We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience I Will Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Its always hard to find a good independent hotel in some of the smaller towns in any countrry. I find trip advisor always comes through for me. This was no exception. We stayed March 16th thru 22nd. Even though it was the beginning of Spring Break, the small hotel was quiet. The hotel is run by Tim Odom, who has hired great staff who always know the answer to any question. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The pool is great after being at the beach. The beach is only a block away and the hotel is pretty much in the middle of town within walking distance to everything. Down toward the beach is a great beach bar that attracts all the sunset watchers everynight. We had several wonderful dinners, one was the LobsterFest which occurs on Friday nights. Its pricey at 65.00 each. But how many times do you get a chance for an all you can eat lobster buffett with all drinks included. Its a dress up place on the beach with white linen table cloths and candles. Romantic. We also had a great dinner at our hotel. The Red Snapper was great. Too much food. The continental breakfast they served complimentary with the room was great with an assortment of fruit, homemade banana bread and toast and coffee. What more could you want. It was filling. I would highly recommend the Poseidon to anyone wanting a bit of home abroad.The service and extra special touches are nice. If you need a lift from San Jose to and from Jaco I would also recommend Kevins Transfers. They are dependable and good drivers. Thanks Poseidon we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanloverDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2009

This was the most amazing trip of my life. This was due largely to the amazing staff at Hotel Poseidon. They treated us like family, and were always very accomodating. They were so friendly and so personable, that it made the experience even better than I could have expected! They helped our group book every dinner reservation and activity reservation that we needed. They knew everything about Jaco, so they were very helpful in answering all of our questions. My group and I are already planning on going back and staying at the same hotel. We miss everyone already! Hands down if you are going to Jaco, stay at Hotel Poseidon!!!! You will NOT regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costaricafun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We spent 4 nights there in late Feb/early March. Hotel was very clean, safe, nice staff. Great location if you want to stay right in downtown Jaco, so you can walk to all the places-rather than having to deal with a taxi. We did not want to stay on the beach, so this was perfect. Beach is right down the street. Patricia (the chef) even gave us her reciepe for coconut curry (they cooked our fish we caught that day). Would go back there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mctraveler310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Just got back from my second trip to Hotel Poseidon. Last trip was a getaway with my girlfriends and this time was more of a romantic getaway. Poseidon fit the bill for both needs.
Each room comes equipped with two double beds which was perfect for the trip with my girlfriends. It comfortably fit four females and all our luggage!! This trip the second bed wasn't used but it wasn't as if it bothered us to have it there.
The staff is simply amazing and is what prompted me to return to Jaco for this years vacation. From housekeeping to front desk, waitstaff to even security, they will do whatever they can to help.
THE FOOD IS ORGASMIC!! Even if you don't choose Hotel Poseidon as your destination you should definitely dine there. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It's all good!!
Location is superb. Walking distance to the beach, bars, clubs, banks, supermarket, and surf shops. Even an extra minute of walking in Costa Rican heat will get to you so location is key.
Shoutout to Gabriel and Fernando. My two favorite Ticos who do more then needed to ensure the safety and satisfaction of their guests.
Can't wait to return.
Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYSurferGerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Poseidon in January 2009. We chosed this hotel because of the good reviews and the nice web site. Their web site is so good, that when you get there, you're not sure you made a good choice. The rooms as OK, the AC is efficient and quiet, clean bathroom with a large shower with warm water, There is a tiny uncomfortable sitting area outside the room, and we had huge water tanks as a view. The pool was nice and refreshing, but is very small! Restaurant is great though and breakfasts are good, but a little pricey if you don't take the included continental breakfast... Parkong lot is on the other side of the street. On the good side, front desk people were nice and made arrangements for tours.
Overall that was a positive experience, OK for the price, but don't expect too much!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dHoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Poseidon in January 2009. We absolutely loved it! The location couldn't have been any better. It is a block to the beach and about a half of a block from the town. It's great, being just that short distance from the town, as it allows a little more peace and quiet, if wanted. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The shower was very large with pretty tiling. We did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, except for breakfast (which was delicious), but we heard that it is exceptional and by the looks of the crowds in the restaurant each night, that is probably the case. The bar also offers very cheap beer. The outdoor shower, by the pool, will come in handy, as you try and get the extremely fine volcanic sand off of you after the beach. The hotel offers secure parking directly across the street for a minimal $3/day. There is also free internet/computer in the open-air lobby. We rented surfboards for $10/day (from Pana, right around the corner) and had a great time. We highly recommend surfing while there. The town of Jaco is bustling, with lots of bars and restaurants. It's a great place, that we will definitely be returning to. Also, definitely eat at 'Taco Bar' in town while there...delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We booked the Poseidon as a cheap place to stay between Quepos and San Jose. It fit the bill, but didn't thrill me. The room was small and relatively clean, but a bit shabby. The staff was very nice and it was good to have WiFi. I didn't find the pool very appealing due to the proximity to the restaurant and the fact that all guests have to walk right by.

The location of the hotel is great, two blocks from the beach and smack in the middle of the best restaurants and bars. We had fantastic meals both at the hotel's restaurant (awesome tuna) and at Calinche's Wishbone, right around the corner.

I guess the reasons I was a bit disappointed were that the rooms were unremarkable and had no view (ocean or street), and that the hotel lacked character - it's American run and almost everyone we saw there was American. I don't know how much more I could ask for for the price, but I will probably spend a bit more next time and see what I can find.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank BBHME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
4.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#4 of 40 in Jaco
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Beach Hotel
South Beach Hotel
#18 of 40 in Jaco
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante

Address: Calle Bohio | (towards the beach), Jaco, Garabito Municipality 4123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Price Range: $97 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel with a quality restaurant and air conditioned sports bar. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We are in the center of Jaco near all of the shops and restaurants that Jaco has to offer. Our service is what keeps people coming back!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidon y Restaurante Costa Rica/Jaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing