best restaurants etc.

We liked this place mainly because it was away from the noise of Jaco and just a simple great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank run2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I just wanted to share my incredible vacation experience at DoceLunas... As a single female travelling alone to a foreign country for the 1st time I can tell you I was a little nervous. But as I arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a gatekeeper who provided 24hr security, I was imediately much more relaxed. I was even more relaxed when I headed to the open air Bar and Resturant for a few delicious Maragritas and some super fresh Ceviche. I knew I was on to something good when I headed to my room and was greeted by a lovely room with native wood furnishings, icee cold air conditioning, a huge bathroom with a walk in shower and instant hot water. The next day as I was sunning myself by the beautiful pool amid the lush gardens of DoceLunas I was visited by an Iguana who seemed to enjoy the beauty of the poolside as much as I did! I also had the opportunity to meet fellow guests one was a women travelling alone with her 10yr old son, we struck up easy conversation and relaxed poolside together. In the afternoon I visited the town and followed the suggestions of the staff for a place to grab lunch. They were right on target and had another delishes margarita and more Ceviche this time with Black Clams a rare treat that I had never experienced but certainly will be on the look out for again. In the evenings I enjoyed beauitful sunsets on Jacos Black Sand Beaches with a beer in hand! One evening I even ventured out for an evening on the town and throughly enjoyed the nitghtlife that the owner and staff recommended to me. I was mainly visiting Costa Rica for a bit of relaxing and thats just what I did. On the 3rd day of my trip I decided I needed a massage, so I wandered up to the front desk and inquired the staff imediately phoned the massuse and I was scheduled for later that day...its was so good I had a 2nd one the day before I left! I found all the prices at the hotel and in Jaco to be quite reasonable and the quality of the ingredients to be amazing! Travelling solo I was also concerned about being able to stay in touch with my children back home. I was pleased to note that the hotel had wi-fi throughout the resort and the thoughtful manager and owner allowed me use of there computers to stay in touch with my girls and even offerd me the use of there cellphones if I wanted to call home. I didn't take them up on that offer I quite enjoyed trully disconnecting for the 5 nights I was there! I can't wait to get back to DoceLunas this time I might even bring the kids!

Room Tip: Very nice photos on the website of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clommasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The most jaw dropping, visually stimulating retreat ever!!! Great attention to detail from the grounds to the rooms. The restaurant dinning area was charming, and the food was excellent. I truly loved the garlic mash potatoes, and the fresh fruit every morning with my coffee……delightful.
Even in paradise, work it calls. However it could not be better than doing it pool side. I did have to dedicate a small bit of vacation time to work, but was able to utilize the hotel
wi-fi and conduct a video conference with a managers in the states.
Pura Vida!!!! Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
6.0 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#6 of 41 in Jaco
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa

Property: DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa
Address: Quebrada Seca | 400 M Este from Costanera, Jaco 4132, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jaco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoceLunas is a spectacular Four Star hotel with five acres of tropical gardens at the base of a cool jungle covered mountain. Coatimundi, kinkajou, anteaters, toucans, and scarlet macaws can be seen here. We have a lovely mosaic lined pool with a waterfall cave, a full services spa, and daily yoga classes. Check out our excellent reviews and come join us in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Docelunas Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Jaco
Doce Lunas Hotel
Doce Lunas Resort
DoceLunas Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing